We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, historical kind of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, historical kind of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here April 18th to the 20th for our 5 year anniversary. We also went to the Indians playing Blue Jays game as we are from Canada, near Toronto.
We booked the king suite, and we were amazed at the room. The tall ceilings blew us away. And wooden floors made it beautiful. The staff was very friendly, the hot breakfast was very good. The gym was in very nice shape, and I was glad to see the Clorax wipes for cleaning.

A few things that I might suggest for the room that we stayed in 1210, is a fresh coat of paint on the ceiling, it looks a little yellow in one area. The garden tub dials needs fixing as well. All the jets worked so I did not complain, but the dials to control the air flow or whatever were broken right off. And I think that a makeup mirror on an extender might be a nice addition to the bathroom. I had to keep leaning over the sink in order to see, or go to the larger mirror near the front door.

But other than those minor things it was a very good stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    348
    111
    31
    38
See reviews for
208
363
42
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Room was mostly what we expected except didn't have a view at all for a luxury jucuzzi suite. But it was a very nice clean and spacious room. Breakfast bar was good. Also location was our big selling point. Right in the heart of downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. When we arrived the staff was extremely courteous and helpful getting our things to our room. They also put us in a corner room with an excellent view, and it was beautiful. The rooms were clean, updated, and very nice (hardwood floors, updated bathrooms, comfortable bed). We did, however, run into some problems with the noise level in the hotel. The doors do not have latches and they slam shut at all hours of the night. Neither or us are light sleepers, so this didn't present a problem once we went to bed each night, but it did wake us up a couple of times each morning. We had a problem with the cleaning staff coming by really early too and waking us up (between 8am and 9am, even the morning of checkout). Granted, my husband forgot to put the do not disturb sign out, so that was partially our fault, but I did not expect to have housekeeping come by when we are checking out at 11am on the final day. Also, since the heating/cooling systems are connected between rooms, you are subjected to how well your neighbors obey non-smoking signs, even if you are in a non-smoking room. One evening when we returned from dinner we were bombarded by the smell of smoke when we got into our room. The smell made me nauseous, and we ended up calling down to the front desk to let them know about the issue. The staff, of course, were very helpful, and dealt with the problem immediately, but our room took awhile to air out because the smell was so strong. If this wasn't our honeymoon I probably would have rated the hotel higher, but since we got a suite and expected to not have to deal with the noise/smoke issue, I only rated it average.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! 13th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begleydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear begleydr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a king, was given a room with smaller bed. We were promised a rollaway. It never came. I gave up after three calls to the front desk. While checking in, the Cleveland police were removing an unwanted guest. It was quite comical. I've stayed at many Holiday Inn's before. Expected more. I probably will not return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheNationalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Mark11204,
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown. I am sorry to hear that you stay did not exceed your expectations. Our goal is to provide efficient service and it seems as if we failed to accommodate you in some pretty simple aspects of your stay. This is unacceptable. We do take security extremely seriously here, as we hold a unwavering no party/noise policy. I hope that we receive another opportunity to exceed your expectations as we really value our guests feedback and we do what is necessary to ensure future guests are provided better service. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga Ont.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked Apr 18 +Sat Apr 19th Staff was very friendly and helpful with information. The breakfast
was very good. There was something for everyone. Scrambled eggs, sausage rounds, pancakes, country biscuits, muffins, cinnamon buns, cereal, yogurt, different fruits like apples and bananas, tea, coffee, juices and milk. You couldn't go wrong. They even had half and half for
coffee, milk and also different flavours of coffee creamers. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were comfortable. Walking distance to everything. The Progressive Fields, Casino, House of Blues and shopping at the Tower City Mall. We were surprised that they had Bath and
Body Works shampoo, conditioner and body lotion in the bathroom for our showers.
If we were to stay in Cleveland we would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was very interesting
that it was once a bank built in 1890's All the floors in the rooms were hardwood which made it nice because there was no stains on carpeting to worry about. You could tell it was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAH1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
RAH1418,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We really appreciate it! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the variety we offered at breakfast and the quality of our amenities. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

From the front desk, to security, to housekeeping and breakfast staff I have never stayed at a holiday inn where the staff was so friendly. A great experience and I would recommend this hotel anytime!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Steve M,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words. I will be sure to share them with all of the hotel staff. They will be so excited! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again real soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Second stay at this hotel. We arrived Friday afternoon check in went smoothly. We stayed on the 12th floor. Room was clean no odors. Lots of restaurants close by. parking is around the corner. stop out front and drop your bags off then park. Rather than dragging bags across the street. There is some noise from the elevator ding when it comes to the floor but really not that many. The bed was maybe the best I've ever had at a hotel. Over all this was a great stay...... we will do this again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tig2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
tig2811,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing