We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, by all means”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here, by all means”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

No worries here - excellent convenience and service. As always, we met interesting people at breakfast - so much better than a commercial hotel. Stay here, by all means. Fairly close to interesting restaurants - we liked Lolita's, but might not go there next simply because we found it a little hard to converse. What the reviewers call "energetic."

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UA_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    21
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
155
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked a room in J Palen House because we couldn't get into the hotel we wanted. As it turned out, this was a good choice for us, and we enjoyed our stay. This bed and breakfast is located in Ohio City, a bustling urban neighborhood south of downtown Cleveland. Parking is on the street adjacent to the B & B, and it's free, but parking spaces fill up as the day goes on, so we parked the car and walked to restaurants in the neighborhood or found other transportation to more distant locations like the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We stayed in the Webster Room, with a comfortable king-size bed and a walk-out balcony, which we didn't use because it had no view. Others, however, may enjoy sitting out there to read or relax. The communal breakfasts, served promptly at 9 a.m., were delicious and filling and usually consisted of quiche, fruit and sometimes turkey sausage, but the innkeeper will accommodate people with food allergies and other needs. The neighborhood has a surprisingly large choice of restaurants, starting with Light Bistro right across the street, with a tasty selection of traditional and American tapas. We also enjoyed Flying Fig, a small farm-to-table restaurant, and Bar Cento, which offers a nice selection of individual pizzas with fresh ingredients. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful, and we were very comfortable throughout our stay. If we return to Cleveland, we'll definitely stay at J Palen House again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Two days before our planned stay on a Tuesday night, my husband, my toddler, and I all came down with the stomach flu. I emailed the innkeeper and was informed that I would lose my deposit (the full cost of a night's stay) unless I rescheduled within 60 days.
Because I was not able to stay another weeknight in Cleveland within that time frame, I called to ask about availability for Saturday nights. The innkeeper informed me that weekend stays require 2 nights, which is not possible for us right now.
As the innkeeper very unsympathetically explained on the phone, I understand that losing my deposit is consistent with their policy. While providing some flexibility may cause them to lose revenue in the short term, sticking to their strict policy is terrible customer service and not competitive in the industry. It’s a short-sighted decision that will cost them this customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene M, Owner at J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Your two day advance cancellation fell within our cancellation policy. In the hotel industry Tuesday is the busiest night of the business week and the Inn was booked to capactiy. We turned down guests for rooms prior to your cancellation. As is our policy, if we are able to resell your room, you will only be responsible for the administration fee. We are aware that plans change and as a courtesy for your medical emergency we offered you the ability to rebook your room within 60 days of your original arrival date. As an industry policy, this is a generous and customer friendly consideration. We state our cancellation policy at the time of booking and encourage guests to consider travel insurance to cover just such events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a terrific place to stay in an old neighborhood of yesteryear. It was like walking back to a simpler time where people neighbored, walked their dogs, and spent time together at local pubs. It was a restful respite from the intensity of life with good food, excellent lodging, and great fellowship.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle West
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Situated perfectly about three blocks from the West Side Market and everything on W. 25th St. Superb renovation of older, brick homes tucked down leafy Ohio City streets includes deluxe finishes in the suites, especially the bathrooms.

The common space is very comfortable, especially in warmer months when you can take advantage of the bricked backyard space and dining areas.

We missed breakfast, though it looked great when we were checking out.

Great way to enjoy Cleveland.

Room Tip: Each room is slightly different, but he owners standards are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquarePocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in "The Roost." A relaxing retreat with everything you could need for your comfort. Enjoyable court yard. Close to many restaurants within walking distance. Check out Crop in what was formerly a bank.The West Market is also a must see.
Diane was warm and welcoming. Excellent breakfast each day!
Would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were met in a friendly manor. We stayed in Palin's Room, which is separate from the main house. We liked that because the little loft we stayed in was quiet and cozy. Full kitchen available. Very clean. Awesome huge jacuzzi tub. Super comfy bed. Walking distance to many restaurants. Nice breakfast served a block away at main house.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing