We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Blues Cleveland

House of Blues Cleveland
Ranked #1 of 88 Nightlife in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Gaelic Storm concert. Security at House of Blues is bad, they do nothing to control the pushy drunks who elbow their way around. I alerted security when I had a problem and they refused to do anything. Ruined a good concert. Won't ever go back to House of Blues.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeneralInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    11
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Staff was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went to House of Blues even though the band we were supposed to see cancelled. It is a fun place. The staff was great! Coat check is a little pricey at $5, most places are a couple bucks. However. if you bought a pop it came in a big glass and free refills all night. That is a great deal. Fun venue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LissyAnn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hard to enjoy this music venue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I think people can have fun here but it's difficult. Up close to the stage, the experience is great but you have to arrive early and fight to keep that spot. If you are not up to dealing with the usual concert pit activity your view is going to be nerfed by the high-tops they set up going from the soundboard to both walls or the low hanging balcony. If you can't/don't want to fight your way closer you WILL be stuck in the standing room/bar area during sold out shows. It's fine to not be close but the view points are so obstructed it's not worth it. They do have monitors showing the performance but the stationary cameras are zoomed out and must be really old because it is hard to make out what is on the screen anyway. I'd be forgiving of the designers but the place is not an old historic theater that was converted, it was opened 10 years ago!

Simple ways to improve the experience:
-Get rid of the bathroom attendants, they are extremely intrusive
-Upgrade the cameras/TVs for people stuck in the back
-Open up the area next to the sound board for GA access
-Give us a break on the beer prices.. may be "market price" for events but a similar sized venue to the east sells the same size cans for $3+ cheaper

Major ways to improve the experience:
-Have the floor leading to the stage sloped, I'm not short but when I go with people who are they really can't see anything but backs and shoulders
-Get rid of the balcony. Seriously.
-Lower capacity. It feels like the capacity was set as if the fans were going to be evenly distributed between the main floor and the balcony. The reality is everyone tries to be downstairs and when you have people standing all the way to the entrance stairs, something is wrong.
-Get rid of fee$ at your box office

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“By Far best place to see a concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Have been to many concerts from big arena to small venues, and this place is by far the best place to see you favorite band. Up close and personal with big name rock bands. love it here. Drinks are pricey but that to be expected

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
381 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Gospel Brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Walking distance from my hotel and the food was delicious. This was beyond brunch... this was thanksgiving dinner with eggs and bacon at the table. The real issue was the wait at the omelette station the guys were great but the lines were so long. If you requested a certain cheese, they made a call and got it!!.

When I returned to my table the juice was all gone and the coffee pot was empty. I waited so long for an omelette the rest of my plate was actually cold. Because you pay in advance the waitstaff is were invisible. In the end I did not enjoy my meal. Cold food is not my pleasure for at 10am.

I really enjoyed the show and I viewed the experience as going to a show with where there appetizers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Blues Cleveland also viewed

 

Been to House of Blues Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing