We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Repeat Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Repeat Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hubby and I could not wait to return to Glidden House, where we stayed almost one year ago.
Earlier this week we spent a night there and our anticipation was not disappointed. We continue to rave about the ambience, comfort AND the staff. As last year we were greeted by a most courteous and gentlemanly employee (James).As last year we spent delightful hours at the small boutique bar where bartender Ed expertly mixes drinks and,with wit and easy conversation creates a convivial atmosphere in which all bar patrons are included.Our room was quiet, well appointed and the included breakfast in the elegant dining room/parlor was as replete as we remembered from previous year. We noted that many patrons are repeat customers. Hubby and I hope to be again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Bobbsie,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to the Glidden House! We hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Cleveland!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    174
    42
    21
    16
See reviews for
138
258
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at Glidden House for 4 nights while a loved one was at the Cleveland Clinic. The room was very nice, clean, 2 queen beds, plenty of room. The staff was attentive and kind. The parking was a bit weird since the lot was small, but if you didn't mind parking on the street (which I didn't want to do!), there is parking spaces. About 2 blocks away from the Hotel is a beautiful park which has a sort of, track, around it so you can walk, or run for exercise since the Hotel doesn't have an in-house fitness facility. The breakfast is included in your stay and was cold-cut meat, one hot meat, soft boiled egg cups, assorted english muffins, breads, etc, oatmeal and some fresh fruit. Basically continental style. The rate to stay was reduced since we were there due to the medial nature of our visit to the Cleveland Clinic. I would recommend Glidden House for any type of stay, it is a beautiful place, quiet, clean and well run. The beds were very puffy and comfy!

Room Tip: If you want two beds, you must make sure you tell them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Laurie W,

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Glidden House is a boutique hotel located on campus of Case Western Reserve in the University Circle area of Cleveland Ohio and minutes walking distance to the Botanical Gardens, the Art Museum and the Natural Museum of History. We stayed in the Mansion hotel section in a comfortable and roomy suite. They have also modern rooms in a separate building. There is a restaurant next door (Trentinos) that appears to be gearing up for full operations since its recent opening. Parking is a bit tight and the Hotel seems to cater to frequent wedding and graduation parties. A major area of improvement that the Hotel Management needs to focus on is to upgrade their breakfast as it is below average in quantity and quality and had us looking to find other places in the area to eat. They need to develop internal cooking capabilities where fresh eggs are made (rather than bringing in some eggs with cheese), they need to bring in a better assortment of bakery products and have cold cereal choices as well. We had one weird experience in trying get a pot of tea at the bar and we were told it was $21 dollars which we passed on! Management also needs to add some food amenities to the lobby, such as having a ready supply of fruit, and perhaps tea and coffee and cookies in the later afternoon. Bottom-line a very nice hotel, well-placed for those who love to stroll to the Botanical Gardens or Art Museum in minutes, and a nice experience. Had great sculpture on the grounds as well. Has Triple AAA and Senior rates.

Room Tip: Has one elevator in the Mansion, but I found the stairs easy to get up to go to my third floor suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairport5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Fairport5,

We are pleased that the majority of your stay at the Glidden House was positive. We are always looking to improve our complimentary breakfast offerings. Our pastries are baked from scratch daily. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy one of our most popular breakfast items. We happily provide complimentary coffee and tea to our guests in out lobby lounge. We are sorry that our neighboring restaurant charged you for this service.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I'm really confused by all the rave reviews. This is a decent hotel but here's my opinion:

Pros:
- great location close in University Circle (we were going to a concert at Cain Park and it was a quick 10 min drive)
- charming historic building

Cons:
- not very good value for money (for that price we expected more)
- the room and the bathroom could use some updating (ceiling paint chipping, bathroom counter coming apart) and the room we were in was very small too
- the bed blanket was super small (not enough for 2 people to share) and the pillows were not comfortable and kind of cheap too

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear DomCanada,

Thank you for your honest review of the Glidden House. We are pleased to tell you that we have purchased new pillows and we are scheduled for a guest room renovation during the first quarter of 2015. We trust that you will be pleased with the finished product and hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed one night on our way home from Chicago.

Beautiful neighbourhood but as written previously, parking can be tricky. The staff do tell you to park wherever you can find a spot and I'm sure if the lot was full they would help.

Breakfast was nice, nothing too fancy but was plentiful. The breakfast staff was very attentive.

The rooms are comfortable.

I would also recommend a short walk to Little Italy where you should try Mia Bella.

Definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear pattertl,

Thank you for choosing the Glidden House during your recent trip to Cleveland. We hope that return on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

An anniversary get a way was made ideal by a stay at the Glidden House Inn. The location is perfect! Within walking distance of world class museums, gardens, and wonderful restaurants. The hotel has definitely a European charm that is complimented by a caring staff. Laura, the desk manager, could not have been more helpful. The morning complimentary breakfast was an added delight and enjoyable on the outdoor patio.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gary4200,

Happy Anniversary! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I went there on Friday 1 August for a high tea for our anniversary. The service was first class and the crockery spotless. Felt really good in such lovely surroundings. Will go back there again. Nothing was to much trouble and you were asked if all was okay and aimed to please. Only down side was there was a shortage of disability spaces. The two they had were occupied by two flashy cars who did not have mobility badges. It was not a problem for us but someone who could not walk far would find it difficult.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyT419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ShirleyT419,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing