We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Golf Retreat”
Arial #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial #1
Arial #2 Arial #3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Arial #1
Arial #2
Arial #3
Backview #2
Swiming raft
Clear swimming Waters
Foyier
Main hallway
Great Room
Game Room *** THIS IS ONLY HALF OF THE GAME ROOM***
Executive Poker Table
Pop a shot
Master Bedroom with King Barn Bed *** ALL BEDS ARE CRAFTED BY A LOCAL AMISH CARPENTER!***
Bedroom #2 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #3 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #4 (Queen bed)
Bedroom #5 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed)
Real Stone Floor to Ceiling Fireplace
ALL FULL BATHROOMS HAVE DOUBLE VANITIES!
Loft
Laundry Room
Commercial like kitchen appliances
Bird watching
one of many local stands
Local Amish produce stand
Farm fresh produce!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bill H
Medina, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect Golf Retreat”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our group of 16 golfers, ages 27-53, stayed at the lodge recently for our 15th annual golf outing. It worked out perfectly!! Three days of 18 holes each day at Brookside in Ashland (20 min. drive), followed by a few relaxing evenings at the Golden Bear Lodge was awesome. From the very start, working with Jesse to make the arrangements was smooth and simple. We were very impressed at how clean and comfortable everything was. The game room was a big hit as you might imagine and got alot of use and the kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed & more. Most of our time was spent on the huge deck and in the backyard. Both had plenty of space to accomodate our group and plenty of room for lawn jarts, can jam, wiffle ball and just sitting around catching up. This was our best outing yet and we are already reserving the Golden Bear (a fitting name for a golf outing) for the 16th annual next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall space and available activities
Liked least: the cost
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300Shirle...
Willoughby, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic Getaway From the City!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Golden Bear Lodge was a wonderful venue to celebrate my son's 30th birthday, or for that matter, any vacation or event. We had friends and family ranging in age from 7-70 and we were never at a loss for things to do. Right from the moment of contacting Jesse to rent the lodge, he made the process easy and was always available by phone or email to answer my questions. He was pleasant and eager to please to make our weekend the best! He made it clear what their rental expectations were in order to provide us with the best possible facility.

Upon entering the lodge, we were stunned by the beauty of the lodge and the surrounding area. Every area of the lodge was spotless and very well maintained. The kitchen was very well-equipped - and that's coming from a bunch of Italians who like to cook:) There was enough seating for everyone to sit at the same table and have a meal. The deck itself made it easy to enjoy everyone's company whether you were on the deck or in the kitchen. The deck furniture was aesthetically pleasing, comfortable, and seated 8 of us very well. The cook-friendly grill was used and we noticed we were low on propane. I made a call to Jesse and the problem was taken care of easily and efficiently. The grill was of a large capacity and easy to use.

The game room/video room was every kid's dream and adult's dream too! Big and small spent hours down there on the games, playing pool, shooting baskets or just watching TV. There was plenty of room to sprawl out and enjoy the sounds of the lights, bells, and whistles!

Every bedroom was a great size and accommodated all 20 of us beyond our satisfaction. The mattresses were very, very comfortable and the bedding and linens were of a high quality.

Everyone enjoyed the pond! We had lots of expert fishermen among us who loved to try to catch the big one! Many hours of that weekend were spent at the pond, whether it was actually fishing or as a spectator to see who could catch the big one.

Ten adults from our group went to Battlezone in Mansfield, OH for paintballing. They had a fantastic time and couldn't stop talking about it. My husband and son have done paintballing at other facilities and said this was the best one to which they had been.

I would highly recommend the lodge to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful lodge that is highly appointed and well-equipped. It is a wonderful place to create many new memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge itself - but I think many enjoyed game room the most!
Liked least: It would be nice if there was a pool.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skwinky16
Kent, Ohio
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful lodge with room for the whole family”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The lodge was nice and spacious for our family of 15. Everything was spic and span from the kitchen to the bedrooms and bathrooms. And there were plenty of family activities that were pleasing to young kids to teenagers to adults alike. We thoroughly enjoyed the lower level game room and hot tub but the best was the pond. Our entire family spent hours down by the pond fishing, swimming, playing on the playground and in the evenings, we enjoyed sitting around the campfire. It was a wonderful memory for our entire family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean house and stocked fishing pond
Liked least: no complaints!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our extended family, all 18- 4 children with their 2 children each-stayed at Great Bear lodge Ohio to celebrate our 50 the wedding Anniversary. The lodge space is spacious so each family had a bed room. The children ages 15 1/2 - 3 loved the game area. The hot tub was a favorite gathering spot. A BIG hit was fishing in the stocked pond. Everyone caught a fish. All enjoyed s'mores around the fire pit.
The dinning room table fit all 18 with ease. The kitchen is well equipped and had every thing we needed.
We would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisete...
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful getaway!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Hidden in the Amish country, this place was a treasure! So peaceful and relaxing! Cabin had great accommodations and was well stocked with kitchen items. We loved the hot tub, game room and beautiful scenery!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wadsworth
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$745
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing