We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed here on multiple trips to Cleveland and have some basic considerations to share:
1. the rooms are all double queen beds. Not much else. The beds are comfy but the rooms are not large, if you plan to entertain in your room, be prepared.
2. the onsite bar and restaurant are adequate. Don't expect 5 star dining. The Starbucks in the lobby is a nice alternative for something fast and simple.
3. The location is great, but you are a few blocks and a 10-15 walk to downtown and the Warehouse district. Wear the right shoes (am I right, ladies?).
4. Parking is next to the hotel in an open air parkade that is accessible by a slow elevator from the lobby. Allow for some time to get in and out with the car.
5. The pool and "gym" are small but functional. Remember this hotel is popular with families, so it will be busy. The gym is very basic, but has treadmills and basic weights to work out.
6. This property is being renovated, so be prepared. The elevators are slow -- even the staff have to wait long times to use them. If the staff is cranky, it's probably because their day is suffering too. A smile goes a long way around this property.
7. The rooms are comfortable, but this is not 5 Star Doubletree quality that I usually find in my travels. If you ask the front desk to move you to another room in better condition, they will understand and try to accomodate you.

While not my first choice in Cleveland for hotels, I would stay here again. This is one of those reliable places in the midwest -- you know exactly what you are getting when you check in. Happy travels.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on the east side of the hotel on a higher floor, you can get a decent lake vie...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TOVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Elevator wait is 10 plus minutes during large parts of the day. Breakfast buffet is expensive ($15) but really good, with an omelet bar and pancakes by request. The serving staff seems untrained an inexperienced however, both morning and evening. Tried to get drinks and desserts in the restaurant around 8PM and two servers with 6 total tables were unable to even take our order in over 20 minutes of waiting but repeatedly stopped by to tell us they were too busy and would be right over, and then never came back. The bar is awesome though, bartenders are friendly and personable, quick service, well made drinks. Just go to the bar to get food.

Room Tip: lower floors where stairs are an option can save significant elevator wait times.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your feedback has been shared with our culinary team so improvements can be made where we've fallen short. We are pleased to read that the breakfast staff prepared cook to order omelets and other breakfast selections that were appetizing and to your liking. On your behalf, we have given many KUDOS to the staff of our bar and told them how much you appreciated the service they provide. We thank you for taking the time to share the good as well as the bad and for spending two weeks with us. Your feedback will definitely assist us with make improvements to me our guests satisfaction.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. We were told there was a comp breakfast but they neglected to say it is tucked away in an upstairs (18th floor) conference room. We went to the dining area in the lobby and were charged $32.00 for two very light and very dry small plates of scrambled eggs. They refused to give that to us after we explained we were misled. Very disappointed in the lack of customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Roxanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Our goal is to provide the best service and accommodations possible and we regret falling short when it came to properly communicating the location of the complimentary breakfast. We truly hope that you will consider being a guest with us in the future. We would really like for you to get the full experience of all amenities offered. Our Executive Lounge is a spacious lounge that not only provides a full breakfast but it is where we host our evening reception. We invite our Hilton Honor members (Diamond & Gold) and those who book accommodations on our Executive Level to enjoy fantastic views of Lake Erie while dining, having a beverage of choice, watching CNN or other programs on one of two large flat screens or even utilizing the complimentary WiFi to surf the net. So if you get the opportunity please visit with us again.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose this hotel because it was the closest to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. That is really were the positives for this hotel end. The room was extremely small and the windows, window frame, and floor was extremely dirty. If we weren't traveling with teen agers that were extremely tired, we would have gone for a different room. The A/C was ridiculous. We had to turn it up to 82 to keep from freezing in the room...and even with that we were all bundled up. We tried turning it off completely but that just made the room extremely stuffy. This is a very old hotel that is in desperate need of upgrading. It appears the bathroom was upgraded, but not enough to make up for the rooms.

The evening reception was supposed to go until 8PM...we arrived at 7:25PM and almost all the food was gone and it was not refilled. The room was very small and very hot. While it is nice that this is offered for guests, don't make it a selling point if you aren't going to supply the reception you advertise. Breakfast was even worse. We spent way too much for this hotel. We would not stay here again...not matter how cheap we could get it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disney526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your recent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Please accept our sincerest apology for all inconveniences. It is our mission & culture to provide the best service possible at every level and I regret that we were unable to achieve our goal.

We realize that regardless of any excuse that could be offered, it would still fall short of being satisfactory. The concerns mentioned were urgently addressed and I assure you that the incidents described are atypical of our hotel. We are hoping you would allow us an opportunity to regain your confidence and if this is possible please be aware that our room sizes range from a 1 Queen bed room to our Standard 2 Queen bed or 1 King bed to our Executive Kings to our 2 room suite.... Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all The staff was amazing ,they were very friendly and were quick to ask if they could help with with anything. They also offer a great shuttle service and always seemed to be available were and the drivers were courteous
Now the Bad.. the elevators were a mess, long waits, one was not working and they seemed to stop at every floor. The whole hotel seemed to be a bit dated and in need of repairs and a good cleaning

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MDcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We do apologize for any inconveniences experience do to slowed elevator service. As we move closer to the completion of our elevator renovation/modernization project, we are pleased to say that the modernization has proven results where the functionality of the elevators are outstanding and upon completion, slowed elevators will be a thing of the past. Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with our team.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is an exceptional hotel. The location is within walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and there is a free shuttle to take you anywhere else downtown. Low cost for parking and you can park until later in the day even if you have to check out. Pay the little extra to stay on the executive level for the managers reception and breakfast. The food and service were incredible. The staff at this hotel are very accommodating and helpful. One of the best hotel experiences our family has ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Myra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We set our goals to provide the best service and accommodations possible and it seems that we accomplished our goal. We're very pleased to have met your expectations and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel restaurants had great food and a nice atmosphere. The room we had offered 2 queen size beds and was a nice size. The beds were clean and very comfortable. Great location - walking distance to everything but they also had a shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 83juliax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and that your expectations were met. Your comments have been shared with the staff to show that their hard work and attention to details was much appreciated.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: £105 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing