We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cleveland Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
67
23
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
23
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop patiowest side marketshared roomsrta trainthird floorlocal breweriesthe cleaning ladyfull kitchennba finalsperfect locationtop floordefinitely stay here againpublic squaredowntownlinenstowergame
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Cleveland Hostel was an excellent place to stay. I met some nice guests staying there and likewise the people of Cleveland were very friendly. My first trip to Cleveland for a vacation was a very positive one. I would return to Cleveland at some point and stay again at this hostel. I loved the rooftop patio and BBQ with a brilliant view of downtown Cleveland. I also recommend renting a bike for $15 a day from the hostel to go sightseeing and checking out Edgewater Park with a very nice beach and Whiskey Island.

The location is great as well with nearby bars/restaurants and the West Side market, which is around 100 years old. The hostel is close to downtown and transit is very close by for buses and the rapid transit trains. This is the place to stay if you visit Cleveland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toronto_Canada_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at the Cleveland Ohio Hostel mid-May 2013. It was my first experience at a hostel. First, the location is perfect if you plan on taking public transportation. The rail transit is close by and the bus is steps away. The hostel is less than a block away from the West Side Marketplace and the Great Lakes Brewery restaurant. Both are worthwhile places to visit. The hostel staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed on the third floor in a semi-private double queen room. Very clean and quiet. The corridors, stairs and rooms are carpeted in a padded berber that seemed to be new. The 2 bathrooms on the third floor available the semi-private rooms were down the hall and most of the time open. There's a nice size shower but not bathtub. Expect to buy hand soap and paper towels, after-all this is a hostel. I had purchased and left these items in the washroom to share. Linens and towels are provided. The 2nd floor has a large equipped kitchen and dining area. The fridge was communal and guests tagged their items. The rooftop of the hostel has chairs and tables with a great view of the city. I met other travelers and shared a couple of beers on the rooftop discussing our travel experiences. Its a great place to relax. Of all my inexpensive lodging stays including Memphis TN and Charleston SC, this hostel was the best experience to date. The large brand-name economy hotels weren't half as nice or in accessible locations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Cleveland Hostel has got to be the one place you should come and stay at if you are visiting Cleveland!!
The hostel is very clean, the rooms are very spaciouse with a reasonable sized locker for each bunk. The staff are also very friendly and happy to help guests with anything, all in all it is also a great place to meet other travellers, and it's also in a great location ith a number of breweries and bars/pubs very close to the hostel itself.

If visiting Cleveland for the first time, the hostel is only a 15/20 minute walk to downton and surrounding areas with plenty of things to do, including The Rock And Roll museum which is a must see attraction.

I would definately recomend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hostel is SUPREMELY clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly, and the overall atmosphere is great. They offer bunk-style rooms for extremely cheap rates, and they have private rooms that are FAR superior to cheap roadside motels (for the same price). As others have mentioned, it's right in the market district, and it is surrounded by bars, restaurants and breweries. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Cleveland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skishark25, Owner at The Cleveland Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi, thank you for staying at The Cleveland Hostel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the neighborhood. We have a fully equipped kitchen with many cups and mugs that all guests can use. The hostel is fully air conditioned, we also have ceiling fans in each guest room for individual comfort. We hope to see you back on your next trip to Cleveland!

Thank you

Mark
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location, Location, Location. The Cleveland Hostel is 1 block from the Cleveland Transit system, 1 block from the famous Market, 2 blocks from Flying Fig and multiple shops on the street. The facility is so clean with fresh lovely towels and wash cloths. We had a wonderful 3 hour afternoon dining with food from Cleveland Market on the top deck. If you are unable to do stairs I do not recommend this facility as everything is a flight up.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and beds comfortable. Rates are reasonable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane-R-Nantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews