We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great extended family accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great extended family accomodations”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights with my toddler and teenager along side mom from Florida and sister's family from Texas we found the best accomodations in the J. Palen House. The lovely ground floor living and dining rooms were great for our gatherings and playing board games (some provided at the house), the private rooms were very comfy, well appointed and spacous, and breakfast was better than mom ever made (Thanks Scott)!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey0wens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    21
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
152
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My husband and I recently visited Cleveland for a wedding. Looking for something other than a predictable stay at the local Marriott, we sought out a bed and breakfast. Once again our research on Trip Advisor did not disappoint. The J. Palen House is everything a B&B should be. As a matter of fact, on all counts it exceeded our expectations. We are serious travelers and are quite discriminating. When travelling, we typically gravitate away from the more impersonal, large hotel experience and opt for more intimate small boutique hotels, luxury inns or quaint B&Bs. J. Palen House was everything one would want in a B&B. (And my comparison is being drawn from the fabulous inns/B&Bs of California's wine country to the quaint, romantic B&Bs of New England.) The J. Palen House is a lovely old Victorian. It has a modest, low key feel in a downtown, gentrified neighborhood of Cleveland. (Actually, the neighborhood was a nice surprise. Great for walking. Interesting sights -- to include some incredible old Victorians, a haunted mansion and a great historic market -- restaurants and activity at night.) The B&B is nicely decorated and has a very warm and cozy feel. Breakfast was excellent as were the ammenities. And, as with so many B&Bs, what really took our experience to a whole different level was the innkeeper, Scott. Scott is an incredibly, gracious host. He was so eager to accomodate our every need and he did a fabulous job. Overall, our experience at J. Palen House was wonderful and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2009

J Palen House is my favorite B&B. I've stayed in the loft twice and will definitely return. Reasons: attention to detail, comfort, unique decor, delicious breakfasts, unique neighborhood, and a truly outstanding inn keeper- Scott West!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Located minutes from downtown Cleveland, the J. Palen House is tucked away on one of the quiet tree-lined residential streets in the historic district of Ohio City. Accommodations are spacious and beautifully decorated. Inkeeper Scott does a wonderful job of making guests feel welcome and comfortable. He is also a great cook, and his three course breakfast, served in the dining room with other guests, is quite enjoyable. Five very different specialty restaurants are located within walking distance and the historic Tremont District, with its many acclaimed restaurants, is but a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikebanasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Hand's down, this is the best place to stay while visiting Cleveland.
This Victorian B&B is nestled in among well-kept, stately and inviting old (mid 19th century) homes. Tree-lined streets makes this place so inviting, especially in the fall.
Within a couple blocks you can find great restaurants & bars, an enormous old-world indoor-outdoor market and coffee shops.
Scott, the inn keeper, pays such close attention to detail, nothing feels ill-considered.,
His cooking and laid-back personality makes every visit a joy.
We were never B&B fans.
Now we are thanks to the J. Palen House. Every time we are in Cleveland, we will stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insichselbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2009

This was my first time to a bed and breakfast. This place was great. My husband and I loved it. My standards for B&B's will now be held high. There was so much attention to detail. The house was so clean, the sheets so soft, a luxurious bed, balcony, and so much more. I can't say enough about the breakfast, it was so good! I keep thinking about it! The location was great. We were able to walk around the area. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allygatorOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Our stay was from April 5-8 2009 in the Loft suite. It's located in the back of another house about a block away from the main house, but don't let that fact sway your decision to choose this particular room. It's like an efficiency apartment, complete with fully equipped kitchen with new and clean appliances, cute dishware, assorted teas, snacks and drinks. When Scott the Innkeeper walked us to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find it lit by candlelight and music was softly playing from the in suite stereo system. We couldn't have asked for more. It was the perfect place for a romantic 3 night stay. My husband uses a cane, and was able to navigate the stairs to the bedroom thanks to hand rails on both sides. And the large shower stall was a perfect small step up for him. Breakfasts were wonderful! We have stayed in many B&B's and this is now at the top of our list as one of our favorites. The location of the Palen house is in "Ohio City"- walking distance to the West Side Market, Great Lakes Brewery, and many trendy restaurants. We will return!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancasterIndiansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
671 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Property: J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2708 Bridge Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing