We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B in Ohio City!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My sister & I stayed here for a Mamma Mia weekend; the location was terrific (lots of little shops and great restaurants within walking distance) and Diane (the Innkeeper) could not have been any more personable or hospitable! She was so friendly and eager to help and offer suggestions that it really just made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. Our 2-course, homemade breakfast was delicious and offered many local ingredients. We are already planning a girls retreat at this same spot for our Pink Hats group; can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene M, Owner at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Always nice to hear when guests enjoy our neighborhood as much as we do! We have so much to offer in a small footprint.

We always serve a three course breakfast which consists of a fresh fruit bowl, freshly baked sweet bread/muffin and a hot full entree accompanied by a choice of juices and coffee or tea.
In an effort to conserve our precious "Great Lake", we combine our fresh fruit bowl and home made breads/muffin on the same plate in an effort to be more "green".

Thank you again for your return visit. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the J. Palen House for 2 nights while visiting Cleveland. Upon arrival we were a little thrown off by the location of the house as it was not in the greatest area according to locals. The residential area could be dangerous at night so take that into consideration when picking a place to reside in Cleveland. Other than that we were stunned by how nice and unique the JP House was...specifically the "ROOST". The room was exceptionally clean and the service was of the highest quality. The amenities were outstanding. Even though the location was not the best, it was very close to the West Side Market, the Great Lakes Brewery, and The Velvet Tango Room. If you have a car available it is only a 5 minute drive to downtown Cleveland. There is also a multitude of restaurants within walking distance that come in handy during your trip. Breakfast was in the main house and it was decorated beautifully. The food was really good and the service was friendly. Our chef was passionate about her job, knowledgeable about the area, and accommodated us in every way. We would definitely consider staying at the J. Palen House the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene M, Owner at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

The Historic Ohio City area is the core of the Cleveland Food Scene in the original part of the city. We are a true neighborhood and are proud of all we have to offer. As a business owner and resident for 30 years in this Urban neighborhood we are all comfortable walking the streets and enjoy meeting visitors and fellow residents as we walk from block to block. We are not cut from the suburban cloth and we enjoy our diversity and our pedestrian traffic. It is a wonderful way to experience the charm of the past and all the excitment of new businesses in our Historic District. It is a rare area where you really may only drive once every couple of weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The first time that we visited the J. Palen last year it was our honeymoon. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was wonderful. One of the many reasons why we loved it so much is because there were so many things to do in walking distance! Diane Miller (one of the hosts) was so very knowledgeable of the area. She led us to places that we had never been and couldn’t have been more pleased with the outcome. We loved staying there so much that we chose to come back for an overnight trip this year. We got to stay in a different room and it was even more wonderful than the first. We plan on coming at least once a year just to be able to experience all the different rooms that they have to offer. Words cannot express how pleased we were with our choice to stay here.

Room Tip: We loved both of our rooms but the Miller Suite was a little larger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the J Palen House Bed & Breakfast for a couple's getaway weekend. We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. We stayed in the main house (Landis Suite) and the rooms were a wonderful combination of charming decor (bedroom & sitting room) and modern convenience (bathroom).

The breakfasts were delicious, and accommodating of our vegetarian diet. When Diane asked our plans for the day and we mentioned the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, she graciously offered us discount coupons.

The location, in the heart of Ohio City, couldn't have been more convenient. There were many shops and restaurants, and of course, the West Side Market.

It was a relaxing, wonderful weekend! We would definitely stay here again on another trip to Cleveland.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank abaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My travel companion and I discovered this Gem four years ago and return 3-4 times a year. A short drive from home in Stark County, OH Diane and her staff make us feel like we are at a resort miles from home. On our most recent visit we stayed in the newly opened Kabat House, what a relaxing stay! This two bedroom home gives you the extra space and privacy of home but, the relaxation of a resort. A few blocks from the main house but, still walking distance to all
of our favorite places in Ohio City, Light Bitro, Bar Cintro, Momocho's. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room is good!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baschott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at The Roost for our 25th wedding anniversary. We are so glad we did! The Roost is an old barn converted into a quaint, private loft apartment with its own courtyard. It's very quiet and tastfully decorated. It's very convenient as Ohio City is very walkable and is a great neighborhhod with lots of restaurants and drinking establishments. Diane, the innkeeper, makes excellent suggestions. She is very proud of Ohio City and rightly so. She was very helpful and is a pleasant, personable lady. If/when we return to Ohio City, we will definitely stay at J Palen House!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakelover51082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Instead of booking a room at a hotel downtown while in Cleveland for a wedding, we opted for The Roost at the J. Palen House and are so happy we did! Ohio City is a diverse and historic neighborhood right over the river from downtown Cleveland.

The Roost is well-appointed and very private--we loved how it was tucked into a smaller building the neighborhood, around the corner from the actual inn. The Roost is more pied-a-terre-- with a kitchenette, dining area, living area, outdoor patio, and upstairs loft with a bedroom, bathroom, and work/office area. Comfy bed, modern amenities, immaculately clean, and charming touches made it a great home base for our many adventures!

Our hostess, Dianne, was friendly and unobtrusive. She offered suggestions for dining and sightseeing, and was a pleasure. While we don't have any immediate plans to return to Cleveland, if we find ourselves out there in the future, we would definitely stay at the J. Palen House again.

Room Tip: The Roost is a mini-apartment in an outbuilding around the corner from the Inn. It's a great ch...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat-n-ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: £110 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing