We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and adjacent to the hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfy and adjacent to the hospital”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I went her on a business trip and was very happy with my stay. When we arrived I was upgraded to the club level and was able to take advantage of the club lounge which provided breakfast in the morning and even drinks in the evening.

The room was very comfortable and large enough to work in. I had dinner at Table 45 several times during my stay and was not disappointed with the food. The staff was very accommodating and the place is connected to the Cleveland Clinic which made my stay very convenient. I will not think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcruz914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear tcruz914,

We value and appreciate the comments you have shared with everyone. Thank you and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    161
    62
    22
    22
See reviews for
138
111
39
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Without trying to offend the good people of Cleveland, why would you go there in the dead of winter unless you had to. If you had to, it was probably for health reasons or business. In either case, you would not go wrong with this hotel. Good, clean rooms and fantastic staff.

I highly recommend staying on the executive floor. If there is a bit of a ding, it would be for the restaurant food. On the executive level, the food and beverages are generally as good as the restaurant food and you will save a ton of money. Actually Antoinette and the other overseers of the executive floor are worth the additional price, even if they didn't serve food. She in particular has the ability to remember you from long past visits and the unique ability to make you feel so very welcome under almost any circumstances.

Room Tip: Pay for the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArCDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear ArCDawg,

Thank you for being our guest recently and sharing your experiences with everyone. Our Club Lounge attendants, including Antoinette are very good at making everyone feel welcome and I thank you for recognizing her.

We look forward to having you as our guest again should you travel to Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

First of all, we were supposed to stay at the InterContinental Hotel & Suites. But, they overbooked the hotel and upgraded us to the Conference Center. Our first impression of the hotel was great. The staff seemed nice and the room was nice and looked clean. The next morning we discovered hair in the shower before we even used it. They must be short staffed in that department because housekeeping didn't come around to clean our room until 5:00 pm the next day; we didn't even bother at that point. The beds were comfortable, but for an expensive hotel, the sheets were very low quality.
The day before we were leaving I asked the reception clerk about getting transportation to the airport and she told me that they have a service from the hotel for $40 and directed me to the bellhop station. He took my name and room number and said everything was all set for the next day. I called in the morning to have the car take us 15 minutes earlier than I originally scheduled and they said I wasn't even on the schedule. What?!! I couldn't believe it. But, they said they would have a car available, though. So, when I checked out I asked about the payment for the car service and I was told that it would be put on the credit card i used to check in. The driver was great and got us to the airport without any problem. However, he was told to collect $44 from me. First of all, I was told $40 not $44 and it was supposed to go on my credit card, now they wanted cash! The customer service at this hotel sucked! I guess unless you have executive level status you won't get correct information, they won't clean your room and they will forget that they scheduled you for a ride to the airport. The only good experience we had at this hotel was the room service. The food was great and the servers were polite, friendly and on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear lynn t,

We understand your recent trip to the hotel was an inconvenience to you and your daughter and we apologize for all the issues you have mentioned in your comments. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We will address the confusion with the cost and process for the car service to the airport.

Thank you,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was there just 2 nights for business. It is in an excellent location for those who have business (lecture, conferences and others) with the clinic and with the university there or for those who are patients at Cleveland Clinic. The hotel room is very clean and well organized and very comfortable. Free internet is also very useful for business people. The restaurants serve good quality food with reasonable prize and good service. It is directly connected to the clinic with "Skyway" corridor, so, you do not need to walk outside during cold winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Aye M,

Thank you for being a recent guest and taking time to share your positive experiences. We certainly appreciate the feedback and welcome your next trip to Cleveland.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Our reason for choosing this hotel is purely out of convenience. We had to visit a relative who was hospitalized at the Cleveland Clinic. When I found out this hotel was literally right next to CC, and had a skyway passage from the hotel to the hospital, I was sold. Like others have said, it's ridiculously convenient to visit the hospital from this hotel. Made our reservation online the night before our arrival. Arrived about 2 hours before check in, took a chance and found our room was ready so we were registered and checked in quickly. Had a room on the 11th floor. Very nice, elegant really. The bathroom was phenomenal, the bed was beautiful, comfy, furniture appropriate, view was great. Had a refrigerator, but no microwave. Fine if you're only there one night but if you have leftovers from dinner, no way to warm them up - small inconvenience. Lots of offers of assistance from staff, bellmen, housekeeping. Valet parking is $24 added to your bill. You really don't need your car as the hospital is right there. Ordered room service, only took about 35 minutes. The gentleman who delivered it was super nice, set up the table for us and everything. The food was really good. Would've spent the same amount had we found a nice restaurant nearby. We needed to check out but still visit our relative so we stored our luggage, coats, bags with the bellman after we checked out. He was a very delightful, pleasant and accommodating gentleman. When it was time to go home, he summoned our car, retrieved our belongings and helped us like we were celebrities. If I ever find myself having to go to the CC again, I will 100% most definitely book a room at this hotel again and recommend it highly. If you are there to visit the CC, wear comfy walking shoes - that place is HUGE and you will do a lot of walking to get around the hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyofthevalley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear lilyofthevalley4,

Thank you for staying at the InterContinental Hotel and sharing your wonderful comments with us. I have shared your comments with the employees and congratulated them on making you feel like celebrities.

We look forward to your next trip to Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My family are repeat patients at the Cleveland Clinic. Love the convenient, attached skywalk to the clinic and the Club Level service/food. When you are on the run for Clinic appointments, the 3 food presentations are convenient and delicious. The Staff on Club keep the food presentations stocked and the best part are the "hugs of hospitality/concern" that the staff gives. They know many Guests may be staying alone and are a long ways from home.Our family is always greeted with a hug and "Welcome back". If you enjoy a lawn view; ask for the rooms on the "lake side". Club level Guest rooms seem a little nicer than the non-club rooms in terms of furniture, bath amenities and well worth the extra cost.
If you have to be a patient at the Cleveland Clinic, the Intercontinental Hotel staff from the moment that you pull up to the front door; all make you feel welcomed and comfortable, as if you were at a resort setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Barbara F,

Thank you for being loyal guests of the InterContinental. Your genuine comments regarding the Club Level attendants are recognized and have been shared with everyone.

Again thank you.
Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

We are staying here currently due to a procedure for my husband at Cleveland. Everyone has been courteous and helpful. Room service is reasonably priced. The room is nice, but the best part is the sky walk over to the Cleveland clinic. Our stay had to be extended for a while and the front desk was accommodating and gave us a lower rate for booking for a week. It's great service, value, and location all in one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear EBond,

Thank you for being our guest recently. We appreciate and value your comments and hope you will be our guest on your next trip to Cleveland.

Happy New Year!
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
3.7 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#25 of 38 in Cleveland
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Property: InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
Address: 9801 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing