We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for our stay at the J. Palen House! We LOVED it!!! Diane was wonderful. The room was beautiful and spotless. The food was delicious. The bed was amazing too....that's really important to us....every hotel we stay at, we wake up with a sore back, but not here!! The entire experience was incredible. Everything about this B & B was wonderful!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at J Palen while in Cleveland to see Cher. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was in one of several buildings operated by the owner. The building had a full kitchen with a living room area. Our room was quaint, clean and comfortable. We had a big and beautiful jacuzzi with terry cloth robes. And the breakfast was excellent! If we stay in Cleveland again we will stay at J Palen House. Finally, it is close to Great Lakes Brewery and some fine restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I spent an extra night in Cleveland after a business trip. Moved from a downtown convention hotel to the J Palen House. Beautiful old Victorian restoration in a quiet neighborhood near the West Side Marketplace. We stayed in the "barn" around the corner from the main house and were treated to private, multi-level quarters, housing a kitchen, living room, and hallway, on the first floor, and two bedrooms and a huge master bath on the second floor. Comfortable furniture and king bed, with a mixture of beautiful antiques and modern fixtures. Huge spa-bath for those who like to relax. Home-made breakfast the next morning with other guests (family style) made the stay more interesting. Our only complaint was that the weather was warm for early May and the AC was not hooked up yet.

Lots of great restaurants within walking distance plus the marketplace itself is only a few blocks away. I would highly recommend J Palen House if you visit Cleveland and don't want the usual big hotel experience. Rock & Roll HOF a must, and, for football fans, the Pro Football HOF is only an hour away. Well worth the trip to Canton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night in The Roost during our 3rd anniversary weekend. It was perfect! When people think of Cleveland, sometimes they (unfairly) don't think of all the character the city has to offer. The Palen House is a great example of Cleveland's hidden gems! It's such an unassuming neighborhood, but smack dab in the middle of a charming old residential section of the city is the Palen House. The Roost is actually a one block walk away from the main house, and it's the old blacksmith's workshop, converted into 3 lofts. It's a really unique place... very nicely done, and good blend of rustic/country charm with modern amenities. The main house was beautifully restored, with great breakfast food and an EXTREMELY accommodating and friendly staff. And all of this was less than a 5 block walk from great restaurants and bars, including the Great Lakes Brewing Company. This place was PERFECT!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've stayed here several times. I guess I could stop the review there since that should tell you a lot. But, a few specifics: We've stayed in the main house, which is very nice. But our preference is to stay in their other house on Jay Street, just a block away, in the The Roost. Very private, plenty of space, and very quiet. Tastefully charming, and nestled in wonderful Ohio City, which means you're within walking distance to great restaurants, breweries, and eclectic shops that make Ohio City a return weekend destination for us. Oh, and if you're there, you MUST stroll through the West Side Market.

Room Tip: Rent The Roost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Mengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As a fellow B&B owner I can say this Cleveland Bed and Breakfast is the one we would go back to again. Clean, Friendly innkeepers, Lovely food for breakfast and extras that were delicious and well done. If you want a comfortable stay without the feel of the city this would be our recommendation! They just opened a restaurant and the food was excellent! We walked for lunch, dinner the Westside market and so much more!
Gayle and Joe Potelicki from Zoar

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayleruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

excellent very homey very clean Received a gift certificate from my daughter and son-in-law. They have stayed here two years in a row. Would recommend it to everyone. we stayed in the Roost. Owners were wonderful. Walking distance to restaurants, grocery store etc. Bed was king and very very comfortable. Loved the fireplace as it was a bit cool at this time of year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
5.4 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#10 of 38 in Cleveland
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3067
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: £113 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing