We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for RoR Hall of Fame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location for RoR Hall of Fame”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is only a short walk away from the lakeside, where the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is, and the hotel is fine in most respects--not great, but good enough. The initial check-in person-- when we arrived in the late evening--was not as enthusiastic as she might have been but the other staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle to take you to the downtown "nightlife" area, to the degree Cleveland has one, and the driver of that was very efficient (either that or we were lucky!). The big problem was that the shower did not work properly. When I reported the problem there was an engineer at the room very quickly, who did manage partly to fix the problem so that we could at least shower, but this is a problem that we should not have had to deal with at this level of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We really appreciate the feedback given as it will assist us with improving where we may have fallen short. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced during your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Again, we appreciated and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    650
    463
    177
    87
See reviews for
528
618
91
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was pleased with my overall stay. I do not have any complaints. I did not use any of the hotel amenities, so I cannot comment on those. Good location.... with in walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Although you did not have the opportunity to utilize some of the hotel amenities, we are hopeful that there will be another opportunity for you to visit with us in the future. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you were pleased!! :)

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Village, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Customer service here was great, staff was helpful to find places to visit and to get whatever you needed. Shuttle service was nice, being someone from a small town I would have been lost trying to find my way around. I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit with us, we are pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable. We really appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My room was filthy I had to clean it myself and then when I did the housekeeping supervisor told me that was unacceptable to be tearing the room apart because i was on a discounted rate I guess u are not allowed to clean your own room when it's dirty from prior guests

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hojofan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your recent experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Please accept my sincerest apology for all inconveniences. It is our mission & culture to provide the best service and accommodations possible and I regret that we were unable to achieve our goal.

I realize that regardless of any excuse that could be offered, it would still fall short of being satisfactory. The concerns that you brought to our attention has been shared with the entire staff and urgently addressed. Regaining you confidence is priority for us and we're hoping that you will visit again to see how your feedback has assisted us with improving where we may have fallen short.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The DoubleTree is in a great location if you are visiting the Great Lake Science Center or the Rock Roll Hall of Fame. However, there isn't much else around the hotel.

The hotel was good. It's a little dated but they seem to be renovating each floor.

I had read some bad reviews on the elevator situation. It is true they are working on them and they seem to be working independently of one another but we did not have any real issues. We were on the 14th floor and had access to the club level on the 18th floor. We never waited more than a few minutes for them to arrive.

Because there isn't much around the hotel we eat breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Two very different experiences. The breakfast buffet wasn't very good and service was poor. However, for dinner the food and service were great.

The pool is on the lobby level and was really nice. It's a big pool and wasn't very crowded.

Overall we were happy with our stay at this Doubletree.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Two of the four elevators were out of order, and thus it took a long time getting into the room. Hotel location isn’t great regarding proximity to downtown restaurants and shopping. Hotel seemed dated and a poor value compared to other options in downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland-Lakeside, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I killed 3 LARGE spiders throughout my 6 night stay & found another dead one in between my sheets. The food at the restaurant/bar was horrible & took forever to come out, even when no one was in the restaurant. Not all the staff was rude, but the 5 I encountered ruined it for everyone. I tried to complain on 3 occasions, but there was never a manger available. I left messages with no call back, so I e-mailed when I returned home. As of now, I have not received ANY compensation from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
5 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Property: Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#20 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing