We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, fifty, smelly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
marlton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty, fifty, smelly hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is dirty and the rooms smelled. The room air-conditioner was very loud. The elevators appear to never have been vacuumed. The elevators were very slow. I waited a full three minutes for an elevator. I saw guests stuck in an elevator and the responding building maintenance staff were laughing and joking that the elevator was stuck again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Our goal is to deliver the best service and accommodations possible and I regret that we failed to achieve our goal. The issues you encountered are Atypical of our hotel and we apologize for falling short with meeting the expectations of our guest. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the entire staff. We thank you again for the feedback as it will assist us with making improvements.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    619
    436
    172
    85
See reviews for
504
579
87
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orford, NH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The elevators needed repair and some of the front desk staff could have been more welcoming (we had just driven 12 hours and the night guy was truly just doing his job) The pool was nice the business center great.. Loved that we had adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are pleased that you found our hotel amenities such as the pool and business center convenient and enjoyable. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced by the slowed elevator service but are happy to say that with the elevator modernization underway, the slowed service will soon be a thing of the past. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, your comments and feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with the entire hotel staff.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hart's Location, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

See travelslueth1961 review because it would mirror our thoughts on the doubletree. Additionally front desk at check in was not helpful (one person). Had one drink at the bar and it was very weak and soda was flat. On the good side it is within walking distance to many attractions and package deal breakfast and rock and roll hall tickets were good. Parking in garage ok. They need to brighten up the rooms and common areas as well as rooms need updating

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1177Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
When visiting Cleveland there are a number of great attractions to see but a must see attraction is the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. With this in mind we created our RRHF package to enhance the guest experience by offering a great value that is truly affordable. The package includes tickets and breakfast for two and overnight parking. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of such a great offer. We apologize for any unpleasant encounters you may have experienced during your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My 10 year old son and I had an excellent stay at the DoubleTree in Cleveland, OH. The service was a 10 out of 10. The restaurant was a 9 out of 10. The cleanliness of the room was also a 9 out of 10. Very well worth the money. The location is fantastic! Very close to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and arenas for the Cavaliers, Browns and Indians. The pool was fantastic! 10 out of 10 for the pool! I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are please to see that your expectations were met and that you and you son had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you stay here, allow plenty of time to get up and down from room, as elevators are excruciatingly slow. Rooms and hallways are dimly lit, a bad combination of dark decor and dim lighting. Restaurant is average. Bar closes at 11, which seemed a bit early, given how busy it was at that time. Front desk very busy. Free shuttle to entertainment areas. Location quite good for major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask if any floors have brighter lighting, or pick a low floor due to slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsleuth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We appreciate your review and have shared your comments with our entire staff. We apologize for the slowed elevator service but I assure you that as we progress with the elevator modernization that is underway, slow elevators will be a thing of the past.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a wonderful location and enjoyed our trip. Only problem, when I arrived home and checked my billl, I realized we had paid for 2 days of parking. Our son lives in Cleveland and drove us everyday and took our car home both evenings etc. I was under the impression that, when we used our room pass key it would register, if we had used the garage or not. My mistake but would love reimbursement. Thanks, Bells

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to mention your experience on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the billing error and woke eagerly to correct the error for you. If in the Cleveland area again we welcome you back for another stay.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

From the moment I walked into the hotel, I felt welcome. The staff was courteous and accommodating. Room was clean and the housekeeping staff gave us extra items with no hassle. The shuttle driver was a hoot. Dropped us off and when we called the hotel we were told exactly how long it would be until pickup. Elevators need some service. The hotel was totally booked and people were overloading them.
It's close to the football stadium and a 5 - 10 minute ride to the entertainment district. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable and that our service and accommodations met your expectations. We are happy to provide such services as our complimentary shuttle so getting around the downtown are is convenient and easy. Knowing that our staff is warm, friendly and funny is our goal and we aim to please our guests on every level and it's great to know that we achieved our goal. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit and stay with us again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

Much appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Property: Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing