We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a hotel as much as a motel in a hotels building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Hotel and Suites
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here 3 times all because it was just a bus ride down the road from the now torn down peabody's. It is cheap way cheap but you really do get what you pay for. all 3 times I did not need to switch rooms and I did not find anything to really red flag or even make me worry. Yes this is a old, worn, out dated hotel but it also is around half what you would pay for a H. Inn. Express in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel looks okay on the website (my friend made the reservation) but I had a bad feeling as soon as we arrived. The first clue is that the reservation had to be canceled the day before-red flag. The location is near downtown but it seemed abandoned. The building looks old, dingy windows, old a/c units. Then we went inside. The first room we were given had mold on the shower curtain. We immediately went back to the desk to request a room change. The second room had old carpet, old furniture. Since we were only going to be there overnight we decided to chance it. I don't know how this place is in business. I do know that it should not be. I find it ironic that the Better Business Bureau of Cleveland is right down the street from this place and gave it an 'F' rating.

Room Tip: Do NOT book a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KARLEY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Someone else I was traveling with booked this hotel and if it hadn't been for non refundable deposit we'd have left. I will say the beds were the least scary part of the place but that's not saying much. Stained carpet, dilapidated bathroom, dingy everything. They claim there was a continental bkfst but it was nonexistent (not that i would have dared to sample it). We had to change rooms to get a working tv and heard other guests also requesting different rooms due to various things not working. Neighborhood a bit shady also. Either pay for a better hotel in downtown area or stay on outskirts of city but DON'T stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Seriously the most disgusting place I have ever walked into. Urine stains, mold and food on the walls are all complementary here. Staff is not surprised and are glad to take you to an equally dirty room. The sheets are not changed regardless of what was done to them. Crumbs on the bed, lights don't work, moldy windows and walls. DO NOT SLEEP HERE. The only excellent reviews on here are from the staff.

Room Tip: run away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Saleh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a budget hotel. Located in a somewhat marginal neighborhood, but right on Euclid Ave near public transit.
Walkable to downtown (from 36th street hotel to 9th street Progressive Field or Rock Hall for example).
Rooms are acceptable, clean enough, and come with a very basic breakfast (corn flakes, fruit loops, bread, jam, milk, coffee, tea, fruit juice, waffles, and sometimes apples).
Plenty of free off street parking.
Security guard on duty in lobby at night.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first. Not a lot of maintenance done here, so some rooms are in better shape than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed there Saturday to a Sunday so just one night. Hotel wasn't very clean in general, we were on the 4th floor and the entire hallway did reek of weed. Rooms was dated, and quite bland. Bathroom was borderline clean. Sheets smelled clean, but had stains and one bed had some hair in them still. Overall it wasn't good, but we were fine there for one night.

The breakfast was pretty awful. Frozen waffles, toast, cereal, English muffin, and bad coffee were the choices with some nasty juice and water, all located in a pretty dirty side room.

Probably won't ever be staying here again, I'd rather pay a little more, or move a bit farther outside the city.

Room Tip: 4th floor reeked of weed, with a view of a rooftop filled with scrap metal and garbage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

STAY AWAY! This is the dirtiest hotel I have been to in 23 years. We were put in a "room" with dirty sheets, stained pillows, a mysterious black stain on the wall, marijuana ashes and sticky carpet. Went to complain and the staff moved us to a room that was just as dirty if not dirtier. I woke up feeling like I smoked a pack of newports (I don't smoke). The lights did not work and there was yellow reissue in the bathroom sink. Best part of the hotel is that you can check out whenever you want. Please stay away from this hell hole.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jmarzouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#17 of 38 in Cleveland
666 reviews
8.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cleveland Airport
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
11.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Address: 3614 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-2533 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range: £57 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing