We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
187
21
5
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
21
5
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseohio citywest side marketwebster roombed and breakfastretreat roomgreat lakes brewerytwo person jacuzzi tubwithin walking distanceother guestswonderful weekendthird floorsitting roomcouple blocksfresh fruitthe location is perfectshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2010

What a wonderful place! My husband and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary here and we couldn't have picked a better plave. It was a great room and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank frimdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We had a great one-night stay in this beautiful old house. The innkeeper/host was very personable; he gave us a tour of the house and pointed out different sites in the neighborhood. Our room was very comfortable (luxurious sheets and terrific bathroom with Jacuzzi). Breakfast was super delicious. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krb11882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My wife and I had planned on staying at the J. Palen House during a trip to Cleveland in the middle of the week in January. Within a couple of days of our planned arrival date, our daughter had a baby in Washington, DC, leading a two week postponement of the Cleveland trip. Unfortunately, while in Washington, I had a heart attack and spent several days in hospital and was told by the doctor to delay further the Cleveland trip. All of this was relayed to Scott West with the understanding that we would visit later in the year. No mention was made of that we would forfeit one night's lodging. Well, if you make reservations, don't have a grandchild born or a heart attack within a week of the planned stay. You will lose your deposit and be informed that you are "simply trying not to pay for the obligation of arrival".

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
8  Thank PSU_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the J. Palen house for a one night romantic get-away. It was one of the best trips that we have ever taken together! The bed and breakfast itself was fantastic! The house is GORGEOUS...beautifully decorated and very warm! The room itself was so cozy and clean! The bedroom and bathroom were sooo clean! Our breakfast was delicious! We didn't want to leave and definitely plan on going back to stay in the other rooms! Also, the location was perfect! There was some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. It was also close to the West Side Market. In summary, J. Palen house was clean, quiet, beautiful, romantic, perfectly located. I would suggest J. Palen House to anyone looking for a perfect get-away spot!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alli1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We arrived at Palen House after an afternoon of antique hunting in the area (at least 8 shops in the area-be forewarned that they don't open till noon on most days). Scott was so cordial and welcoming-even mentioning that he had just baked cupcakes for our snack! The house is stunningly beautiful! Antiques and oriental rugs everywhere. Whoever did the decorating really knew what they were doing. Our bedroom had a very comfortable bed with lots of comfy pillows. It was located at the back of the house and had a little porch off to the side. We hope to return in the warmer months so that we can enjoy this feature. The bathroom was fabulous with a whirlpool tub and separate high pressure shower (first class toiletries too!). Breakfast the next morning was more than enough and once again, Scott was ever so accommodating. A nice big carafe of coffee was waiting in the dining room a full hour before breakfast was served for those guests who need the caffeine boost. As for the neighborhood: so many great restaurants and the wonderful West Side Market. We chose to have drinks at the nearby Flying Fig (2 blocks away) and were delighted to find that Palen House guests get a 10% discount! Downtown Cleveland is about 10 minutes away so if eating in the heart of the city is more to your liking, that can be easily accomplished. If this review sounds overly positive, just know that there was nothing that we didn't like! Treat yourself to a wonderful weekend away and stay at the Palen House.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froggyMedina_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews