We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
POINT HARBOR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Getaway”
Reviewed 15 December 2008

The J Palen House is a diamond in the ruff. Beautiful old house with great proximity to downtown Cleveland, really just minutes away. Scott, the innkeeper, was extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast was yummy too! We would certainly stay there again when back in Northeast Ohio.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    21
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
152
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I stayed in the webster room and found it completely refreshing. The jacuzzi was a nice touch. I usually stay at a upscale hotel downtown. It was very cozy and beautifully decorated. The person who greeted me at the door was very friendly and brought my things up the stairs. He asked about my food preferences and gave me a key. I was instantly at home.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank paigesmailbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

The J. Palen house was our first B&B. We stayed in the loft and it was just awesome!! We will be back for a relaxing weekend soon. I would totally recommend this place for anyone looking for a relaxing night away. We just couldnt believe how well the rooms were decorated. Everything seemed to have a special touch. Thanks Scott!!

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tdmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streetsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

What a wonderful Oasis in the historic (Ohio City) area of Cleveland. It was an unbelievable surprise to encounter both excellent service and outstanding accommodations. Terrific restaurants and within minutes of the theaters we booked. A must for anyone looking for a perfect Urban experience.

  • Liked — The closeness to fine restaurants
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StreetsboroRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in the Landis Suite in this most elegant, charming, and thoughtful Victorian. What a delightful surprise to have several wonderful dining options within a short walking distance.

The neighborhood was lovely, the Innkeeper was gracious and informative, the breakfast was fresh and creative, and our suite was spacious and romantic.

Linda and I will definitely be back.

  • Liked — The spacious suite and convenient location.
  • Disliked — I had to leave.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SamMcCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The J. Palen House is close to perfect. Scott, the innkeeper, made us feel comfortable immediately. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and SPOTLESSLY CLEAN! There are so many wonderful resturants to walk to, and so close to everything downtown...it is the perfect location and a perfect place to relax!

  • Liked — Overall appeal, location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — I could not find anything wrong
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
671 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing