We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent getaway spot near Cleveland with a cozy...”
Arial #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial #1
Arial #2 Arial #3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Arial #1
Arial #2
Arial #3
Backview #2
Swiming raft
Clear swimming Waters
Foyier
Main hallway
Great Room
Game Room *** THIS IS ONLY HALF OF THE GAME ROOM***
Executive Poker Table
Pop a shot
Master Bedroom with King Barn Bed *** ALL BEDS ARE CRAFTED BY A LOCAL AMISH CARPENTER!***
Bedroom #2 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #3 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #4 (Queen bed)
Bedroom #5 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed)
Real Stone Floor to Ceiling Fireplace
ALL FULL BATHROOMS HAVE DOUBLE VANITIES!
Loft
Laundry Room
Commercial like kitchen appliances
Bird watching
one of many local stands
Local Amish produce stand
Farm fresh produce!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel O
North Royalton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent getaway spot near Cleveland with a cozy feel!”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is our second visit to The Golden Bear Lodge. We have had such a good experience starting from the booking process which is extremely easy and flawless, to setting everything up with the owners including our arrival and stay instructions. The lodge is very nice and well kept, with all the amenities you would expect, as well as lots of sleeping room for up to 20 people. We really enjoy the game room in the basement with the big screen TV and jukebox down there, as well as the poker table for the guys to relax. The Hot Tub is nice to have, no matter what the weather conditions (we visited once in Nov. 2015 and again in Jan. 2017). Hanging out is also fun in the big living area upstairs, while having a large family dinner was easy at the long dining table that accommodates everyone at once. It's unbelievable how cozy and remote this lodge feels, despite the LESS than 1 hr. drive from Cleveland and about 1 hr. 15 min. from Columbus. Definitely don't have to drive down to Hocking Hills to experience a good lodge. Thanks to the owners for the smooth and easy transaction and for making their property such a wonderful place for a large group getaway. We will return soon!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred M
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memories to last a lifetime!”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

So, this was our 2nd time staying at Golden Bear Lodge as we decided to do something a little different for Thanksgiving this year and take the show on the road with our extended family.
Pros:
• Beautiful, idyllic setting nestled in lovely Amish countryside
• Very large cabin that housed our entire party very comfortably
• Nicely manicured grounds
• Owner is incredibly responsive and communicative
• Remote enough to feel completely away from it all, but close enough to shopping if you need something
• Great Hot Tub
• Large fireplace
• Wi-fi
Cons:
• Pricey
• Some of the games in the game room were not operating properly
• Saw some mouse droppings in one spot
We had been to Golden Bear Lodge for our in-laws 50th wedding anniversary a couple years back. We loved it and decided to try again. It was a good call. The place has such a nice feel to it and they do a good job of having it very clean and orderly upon check in. You’d be hard pressed to find a nicer setting. Very rural, in Amish country, you feel as though you stepped back in time, yet we were 40 minutes or so from our home south of Cleveland. We checked in a couple days before Thanksgiving and were fortunate enough to see an Amish barn raising. There was seemingly eighty or so Amish that put up a huge barn in a day’s time….an experience we’ll never forget! Having stayed there for three nights, the place is large enough to give everyone their own space. My wife did all of the up front communicating with one of the owners…Jesse…and he was very responsive. I forgot some clothes I had hung up in one of the closets and I reached out to Jesse to retrieve them a few days after we checked out. Again, he was very easy to work with and allowed me easy access to the property to get the clothes. While this place certainly isn’t inexpensive, it’s easier to rationalize the cost when you have a larger party. It would have been nicer to have some of the games in the game room operating properly and Jesse indicated he would address that. We did see some mouse droppings in one spot only, but did not see mice, so it didn’t really detract from the experience at all….just wanted to mention it in the spirit of full disclosure. Again, Jesse was adamant that would be addressed immediately. All in all, a really nice time and really great memories that we can cherish for a long time. I would highly recommend Golden Bear Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayniehan...
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We took a group from our youth group to stay here for a retreat, and we all had a blast! We loved the games in the basement and the fireplace in the living room. It was a great place for our group!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy S
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL! Can't wait to go again!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

So very very happy to find this place close enough to home! We have 16 family members and we are still talking about it almost a month later!!! This lodge has so many amenities and every one was comfortable and had a super wonderful time! The HUGE dining table was one of the best features along with the double coffee maker! The game room in the basement was pretty much the focal point the whole time especially the jukebox. We all just wished that there was a swimming pool because it was so hot outside while we were there. But we are definitely going to go back again next summer. I would recommend this lodge to anyone in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: no pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paliean
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Family Reunion at Golden Bear Lodge was Awesome”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed at Golden Bear Lodge for a family reunion (17 of us total, 9 were kids) and we all had a wonderful time. I was the one in charge of booking and communicating with Jesse and Justin, and they couldn't have been more responsive and helpful. All of my questions (and things I didn't think to ask) were answered quickly and professionally. Everything went as expected, no surprises or issues.

The lodge was beyond expectations. The layout was great, the furnishings and décor were excellent, the scenery was beautiful. I have stayed in several vacation rental homes over the years and this one was the best (cleanest, nicest) by far. It was not only exceptionally clean throughout, but the furniture was great quality . . . large comfy sectional in the basement, leather couches on the main floor, comfortable beds, etc. The layout was great too, it seems that whoever designed it really thought about what a vacationing family might need.

I also liked that a lot of the little things you might forget were taken care of (hand soap, toilet paper, dish soap, laundry detergent . . .all right there waiting for us). We did end up running to Walmart a couple times (an easy drive . . . watch out for all the horse and buggies!) for food runs, but other than that we stayed at the lodge. We took the kids on a hike, hung out in the hot tub (very clean and well maintained), had a dance party (the juke box was a BIG hit), blew bubbles off the back deck, caught fireflies in the big back yard, ate several meals at the huge dining table, and had a blast in the pond swimming and jumping off the dock.

We all agree that we want to come back again and I would definitely recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pond. The clean, well-decorated, good quality feel to the home.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H
Peninsula, Ohio
2 reviews
“Trinity Baseball Retreat”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I would highly recommend Golden Bear Lodge for your next get away. It is located in the quite Amish community of West Salem, Ohio. We used the lodge for our annual Baseball Retreat. It is extremely spacious, clean and the property is beautiful. The home is filled with video games, pool table and air hockey. It can easily accommodate 20 people comfortably. It is a great place for a company retreat, family reunion or a family vacation.
George Hohman
Head Varsity Baseball Coach
Trinity High School

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O
North Royalton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the perfect lodge for a friends/family getaway that's still close to home.”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The Lodge was very clean and maintained. I have stayed at many properties/cabins/lodges in the past 17 years (at least once per year) and this lodge really impressed. The location is very close to Cleveland - in the Ashland OH. area. Secluded enough to feel like a retreat, but close enough to everything else. The owners did a good job with communicating their needs as well as addressing my needs an questions in a timely manner. We will definitely stay here again soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing