We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good zoo”

Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Ranked #11 of 187 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss this exciting metropolitan zoo best known for having the largest collection of primates in the United States and for its Rainforest exhibit, which features a thrilling simulated tropical rain storm.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good zoo”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this zoo. The koalas were out and active. It's great to see a large elephant enclosure. But take the tram up to see the gorillas.

Helpful?
Thank ieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    376
    108
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A must in Cleveland!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wow! I was so impressed by this urban zoo! It has a wonderful collection of animals, including adorable koala bears and might lions!

There is a great deal of walking involved to see all of the exhibits here, so it may be daunting for seniors or those with young children. A tram is available to help.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VAGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

While in Cleveland to visit family, we decided to try the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo. It was a beautiful day for a walk around the zoo and there were parts of the zoo that were wonderfully done. I really enjoyed the Elephant Crossing, the building was a wonderful surprise. Inside the building were people who educated us about elephants and we could also see the elephants that were not outside yet. I also enjoyed the Lion habitat and the meerkats. I really loved that they had such a large primate population but I was very disappointed in the aquatic section. There was a lot of walking involved (there were trams available but we didn't take them) so wear your most comfortable shoes. It was nice that each section of the zoo had their own gift shops as well as the main gift shop. The food was fairly standard zoo fare, the barbeque was good (although not cheap). Overall, the zoo was very entertaining and something for all in Cleveland to be proud of.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barelymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“One of the country's best zoos”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I tend to visit zoos when I travel. The one in Cleveland is one of the best ones I've been to. It is spread out along a ravine in the metroparks and has a surprisingly varied topography. The animals are in well-proportioned outdoor enclosures and there are a lot of different animal species. They have a section for animals from Australia that is a big hit as well as a petting zoo for children.

I really enjoyed walking around (and you can do a lot of walking here) and checking out the exhibits. The Rainforest is a really cool building to check out if it's raining.

This is one attraction that would be perfect if you have a beautiful day in Cleveland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing more than average zoo.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The zoo had all the basics. It was clean and the animals all looked healthy. Just very average all around. completely acceptable for an excursion BUTif you want a world class experience head over to the Pittsburgh or Columbus Zoos instead.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoganMarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleveland Metroparks Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Metroparks Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing