We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Spacious, Clean and Deck with Awesome View"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleveland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“"Spacious, Clean and Deck with Awesome View"”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location, Location, Location. The Cleveland Hostel is 1 block from the Cleveland Transit system, 1 block from the famous Market, 2 blocks from Flying Fig and multiple shops on the street. The facility is so clean with fresh lovely towels and wash cloths. We had a wonderful 3 hour afternoon dining with food from Cleveland Market on the top deck. If you are unable to do stairs I do not recommend this facility as everything is a flight up.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and beds comfortable. Rates are reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane-R-Nantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    22
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
25
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Clean rooms, nice common areas, roof deck, close to bars, etc.
Be careful to confirm the rate- even if they email you a confirmation with nightly rate it is subject to change based on the room # they assign you.
DO NOT PARK IN THE LOT ACROSS THE STREET! Six cars broken into the night I stayed there- most belonged to guests of the hostel. Be careful- it's Cleveland. Despite what some people will tell you, it's still dangerous even in the Ohio City area where the hostel is located. Sketchy characters hanging around, trash cans overturned nightly, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sethreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We went to Cleveland March 18 for an Indians game. We decided to spend the night so we could enjoy the West Side Market the next day. It was a night game, so by the time we got out of the game, all we needed to do was lay down our heads, as we would be going right down the block to the West Side Cafe for breakfast.

The fare to the game, round trip, was $1 in the Great Lakes Brewing Co.'s eco-friendly (runs on vegetable oil) shuttle! Making a purchase at the Brewery in trade for the $1 fare was a pleasure.

Do not be put off by the term "Hostel". This place is clean, modern and fit the bill to a T. It is in a very hip neighborhood, is extremely eco-friendly (wind up alarm clock, no TV, radio, or in-room fridge/microwave), secure and safe. For those leftover culinary treats you will bring back for a late night snack, use the full-feature, fully stocked kitchen! But please clean up after yourself.. there is NO maid service, no washcloths (there were towels) and no toiletries provided.

The neighborhood is not full of loud, rowdy night life, but it does have enough going on to make you want to return to the superb Ohio City.

The Hostel's rooftop patio has THE most amazing view of Cleveland's skyline I have ever seen. Why pay an extra $50-200 more for a generic room that provides continental breakfast and trial size shampoo? Do yourself a favor, experience the coolest Cleveland scene and perhaps meet some wordly travelers while you are at it.

I had NO problems AT ALL and will likely return.

Room Tip: If you can, stay on the 3rd floor, so you are right near the rooftop patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livewires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila, Pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Somehow my partner and I have become seniors. It wasn't planned but it happened. Keeping age in mind he questioned whether a hostel would be the right place for us in our initial visit to Cleveland.
We have to say The Cleveland Hostel was a great choice for us. You can choose to share a room and a bath or to take a room with a private bath. We chose the latter and for 75 dollars a night got a clean room with a nice bath..shower, which was fine with us...and easy access to a shared kitchen. We did not use the kitchen but we saw some of the children...okay, twenty somethings...making use of the facilities. You can buy food and cook in or pick up take out. The only requirement is that you clean up after yourself. Seems fair.
The location is terrific. Ohio City is a section of Cleveland that is undergoing a renaissance . Lots of hip bars and restaurants. We liked the neighborhood so much that we ate at three different restaurants in the area rather than taking the car to downtown Cleveland. Parking is a cinch by the way...free and right across the street.
Driving to the sights in Cleveland was easy. Although if you don't have a car there is a public rail service about a block away.
Both the owner, Mark, and his second in command, Michelle, were happy to help with directions and suggestions as to what to see in town...don't miss the Cleveland Museum of Art which has combined their older building with a stunning modern addition. The art was fine but we were more impressed with the architecture of the buildings.
This hostel is a great find for both young and old travelers.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jimandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This European style hostel is very conveniently located (on the main strip of Ohio City-many amazing restaurants with great happy hour food options, West Side Market, Dave’s Supermarket, public transit [RTA red line station], nice mile walk to Lolly the Trolley-excellent 2 hour sightseeing tour).
Huge, comfortable, clean, beautifully designed kitchen, dinning area, and social/community interaction area on the second floor. Great roof deck area that has tables/chairs and an amazing view (it was a little chilly during our trip, but would be a great space to unwind). Good security (front door key card access). Private rooms, four person rooms with private bath, and larger shared rooms available (price variations). We did a four person room with private bath (two bunk beds) $27 per person. Because it off season, we ended up having the room to ourselves (the other two beds were open). Low census so noise was not an issue. However, if you are a light/medium sleeper you may want to bring ear plugs. Great stay in a wonderfully unique hostel! We highly recommend it and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica_GPrescott_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

- The hostel is closed to the station of RTA (10 min to downtown)
- There is a big market near the hostel
- This building is new and clean (est. 2012)
- Good shower room
- Well organized kitchen

I think the hostel is one of the best hostels in USA.
I strongly recommend to stay in this hostel if you come to Cleveland:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ishimaruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It has been a few years since we have stayed at a Hostel, maybe ten, twenty, okay; it is approaching twenty-five years. However, my wife and I decided to check out Ohio City and try to recapture some of our misspent youth. We could not be more impressed with Cleveland or the Cleveland Hostel.

First, let us discuss Cleveland. Remember when Cleveland was the butt of all of those jokes after the river catching on fire? Well, Cleveland is now HOT!!! On a recent tour of the Great Lakes Brewery, we met visitors who traveled to Cleveland from California, Georgia, New York, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. In a tour of about thirty people, as we sampled “Burning River Pale Ale,” we were the sole travelers from Ohio.

Restaurant choices in the area are amazing. We sat at the “Chef’s Table” and watched the staff prepare delicious fare at Crop Bistro. It is in a former bank building, built just before the 1929 stock market crash. Does the artwork in the building foresee the coming “crash” and the re-birth of the building as a restaurant? You be the Judge. Make sure to check out the former bank vault, now a funky place for group gatherings. Crop Bistro is not an inexpensive place to eat, but not out of line for the quality of the food and the setting. Besides, you can now afford to splurge a little. Think of all that money you are saving staying at the Hostel.

For cheaper food options, there are a number of high quality restaurants, coffee and pastry shops, many that have been highlighted on the Food Network. Take along a cup of coffee as you stroll many of the quaint shops selling local products. Do not miss the West Side Market, conveniently located across the street from the Hostel. If you are a foodie, you can travel the world and not leave the West Side Market.

As for other sites, we strongly recommend a visit to the Cleveland Art Museum a short drive away at University Circle. This area is known for its vast cultural activities, including the world famous Cleveland Orchestra, consistently rated one of the best in the WORLD. However, the true gem is the soon to be completed renovation of the Cleveland Art Museum. Rafael Vinoly has masterfully blended the older 1916 Greek revival museum with the “newer 70’s style” expansion to create an architectural work of art. The expansion has allowed the Museum to more fully display its vast collection. You could easily spend several days at this facility, a museum that now rivals the best in Europe.

Speaking of Europe, Mark has done a fantastic job of bringing a classy, European Style hostel to the North Coast. The rooms are clean, reasonably priced, well appointed, with fantastic common areas. You can easily shop at the West Side Market and prepare a meal in the expansive kitchen area. Just make sure to clean up after yourself!

The key to this Hostel is with every good business – LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. From your rooftop view of the Hostel, you can begin to realize all that this city has to offer. Cleveland has a lot going for it and the Ohio City area has a hip vibe about it. For a “middle aged” couple, the Cleveland Hostel was a perfect place to explore the vast cultural activities within the Cuyahoga River area. We are pleased to report that the river is no longer on fire, and that Cleveland offers the traveler the ability to see the world within a short walk or drive of the Cleveland Hostel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoodieandScarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Hostel

Property: The Cleveland Hostel
Address: 2090 W 25th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cleveland Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hostel is housed in an historic building in Cleveland's vibrant Ohio City Neighborhood with restaurants, shops, breweries and the fabulous West Side Market right at your doorstep. With numerous bus lines and a stop on the red line train just a block away it is easy to get anywhere in the city. We offer shared and private rooms, a large fully equipped kitchen, common areas, and amazing views of the city from the roof top deck. Our staff are well traveled, friendly and helpful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hostel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing