We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great folks and”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First stay at this Holiday Inn Express Cleveland but not my first Holiday Inn Express...hands down my favorite thus far which includes New Orleans. From the check in to the check out staff are top notch. Danielle along with her attentive staff; Tiffany (over and avove), Brittany and Autumn at the desk were friendly, courteous and nothing but professionals. The room was so spacious loved the hardwood floors and I love the pillows, 2 Firm and 2 Soft to choose from and their marked, who does that. The Manager's reception was an addition that was a pleasant surprise with appetizers and drinks, very nice! Breakfast was a full buffet and the girls were attentive to all clients enjoying their first meal of the day leaving you not wanting for anything, thank you Maria (your experience reflects in your staff), Food and Beverage manager you have well trained and friendly staff; Donita, Mary and Erica. If your looking for a hotel in the heart of things you can get there from here...4th street is walk across the street; House of Blues, Lola's and Flannery's all amazing for drinks and meals. Rock'n'Roll Hall of Fame a few short blocks to the lake. I was there for a week for business but would stay for pleasure, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Although close to nightlife...you can leave it all behind and experience quiet, comfortable rooms wh...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with the family for purpose of visiting the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame. It wasn't our first pick but very happy with ended up staying here. (The other trip advisor rated hotels we considered did not have doubles available). The hotel was originally a bank building and dates from 1896.It is located in walking distance (less than a mile of the hall of fame) and shorter distance to many restaurants. The recently renovated rooms have high ceilings, solid wood floors and are extremely spacious compared to your standard hotel. The beds were very comfortable and bathroom well equipped spacious and clean. WiFi was free and strong signal and TV signal was good with broad selection of channels. Traffic noise was high from the streets below (a disadvantage of older buildings). Breakfast was standard self-service with some hot food (eggs, pancakes, sausage gravy & biscuits). Coffee was so-so I didn't think the elevators (4 of them) were scary (like one reviewer stated) but capacity is a squeeze for 5-6 people. The staff was very nice, valet was efficient and worth the extra $5. All in all a very nice surprise for a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Street noise can be high - seek a high room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Holiday Inn express is one of my favorite hotels in the country. I've stayed here 3 times now. The old National City Bank is still visible in many features of the hotel, including the high ceilings, the ornate ceiling of the reception area and the wood floors in all the rooms. The staff is really nice. The garage is close and not too expensive ($15/night). The Breakfast was really generous, and the wifi was good. The views were beautiful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the start it was great. Valet was attentive, the check in desk was great, friendly and speedy. Our room was amazing. I don't know what we did to deserve such a great room, but thank you! The manager's reception was a great surprise. Appetizers and drinks before we went out to dinner, after recommendations from staff members. Breakfast was great and the entire stay was the best of our five day trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel is in an older building that has been renovated. Great renovations. Our room was on the 6th floor and was very spacious even for a family of four. All rooms have hard wood floors, which is great considering how gross carpets can get in hotels. Our remote control didn't work, but we didn't really care since we were so tired. Breakfast was great. The staff was very nice, the valet were attentive and security was very was helpful too. The hotel charges $15 for self parking or you pay $20 for valet to park your car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephaniejjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The check-in staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed one night in a room with two queen beds on the fifth floor. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. I loved the hardwood floors. The shower had great water pressure and was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmgreeso001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express last night for a one night stay before we headed back to Wisconsin. Us weary travelers arrived later at night, and we were greeted with much kindness and courtesy. This is not your standard Holiday Inn. We were quite blown away at the decor, beautiful rooms, spaciousness, and all around lovely hotel. My husband felt like he was in a Ritz Carlton. Our children thought it was very cool to be on the 9th floor of a hotel, which they had never been, and loved the view of the night skyline from our windows. The rooms are VERY spacious and I love that the rooms have hard wood floors. It gives it a nice elegant touch, especially since hotel carpets can get so dirty and gross. The only reason why I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because you have to use the parking garage across the street. I suppose this is quite normal for getting a hotel in a busy downtown area, but us Wisconsin country people aren't use to that. It felt uneasy, especially since we got there later in the evening when it was dark.

Breakfast at the hotel was misleading, although still decent enough. The front desk staff said, "It's the whole nine yards". I think that is quite an overstatement, as it wasn't anything more than your standard fare. The kids thought the pancake machine was genius though (first time seeing one of those during our travels), but the biscuits were VERY hard. Nobody likes hard biscuits.

The room itself was pretty clean, but the sheets had this smell to them that I can't put my finger on. Not a bad smell...just 'different', for lack of a better word. I liked that there was a soft and firm pillow for each spot on the beds, as not everyone likes the same type of pillow.

Overall, this hotel is quite lovely. It's very different looking, as it was a re-renovated bank (I think?). I love that the hotel still has its original display of decor that once was. It makes it very unique to other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. View at night is wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114-3007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: £96 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing