We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding new hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding new hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Courtyard opened a little over a year ago and definitely still has that "new car" smell and vibe. The entire hotel is very clean and has been treated well with care, and it also feels more upscale than your ordinary, run-of-the-mill Courtyard. We stayed in a standard King room, and everything felt and appeared brand-new.

The location in University Circle, an up-and-coming area of Cleveland, was fantastic, with Little Italy, the Botanical Gardens and several museums and restaurants within walking distance. We never felt unsafe in the neighborhood and really enjoyed being able to explore the area. We also saved a ton by not staying in an overpriced hotel in downtown Cleveland.

Valet parking is $20 per night at the hotel, but it is well worth it. They offer a text message pickup service, which was very convenient. You just text your valet number to the provided phone number and 10 minutes later your car is ready.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms on higher floors offer a complete buffer from any city noise below.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling containers in every room are a nice touch.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It is wonderful to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are delighted to hear not only of the comfort you experienced at our hotel, but also that you were able to take advantage of the offerings in our area. Our location is a key attribute to providing our guests with endless opportunities of discovery throughout their stay.
Best,
Scott Starek, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    98
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
41
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked the courtyard and was not disappointed. It is a clean and modern hotel conveniently located, pretty much what one would expect from a courtyard.
The restaurant is more like a fast food place, the choices of food and beverages are average. Gym is a plus, swimming pool is small

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast; it is feedback like this which allows us to improve future guest experiences. We hope to see you again soon.
Best,
Scott Starek, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A great hotel at a convenient location. Room was immaculate, staff was professional. Breakfast at the Bistro was quick and convenient. An option for self-parking would be nice, but the parking staff provided quick and efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBRONH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, OH. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, professional staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.
Kind Regards,
Scott Starek, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Would really give it 4+. Great location within walking distance to Little Italy, museums, hospitals, CWRU and more, friendly staff and very nice rooms. The hotel is in great condition with all amenities. Be aware that you have to valet for $20 a day but there is a free shuttle for destinations within 2 miles. Bonus points for refrigerator in room since we stopped by Western market and for the nice shower. Will be our hotel of choice in Cleveland.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed again in this hotel. The facility is pleasant, room and bathroom very comfortable. Had one problem this time: I extended my stay for another day but despite repeated calls to the front desk and reassurance that my room will be cleaned this did not take place until 4 pm after I spoke again with the assistant manager. I had to leave my room at 4 pm for half an hour to wait for the cleaning. Obviously there is poor communication between the front desk and the house cleaning service that needs improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. Your feedback provides us with the valuable information we need to improve communication. We appreciate and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything looks nice on paper and in photos as far as this hotel is concerned. But my family and I stayed had booked two connecting rooms and had planned on staying for a whole month. We checked out after 15 or so days because the level of cleanliness leaves much to be desired. The rooms were not cleaned properly, towels and sheets were not handled sanitarily, and the housekeeping simply ... sucks! The lobby and café area looks beautiful on pictures, but it's really just a glorified Starbucks, with very limited service and food. And the kitchen staff and helpers, in addition to being mostly rude and discourteous, looked like they had worn their clothes and aprons for months, without changing..... So unappetizing, if you can find the food you want on the menu, but they often never have on stock.

What a waste of good money ... and hotel name..... NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: There are better hotels or boutique hotels for the same price, with cleaner service and rooms, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Wowo D,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Cleveland area. If you’d like to discuss your stay with me in more detail, please call the hotel and reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have son attending Case Western and ALWAYS stay here! Right on campus (Ok, across the street). BRAND NEW and very clean. Wonderful walk in shower and lots of room. Great staff. Can be pricy during busy CWRU events but worth it. You don't need a car to eat or see campus but you will pay the $18 valet fee.

Room Tip: Suites are BIG!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Neil519,
We appreciate your review and continued patronage at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It is fantastic to hear our close proximity to Case Western adds convenience to your visits and the level of service and cleanliness we provide consistently meets your expectations. Please continue to make us your preferred hotel when visiting your son at Case Western. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#25 of 38 in Cleveland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Property: Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
Address: 2021 Cornell Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-3808
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland University Circle hotel is close to many area businesses, art museums, shopping, dining and is close to popular attractions such as the Cleveland Orchestra, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Little Italy. Our Cleveland hotel is also within walking distance to University Hospital and Case Western Reserve University. Cleveland Clinic is also a short distance away (1mi). Rest in comfort with our custom bedding and stay productive with free wireless high speed internet and local phone calls. In the morning, fuel up with a satisfying breakfast in our Courtyard Bistro and come back for dinner and cocktails at an affordable price. Rejuvenate in the heated Indoor Pool and on site Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing