We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here mostly due to its proximity to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Upon checking in, Burgandy explained everything to us including the parking and the current situation with the elevators. Parking is very convenient with unlimited in and out. However, we ended up walking to everything. If you don't want to walk, they have a shuttle that will bring you to any place local. That's a nice convenience. The driver was always asking people if they would like a ride to somewhere. He was quite a friendly guy.

The elevators are currently being upgraded so there are some wait times at the busy parts of the day. Be prepared for that until the upgrade is done.

The room was average, a bit smaller than what I am used to but it was spotless and everything worked. (Room 1600) As other posters noted, the outside of the windows are very dirty. It detracts a bit from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    659
    472
    184
    90
See reviews for
545
625
92
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good hotel, comfortable and clean! Good shuttle service to downtown while hotel is in walking distance to the congress center and science park. Breakfast is of medium variety, tastes good but a bit expensive considering the offered variety...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in a good Downtown location overlooking Lake Erie. After arriving very early in the morning, I appreciated the efforts in the front desk staff being able to check me into a room. The room was large and the electric blinds were appreciated. The elevators are slow, so be patient. There's a Starbucks in-house too.
Friendly staff and good amenities. I would stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManagerLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This use to be good before but now they are busy and the lost the customer service aspect of the Hilton name. But the hotel is close to all rock n roll hall of fame and close to highway which make it convenience for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is dirty and the rooms smelled. The room air-conditioner was very loud. The elevators appear to never have been vacuumed. The elevators were very slow. I waited a full three minutes for an elevator. I saw guests stuck in an elevator and the responding building maintenance staff were laughing and joking that the elevator was stuck again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Our goal is to deliver the best service and accommodations possible and I regret that we failed to achieve our goal. The issues you encountered are Atypical of our hotel and we apologize for falling short with meeting the expectations of our guest. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the entire staff. We thank you again for the feedback as it will assist us with making improvements.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orford, NH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The elevators needed repair and some of the front desk staff could have been more welcoming (we had just driven 12 hours and the night guy was truly just doing his job) The pool was nice the business center great.. Loved that we had adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are pleased that you found our hotel amenities such as the pool and business center convenient and enjoyable. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced by the slowed elevator service but are happy to say that with the elevator modernization underway, the slowed service will soon be a thing of the past. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, your comments and feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with the entire hotel staff.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hart's Location, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

See travelslueth1961 review because it would mirror our thoughts on the doubletree. Additionally front desk at check in was not helpful (one person). Had one drink at the bar and it was very weak and soda was flat. On the good side it is within walking distance to many attractions and package deal breakfast and rock and roll hall tickets were good. Parking in garage ok. They need to brighten up the rooms and common areas as well as rooms need updating

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1177Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
When visiting Cleveland there are a number of great attractions to see but a must see attraction is the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. With this in mind we created our RRHF package to enhance the guest experience by offering a great value that is truly affordable. The package includes tickets and breakfast for two and overnight parking. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of such a great offer. We apologize for any unpleasant encounters you may have experienced during your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Property: Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing