We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable blizzard weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable blizzard weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This Gothic Victorian was warm and welcoming after a harrowing drive through a blizzard. We were escorted to a large bedroom on the second floor which opened to a common sitting area. The innkeeper was charming and knew much about the gentrifying neighborhood and great local restaurants. He was generous with his time and makes delicious French toast and eggs Benedict. He knew we were visiting our daughter for the weekend and was kind enough to make an extra breakfast for her. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very comfortable rooms and beds. My husband and I stayed in the blue room which had a small common sitting room--clean and well appointed. Richard was very relaxed, helpful and personable. His breakfast the next morning was wonderful. Coffee and tea and snacks were available at any time. Richard recommended Crop, which was walking distance (0.7 mi) and delicious for a special meal. I will definitely be staying here again. It is also walking distance to the West End Market and there is parking in back. We also went to the Cleveland Art Museum and do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACaliRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the Stone Gables back in August 2013 (and I will be back there this weekend), and it was great! I stayed in the Red Room with the jet tub and bay window... Richard discounted my rate since I had to catch an early flight back and wouldn't be able to partake of his breakfast. I mean, who does that?! He's amazingly accomodating, allowing for early morning checkin if the room is unoccupied. The house is homey, and tastefully decorated... The piano in the great room is tuned and ready to go (ask my partner who gave me a quick serenade when we arrived)... It is a great place to stay. Private parking in the back. You get a key to come and go as you please. Historic neighborhood. This was my first visit to Cleveland, but Stone Gables will, without question, be my go-to spot when I am there...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikoi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Richard, the owner, made us feel welcome and at home. The room was very comfortable and private. Breakfast was delicious, especially his french toast. If you wanted to have something else such as cereal, that option was available as well.
Will be returning to Stone Gables when next in Cleveland.
Thanks Richard!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingkrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

October 9, 2013
This is a wonderful place to stay. Our only regret is not being
able to stay longer. It is beautiful, comfortable, quiet, very
clean & intriguing. We've stayed in a few B&B places over the years
but Stone Gables by far surpasses them all. We enjoyed walking
through the house as there was so much to see & admire. We took a
walk down the street which was quite an adventure to see all of the
old homes with so much character. There is a very interesting
looking haunted house in the same block. Richard, the innkeeper,
made us feel very welcome & makes delicious french toast. We hope
to return & try the chocolate waffles next time.
Jim & Jackie from Michigan

Room Tip: The South room was our choice as it had extra space. Very quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We found this B&B online and based upon reviews, decided to give it a try. What a little gem in Ohio City! Richard is a wonderful and attentive host. Breakfast was excellent! Would highly recommend this place...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowgirlie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I found Stone Gables online, went to the website, explored the whole place and I was sold on it being a great way to spend several days in Cleveland. I had no idea how good it would be.
The exterior is epic. Old world look surrounded by lush gardens.
The first step inside I thought of home, the smell of Apple/Cinnamon, classic furniture / carpet in a dimly lit hallway and the piano, decor, design and art work completed a very upscale place to stay.
We stayed in the Red Room. Everything in the room made feel less like guests and more like family. Having our own bathroom added to an already great beginning.
The bed was high quality as were the linens.
We slept soundly. Breakfast the next morning was homemade by Richard personally for us and it was delish. Then he sat and ate with us and gave us great tips on things to do in Cleveland. We followed his tips and had a wonderful time.
Richard defines what a perfect host is. He treated us like his family and when we come back we will look at no other place as this was the best travel experience we've had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humbleref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.6 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
616 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.7 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stone Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3806 Franklin Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44113-2838
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Gables Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Office hours from 9am-9pm. Five room bed and breakfast all bedrooms with private bathrooms, king beds and satelite television. Some rooms with whirlpool tubs, child friendly and pet friendly. Relax in the historic elegance but with all the modern comfort. Located in historic Ohio City on Cleveland's west side. Only 6 blocks from w.25th restaurants and breweries. One mile from downtown, two miles from Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Seven miles from Cleveland Clinic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Gables Hotel Cleveland
Stone Gables b&b
Stone Gables Bed And Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing