We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You call that customer service?! I call it rude!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

When we requested a quote for an extended stay for our large group, the cost & the details J Palen gave us sounded reasonable. After further discussion, we decided to proceed. When we made the reservation, however, the cost was $75 more, due to a cleaning fee they failed to mention. When we pointed out this fee wasn't in the quote we were originally given, our reservation was summarily *cancelled* by J Palen, rather than addressing it with us further. They said they "pride themselves on customer satisfaction", and since we were already dissatisfied, they couldn't continue. It's easy to achieve satisfaction when you fire potential customers rather than have a civilized discussion with them! I would hate to see how J Palen treats you once they have your money. Buyer beware!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Clevelandta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene M, Owner at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

After several discussions about what accommodations might be appropriate for your group you selected what might fit your group. After that process a confirmation of dates and policies were sent to the group. It was certainly your choice not to agree to or be willing to accept the private residence requirements and restrictions. There were never any charges made for a deposit as you were provided all the terms of a "group" reservation to review prior to making a
committment. Our private residences and group reservations do have additional requirements and qualifications. Your request was cancelled as you did not agree to the terms of a group reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two different occasions. We had beautiful rooms both times, and the breakfast was fantastic! Diane was very helpful on things to do in the area. She recommended great places to eat. We will be staying here whenever we find ourselves in Cleveland overnight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaC465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We can't wait to go back for another stay in such a special place; beautiful accomodations, friendly, great location, amazing breakfast and hosts who share the best of their town with you. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annothername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the J. Palen House for our anniversary. We stayed in a two story apartment called the Roost. It turns out to have been a Blacksmith shop in it's day and now serves as one of the available rooms for the Palen House B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room we stayed in was lovely and fitted out with a full kitchen and a fireplace. The main house (which apparently served as a physician's home/office years ago) was built in the 1800's and has been fully restored in beautiful fashion. And, the breakfast was incredible!! You can park your car and walk to several great restaurants and breweries from the house. The famous West Site Market is also within easy walking distance (check the market's days and hours of operation). The neighborhood is filled with other restored homes and is quiet and safe at night. I highly recommend the J.Palen House for anyone who wishes to escape for a few days into a B&B experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A co-worker and I on an overnight trip to Cleveland each had a beautiful room and stay at the J. Palen House in the "Ohio City" section of Cleveland. The location was selected for its proximity to our business, however the B & B is within a 3 minute walk to the Westside Market, and a great selection of restaurants including the Great Lakes Brewery and Restaurant. We were greeted by the owner Diane, and each room was spacious (each with sitting area), clean, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with antiques. My bed was a king-size w/nice new mattress, soft sheets and down pillows. Bathroom was beautiful! Snacks and treats were available 24/7 - no charge. Breakfast was scrumptious and filling. All-in-all a wonderful stay. Will highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: I stayed in the second floor Landis Suite; coworker stayed in Miller Suite which was very private on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank museumcurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at the main house. Beautiful antiques and confortable living spaces were everywhere.
It was very well centered in Ohio City walking distance from the Brewery, West Side Market and downtown. We were there when the transit system was hosting a fair so we were able to see some street entertainment and street markets, and auto show and try some ethnic foods. The breakfast was amazing and the host was very friendly but very discreat. It was nice to have someone take care of us for a couple days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent one night at the J. Palen House. After a stressful winter, this was a nice overnight treat. Even though we live locally, it was nice to get away from the daily routine and have someone take care of us. The location is superb and walking distance from the West Side Market. Our room was quiet, warm and cozy. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locals44149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
5.4 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#10 of 38 in Cleveland
675 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#4 of 38 in Cleveland
826 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: £113 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing