We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visit to Cleveland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleveland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Beckum, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Visit to Cleveland”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Cleveland Hostel was close and easy to find after disembarking the train at the W-25 St. Ohio City station. This hostel is also, at most, a 2 minute walk from the historic marketplace in Cleveland which was a delight to visit. The hostel offers free wifi and a nice large kitchen where one can prepare meals as needed. The first room I stayed in (33) had someone else's hair on the shower walls. The second room I stayed in (10) allowed me to hear everything going on in the backyard, the lobby, the stairwell, as well as the footsteps of other guests walking on the floor above. The cleaning lady and Taylor were very nice; Mark is an exasperating blonde.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet when the hostel is empty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
25
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is awesome. Tastefully decorated and it has a great rooftop patio with a skyline view. All normal hostel amenities included and linens are free. The neighborhood is a sleeper too. Way more fun than downtown Cleveland. Staff was also very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who lived in Ohio City (the area the hostel is in), and she was not wrong. This is my first time staying in a hostel since I was a teenager (sadly, long ago) and I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was a really excellent experience.

I got a room with ensuite bathroom, and it was great. Good shower, great bed. No a/c of course but the ceiling fan was more than adequate. The building itself is clean and the guy running it was extremely friendly and helpful.

Top thing was the rooftop terrace which is set out with tables, chairs and a bbq, and which has a beautiful view across to the city.

The only slight niggle I had was that there was no glass or cup in the room for drinking so when I got thirsty in the night I had no way to drink any water except directly from the faucet! The addition of some cheap plastic cups in the bathrooms would be really nice...

I'd have no hesitation to recommend this place to anyone, it was a very reasonably priced place just as good or better as your standard hotel and in a great location. The Ohio City area is vibrant and fun; there's a ton of great places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk of the hostel, and with the lovely West Side market just across the street. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The ensuite room was great but the separate bathrooms looked fine and those rooms are a little cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigGiantPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Cleveland Hostel was an excellent place to stay. I met some nice guests staying there and likewise the people of Cleveland were very friendly. My first trip to Cleveland for a vacation was a very positive one. I would return to Cleveland at some point and stay again at this hostel. I loved the rooftop patio and BBQ with a brilliant view of downtown Cleveland. I also recommend renting a bike for $15 a day from the hostel to go sightseeing and checking out Edgewater Park with a very nice beach and Whiskey Island.

The location is great as well with nearby bars/restaurants and the West Side market, which is around 100 years old. The hostel is close to downtown and transit is very close by for buses and the rapid transit trains. This is the place to stay if you visit Cleveland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto_Canada_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at the Cleveland Ohio Hostel mid-May 2013. It was my first experience at a hostel. First, the location is perfect if you plan on taking public transportation. The rail transit is close by and the bus is steps away. The hostel is less than a block away from the West Side Marketplace and the Great Lakes Brewery restaurant. Both are worthwhile places to visit. The hostel staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed on the third floor in a semi-private double queen room. Very clean and quiet. The corridors, stairs and rooms are carpeted in a padded berber that seemed to be new. The 2 bathrooms on the third floor available the semi-private rooms were down the hall and most of the time open. There's a nice size shower but not bathtub. Expect to buy hand soap and paper towels, after-all this is a hostel. I had purchased and left these items in the washroom to share. Linens and towels are provided. The 2nd floor has a large equipped kitchen and dining area. The fridge was communal and guests tagged their items. The rooftop of the hostel has chairs and tables with a great view of the city. I met other travelers and shared a couple of beers on the rooftop discussing our travel experiences. Its a great place to relax. Of all my inexpensive lodging stays including Memphis TN and Charleston SC, this hostel was the best experience to date. The large brand-name economy hotels weren't half as nice or in accessible locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Cleveland Hostel has got to be the one place you should come and stay at if you are visiting Cleveland!!
The hostel is very clean, the rooms are very spaciouse with a reasonable sized locker for each bunk. The staff are also very friendly and happy to help guests with anything, all in all it is also a great place to meet other travellers, and it's also in a great location ith a number of breweries and bars/pubs very close to the hostel itself.

If visiting Cleveland for the first time, the hostel is only a 15/20 minute walk to downton and surrounding areas with plenty of things to do, including The Rock And Roll museum which is a must see attraction.

I would definately recomend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_Feast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hostel is SUPREMELY clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly, and the overall atmosphere is great. They offer bunk-style rooms for extremely cheap rates, and they have private rooms that are FAR superior to cheap roadside motels (for the same price). As others have mentioned, it's right in the market district, and it is surrounded by bars, restaurants and breweries. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Cleveland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skishark25, Owner at The Cleveland Hostel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi, thank you for staying at The Cleveland Hostel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the neighborhood. We have a fully equipped kitchen with many cups and mugs that all guests can use. The hostel is fully air conditioned, we also have ceiling fans in each guest room for individual comfort. We hope to see you back on your next trip to Cleveland!

Thank you

Mark
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#17 of 38 in Cleveland
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Hostel

Property: The Cleveland Hostel
Address: 2090 W 25th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cleveland Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hostel is housed in an historic building in Cleveland's vibrant Ohio City Neighborhood with restaurants, shops, breweries and the fabulous West Side Market right at your doorstep. With numerous bus lines and a stop on the red line train just a block away it is easy to get anywhere in the city. We offer shared and private rooms, a large fully equipped kitchen, common areas, and amazing views of the city from the roof top deck. Our staff are well traveled, friendly and helpful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cleveland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hostel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing