We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Ohio City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roachdale, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful B&B in Ohio City”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Palen House in Ohio City. The establishment is a beautifully appointed house conveniently located in Ohio City. Rooms are lovely. Well supplied baths, and delicious breakfast can be expected as well as the gracious and pleasant conversation with the owner Diane. A top rated facility in our minds!

Room Tip: Having seen several of the rooms, I don't think that you could go wrong with any choice! They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    21
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
152
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Like most standard-issue business travelers, I typically stay at corporate hotel chains to accumulate points so I can enjoy a free vacation once per year. Recently, I was assigned to a 9-month project in Cleveland and was staying at the Marriott at the Key Center – a relatively nice hotel – but encountered a week when all the hotels were at capacity. Rather than stay in the suburbs, I booked a room at the B&B, much to the amusement of my fellow business travelers...and have stayed here ever since. I cannot say enough good things about Diane – the innkeeper. She is a gracious host and an expert ambassador for Ohio City. I have never gone wrong with any of her recommendations for dining in the area. The location is just outside of downtown (across the bridge) and offers walking access to several great restaurants and a grocery store around the corner. Plus it’s a short drive to the best drinks in Cleveland at the Velvet Tango Room. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Cleveland.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Roost, followed by Palen's Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

easy booking, easy check in, great bedding and rooms. What else can I say?????

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in the Roost for one night for my first night away from our daughter and we couldn't have picked a better place. A great spot in Ohio City that is walking distance to anything you could want or need, but really, we could have spent the entire time in the room and had a blast. It's very well appointed, spacious, and cozy, all at the same time. Diane was a wonderful host and the breakfast the next morning hit the spot. I'd definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The J.Palen House truly epitomizes country charm in an urban setting. We had the luxury of staying in multiple rooms, and each had its own distinct charm and comfortable accommodations with every detail covered. Diane was the perfect host, most helpful without being overbearing and providing us with insight and ideas to expand upon our own itinerary.The convenience of the location to a variety of shops and eateries was wonderful as was the proximity to major highways if you plan a day trip. While staying here you will feel a million miles away but fortunately you are literally a five minute walk or 15 minute drive depending on destination. My husband and I stay at B&Bs exclusively and our time at the J.Palen House reminds us why we have shrugged of hotels long ago. When in the area a "must do" is the Velvet Tango Room is you are a connoisseur of fine cocktails and Crop for an innovation dinner menu.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Hills, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We typically visit Cleveland once or twice a year for a concert, so most of our time in the city has been spent around University Circle. However, for our anniversary we wanted to try something a little different. After calling two other area B&B's (and not getting a "welcoming" sort of feeling from either one) I called The J. Palen House. Diane's warm and enthusiastic responses to my questions about the B&B and Ohio City made me realize that this was the place to stay. There were two rooms available for the weekend we were there, and after listening to her descriptions of each we settled on Palen's Room. Located in what was once a barn around the corner from the main B&B, Palen's Room is well appointed with everything we could possibly need - a very comfortable bed & pillows, a lovely and HUGE bathroom with a fantastic jetted tub and separate shower, a flat-screen TV and a DVD player (with a nice selection of movies in the main living area of the "barn" as well as in the main house). After showing us our room and the main living areas (there is a shared kitchen and living room on the ground floor, and a private outdoor patio) Diane listened to what our interests were and offered plenty of ideas on what to do during our stay. Since we were only there for one night (and the weather wasn't cooperative) we weren't able to do everything on this trip, but we did manage to shop at the West Side Market and Penzy's Spices (it was great to be able to store our perishables in the refrigerator at the B&B!), enjoyed ridiculously delicious pommes frites at Bar Cento, and had a WONDERFUL dinner at the Flying Fig. Oh, and breakfast the following morning was excellent and served with good cheer and lively conversation.
Just a note...We have stayed in many B&B's over the past 10 years, and The J. Palen House definitely ranks among the very best. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharylk224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the "Webster Room" with king size bed and jacuzzi after dropping our son off at a local college. We loved how relaxed we felt immediately upon going though the front door and the feeling of relaxation grew the longer we stayed. Diane is the most fun host and really made our stay special. The Ohio City neighborhood is unique and worth a stroll. Be sure to ask Diane to book you a reservation at one of the restaurants so you can receive a discount. We'll be back if when we visit our son again.

Room Tip: Webster -- King size bed, balcony and large tub/jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedBloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
5.4 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#12 of 38 in Cleveland
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing