We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and classy”
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I went there on Friday 1 August for a high tea for our anniversary. The service was first class and the crockery spotless. Felt really good in such lovely surroundings. Will go back there again. Nothing was to much trouble and you were asked if all was okay and aimed to please. Only down side was there was a shortage of disability spaces. The two they had were occupied by two flashy cars who did not have mobility badges. It was not a problem for us but someone who could not walk far would find it difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyT419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear ShirleyT419,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderful hotel in an ideal location. Close to great museums and nice dining. Also, if you get a chance take a walk to Lake Erie through the Culture gardens; about a three mile hike.

Room was very comfortable and the service was perfect. Highly recommended for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear J M,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. i'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the surrounding area.

Best,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the the Glidden House Inn just recently for a wedding anniversary. To summarize, this beautiful inn gets everything correct. From the intimate inside bar to the pleasant patio bar, the outstanding breakfast to the well appointed rooms, the Glidden House boasts old world elegance with modern features. By far one of the best hotel experiences we have ever encountered anywhere. Looking forward to staying here soon. The staff is extremely helpful and considerate.

Room Tip: The suites are simply beautiful. I would highly recommend choosing one of the dining option package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AvonLakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear AvonLake Traveler,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you spend your next anniversary with us!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. As other travelers have said, the staff is helpful, the rooms are nice, the restaurant and bar areas are nice and the food is good. The free breakfast in the morning was much better than most other hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GuitarPlayer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear GuitarPlayer2006,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful property in a wonderful neighborhood. Patio bar is very pleasant. Complimentary breakfast much better than your average free breakfast. Rooms are well appointed and bathrooms are modern and well done. Parking is free but not abundant.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Marian G,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in June. We had been on a road trip all week and we decided to make Cleveland the last stop on our trip to visit the rock and roll hall of fame. The Glidden house is a very charming inn located in a nice area of town. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk gave us some great recommendations for dinner in Little Italy. James, the bell man was very welcoming. He was actually the nicest person we came into contact with on our trip to Cleveland. Once we opened the door to our room we realized it was a queen bed room and we had paid for a king. We went right back down to the front desk and it was immediately fixed and we were actually upgraded to a beautiful suite. That evening we went to the Christmas story house in Cleveland which is a must see if your a fan of this movie. We did try to drive around downtown Cleveland however the city was full of detours and very busy. Being that we live between two major cities at home we were not impressed with the city. When we arrived back to the inn after our evening out, we we're extremely surprised to find out that there was a wedding taking place and that we didn't have a parking spot as a paying guest of the inn. This was very upsetting, the valet wanted us to park on the corner in the front of the hotel, because the guests of the wedding had taken all of the spots. We went in to complain at the front desk and the young man working that evening didn't even respond. He just kept looking at me like I was crazy. No apologies, nothing other then telling me that the wedding would be over at 11pm and maybe I could find a spot then. I couldn't believe my ears. James, the Bell man heard what was going on and he helped us talk to the valet to get a spot after all. There were other guests of the hotel that were complaining that they couldn't get to sleep in their room because the music was so loud from the wedding. We didn't have any noise problems from our room, but I could see where the other rooms would have been problematic. My feedback for the inn, would be to please tell all of your guests upon checking in, if there is an event so they can plan according. Once we made it to our room, we realized that our personal pillows from home were left in the original queen room that was wrong. I went back to the front desk to see if they could retrieve from that room for me but was told the room had been rented out and they couldn't get ahold of the guests renting that room. Long story short, James came to our rescue again and worked for 2 hours, leaving messages and hunting down our pillows. I can not give him enough praise, he is definitely an asset to your team.
As far as our room, it was very charming, king size bed was very comfortable. Our suite had a microwave and sink area, however no fridge in our room. Bathroom was average size with a stand up shower only. Flat screen tv on wall. Breakfast the next morning was very nice. It had a few hot items, pastries, cereals, juices and coffee all in a nice dining area. Im not sure if we will be back to Cleveland, but if we do, we would definitely stay or recommend the Glidden house as it was a great value and very charming despite our bumps in the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank iluvdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear iluvdisney,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Glidden House during your recent visit to Cleveland. We are sorry that you had a few negative experiences. We are very glad that our concierge, James, was able to assist in rectifying these circumstances. We are glad to hear that you will visit us again on your next trip to Cleveland.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wonderful older building. Doorman was very friendly and helpful. Have kept the charm of the original building.. Desk clerk was helpful as where to eat in the evening. The breakfast was a little lacking. The eggs were cold and the coffee was mediocre. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobhartzheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear bobhartzheim,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glidden House. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience so we really appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast.
We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#4 of 38 in Cleveland
893 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: £141 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing