We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is the second time we have stayed here and we plan on many more! Very nice, clean, and quaint! Excellent location with lots of dining options! West Side Market is a must! Diane and her staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable! Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at J.Palen in the roost suite for our anniversary. It was a incredible weekend and Diane was a wonderful host. Breakfast was very delicious. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: The Roost is a two level suite nice little kitchenette and private entrance, and private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFDgrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great stay at the J. Palen House. The room was gorgeous, and very clean. Diane was wonderful. The B&B was located within walking distance of a lot of great restaurants and bars. Perfect! The room was large and spacious, had a beautiful bathroom and jacuzzi tub. The balcony was nice, too. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenM294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for our stay at the J. Palen House! We LOVED it!!! Diane was wonderful. The room was beautiful and spotless. The food was delicious. The bed was amazing too....that's really important to us....every hotel we stay at, we wake up with a sore back, but not here!! The entire experience was incredible. Everything about this B & B was wonderful!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at J Palen while in Cleveland to see Cher. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was in one of several buildings operated by the owner. The building had a full kitchen with a living room area. Our room was quaint, clean and comfortable. We had a big and beautiful jacuzzi with terry cloth robes. And the breakfast was excellent! If we stay in Cleveland again we will stay at J Palen House. Finally, it is close to Great Lakes Brewery and some fine restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I spent an extra night in Cleveland after a business trip. Moved from a downtown convention hotel to the J Palen House. Beautiful old Victorian restoration in a quiet neighborhood near the West Side Marketplace. We stayed in the "barn" around the corner from the main house and were treated to private, multi-level quarters, housing a kitchen, living room, and hallway, on the first floor, and two bedrooms and a huge master bath on the second floor. Comfortable furniture and king bed, with a mixture of beautiful antiques and modern fixtures. Huge spa-bath for those who like to relax. Home-made breakfast the next morning with other guests (family style) made the stay more interesting. Our only complaint was that the weather was warm for early May and the AC was not hooked up yet.

Lots of great restaurants within walking distance plus the marketplace itself is only a few blocks away. I would highly recommend J Palen House if you visit Cleveland and don't want the usual big hotel experience. Rock & Roll HOF a must, and, for football fans, the Pro Football HOF is only an hour away. Well worth the trip to Canton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night in The Roost during our 3rd anniversary weekend. It was perfect! When people think of Cleveland, sometimes they (unfairly) don't think of all the character the city has to offer. The Palen House is a great example of Cleveland's hidden gems! It's such an unassuming neighborhood, but smack dab in the middle of a charming old residential section of the city is the Palen House. The Roost is actually a one block walk away from the main house, and it's the old blacksmith's workshop, converted into 3 lofts. It's a really unique place... very nicely done, and good blend of rustic/country charm with modern amenities. The main house was beautifully restored, with great breakfast food and an EXTREMELY accommodating and friendly staff. And all of this was less than a 5 block walk from great restaurants and bars, including the Great Lakes Brewing Company. This place was PERFECT!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Airport
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3067
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range: £111 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing