We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm cookies, friendly staff, elevators under repair, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
513 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Warm cookies, friendly staff, elevators under repair, nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fine and clean although not newly remodeled. The location was exceptionally convenient, within walking distance of the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, the Browns new stadium under construction, and the 4th Street restaurant area. The hotel runs a shuttle but we didn't use it and enjoyed the walks. Garage parking was plentiful and convenient. The nearby train tracks weren't much of a distraction. The lobby Starbucks was very convenient. I would stay again on a return visit as the location was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    619
    436
    172
    85
See reviews for
504
579
87
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stopped here on a road trip to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Great walking distance from the site. The kids and I had a blast in the restaurant, Starbucks and their favorite part was warm chocolate chip cookies upon check in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Family trips are always the best and even better when what has been planned turns out perfect. We are very pleased to have been a part of that perfect plan. Our goal is to meet the expectations of our guests and after reading your review we see that your stay was enjoyable, therefore achieving our goal, yeah!!
If ever in the area again please include us in that perfect plan, our yummy cookies are waiting.
Thanks for the review we really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I realize that there was some work being performed but the elevators not working properly should be a high priority. Have elevator workers around the clock to correct the problem. The garage was disgusting. The appearance was certainly not inviting and welcoming to customers. Additionally, more staff needs to be added to the hotel during those times when there are a large number of guests. I called to the front desk and the hotel operator on at least two occasions and the phone rang without an answer. At one point I let the phone ring for ten minutes without an answer. That is not Hilton's style. As a Hilton Honors member I was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate your comments and feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We totally agree that the slow elevator response is definitely not of Hilton standard. Therefore, proceeding with the elevator modernization project is truly necessary. With the project more than 50% completed, guests are already commenting on the improved functionally of the elevators. However, we truly apologize for all inconveniences and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future to experience the improvements first hand. Also, all other concerns have been immediately addressed and much like the elevators improvements are being made. Thank you again for your feedback and for being a loyal Hilton Honor Member. Feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleveland hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
326 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the DoubleTree Downtown Lakeside recently while in Cleveland for a trade show. The hotel is within just a few blocks from the convention center - a nice stroll. Unfortunately there is not much around the hotel, so if you want to go out in the evenings, you either walk (it is about a mile to the Tower and restaurant area) or you can use the complimentary DoubleTree van which runs frequently and drops you wherever you are going. They are very accommodating and even dropped us at the convention center with our show supplies and also picked us up.

Our room was average in furnishings and clean. We had a lake view which was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful.

When arriving at the airport you can either take a Super Shuttle-type van for $30, or just walk past baggage claim and take the train directly to the center of Cleveland for $3. The train is a slow one with many stops, but it felt safe and allowed you to see some of the area.

Our only “issue” with the hotel was that there was a leak in the wall of the bathroom. It soaked the carpet just outside the bathroom door. It was obvious from the stains that this had been going on for a long time. Each day we placed a towel over the wet area so we didn’t have to step in it and each day housekeeping removed the towel and the wet spot continued.

Breakfast was not a high point. The hotel pushes the $15.00 breakfast buffet. The scrambled eggs on the line looked old so I ordered off the menu. The waitress dished up my eggs from the buffet, so I got the stiff old eggs! The buffet area is barren with no color or decoration, so it feels very “institutional”. One waitress was very attentive - two others spent their time out at the front chatting and ignoring the guests. Unfortunately there is not much choice for breakfast other than the Starbucks in the lobby or to head downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your recent stay. We are pleased that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service and happy to know that you found it easy and convenient. Not may travelers are aware of the city transit system which makes getting from the airport to downtown easy and affordable. Seeing that we offer our shuttle service to pick up and drop off anywhere within a 1 mile radius of the hotel, taking the RTA from the airport makes it very simple. So again, we are very happy that you were able to take advantage of both our complimentary service and the city rapid transit service for just a few bucks. We are in hopes that if ever in the city again and you choose to stay with us, you will be able to visit some of the area attractions that are in walking distance of the hotel such as, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, The Great Lakes Science Center, First Energy Stadium (Browns Stadium), 4th street for dining if you don't mind walking about 5 city blocks. In response to the not so good experience, we have addressed the room condition items that you mentioned and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We have also shared your dining experience with our culinary and food and beverage team so that improvements can be made. We apologize for all inconveniences experienced and thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Parking-outside of the hotel is impossible. I did not even bother to try and find a spot. Pulled directly into the parking garage attached. You CAN access it prior to checking in. I saw a previous poster said you could not but you can. You just CANT get out without checking in lol you use your room key. Parking is $18 a day just like every large city. And i overheard the people in front of us checking in, ask about the parking garage. As they turned the leave, they said they had to move the car because its parked outside in the 1 hour zone. The checkin lady said not to worry about moving and to stay there because its free all weekend to park there, its just not posted. Ha! Now i dont know if that was this weekend only or every weekend? But if you snag a space prior to checkin, hint around about it!

Elevators - majority of people posting complained. So dont show up expecting something different. And plan a few extra minutes for delays to just take the stairs if its convenient. Parking garage elevator is slowwwwww and old. Hotel elevators are very slow if you try and use them during primetime. We used it friday at 4pm. It was slow because a lot of people were coming and going. But we used it friday at 630pm and 11pm and saturday morn at 830am, all which were fine. Well… once it stopped at every floor for no reason lol and we were on 15th floor. But we werent in a rush and already read the complaints. Plus there are signs posted that they are being upgraded and are slow. Basically, dont arrive thinking it is going to be any different.

Checkin-small and crowds quickly so its somewhat uncomfortable. Employees were friendly, just slow. They throughly explain everything without rushing and squeeze in some small talk, which is good. But around normal checkin time, it eventually generates a good size crowd filling the lobby.But they make sure you get a warm cookie!

Room-#1537 standard queen. Small but had everything. Comfy bed, desk with chair, 2 nightstands that had plugs in the lamps but due to overusage, the connection was loose. Good selection of tv channels, clean room and mini fridge. Bath was clean with good quality soap and shampoos, soft towels. We stayed friday to saturday and heard nothing from hallway or other rooms. Our room was at the very end of a hallway so quietness was not a surprise! Wireless internet not working but too tired to call or care. Decor was modern.

Shuttle - hotel offers free shuttle within a mile. Perfect for us to go to an Indians game!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quiet due to distance from elevator and lack off passer byes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your review, your comments were spot on. Although the elevators are slower during peek times as you described, the elevator modernization project is well on its way and the improved functionality and service has been notice by many guests. The project is more than 50% completed and we are excited to share that slower and delayed elevators will soon be a thing of the past. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit with us again in the future. Please keep in mind that the City of Cleveland offers free meter parking on the weekend. Therefore, the meters directly across from the hotel are free starting Friday evening at 5:00 pm - Monday morning at 8:00 am. However, anyone who chooses to park Sunday night and fails to feed the meter prior to 8:00 am Monday morning, I guarantee they will have a $25 parking ticket come 8:01 am. Just a little tidbit for your next visit.
Thanks again, your feedback was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The elevators appeared to be possessed. Of the four in the hotel, two only worked. And when they did it was at the discretion of the elevator as to where you ended up. Parking is $18.00 a day. If you're lucky park out front and use the meters. Their free on weekends and holidays. Room was decent and clean. But by the time you got to your room you were so tired after climbing the stairs that a sleeping bag underneath the nearest overpass seemed heavily.

Room Tip: Call to see if the elevators are working. Otherwise get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms were nice. Only had one meal at hotel restaurant. Shrimp salad had way too much dressing on it! Not good at all. Elevator service was poor and that was due to repairs being made-per the sign. Nevertheless, with 4 elevators, the wait time and ride time was long. Elevators stopped at almost every other floor or more. Hotel is close to the lake and other activities. Employee's were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 623joanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Property: Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing