We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool”

A Christmas Story House
Ranked #8 of 183 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Christmas Story House, now restored to its movie splendor, is open year round to the public for tours. Directly across the street from the house is the official A Christmas Story House Museum, which features original props, costumes and memorabilia from the film, as well as hundreds of rare behind-the-scenes photos. Among the props and costumes are the toys from the Higbee's window, Randy's snowsuit, the chalkboard from Miss Shields' classroom and the family car. After reliving A Christmas Story at Ralphie's house don't forget to visit the museum gift shop for your own Major Award Leg Lamp and other great movie memorabilia.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was so excited to find this attraction was in Cleveland while we were visiting! We went on a Monday morning in June, thinking it wouldn't be crazy busy. There were quite a few people!!

It's an interesting exhibit if yours a fan of the movie. Otherwise, it probably won't mean much to you. It was also interesting to hear how the movie makers came to use the house, and the things that happened during and after filming. All stuff I am sure I could have found on google.

I was glad we went ahead and took the experience. The reason it gets 4 stars and not 5 is that, price-wise, it really is highway robbery. Admission is too much for what you actually get. 20 minutes in the house walking around looking at replicated movie scene props after listening to a 10 minute history that could easily be found online. Apparently, people pay it (including us), so supply and demand at work.

There are a few neighbors who charge a fee to park in their yard, however the website strongly suggests you park on the street if you can find a spot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiatlux28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    390
    130
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We're in Cleveland, so why not?”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited this place only because my son is a big fan of the movie. It's nice that they preserved the home, as there's not many neighborhoods that still have that 1940s look. I enjoyed the house and museum more that I thought I would. The gift shop is a bit overpriced however.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a minor award”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Our family was so excited to visit A Christmas Story house. We are huge fans of the movie and couldn't wait!! Maybe our over excitement caused us to feel disappointed. We arrived just in time for the 4:30 tour and bought our tickets. When we walked over at 4:26, the tour line was gone and all of the doors were locked. We had to knock several times before we were let in. We were really disappointed to find out that all tours are self guided now, making us feel that we had really overpaid for the tickets. On a positive note, the gift shop was amazing! It's full of all of your favorite "fragile" items from the movie!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jami b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“just like the movie”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is like a dream come true, its just like the movie. you get to go through the house, shoot the bb gun in the back yard. they have the fire truck & a meuseum next door. if you know the movie you'll love this place, great for kids of all ages

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vladsuperman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must See!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you are a fan of the Christmas Story movie, I highly recommend a trip to Ralphie's House in Cleveland where a great deal of the movie was filmed. My husband and I visited with our 3 children - ages 11, 14 and 16. The guide provided great information about the house and making of the movie and it is replicated to look just like it did when it was filmed complete with the "fragile" box, leg lamp and Red Rider gun. Visitors are fee to walk through most rooms and see and touch the objects and pose for fun pictures. There is also a museum and gift shop near the house.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Christmas Story House also viewed

 

Been to A Christmas Story House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing