We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool view, very friendly and helpful staff, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool view, very friendly and helpful staff, nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My mom and I had a great stay at the Hyatt Regency. We had driven ten hours from New Hampshire that day, and were just stopping in Cleveland for a night before continuing on. Valet parking was really the only option, but at $24 and especially given how exhausted we were, it didn't seem bad. The woman who checked us in was super nice, and when she found out we had reservation at Pura Vida for dinner, booked us a room on that side of the hotel so that we'd be able to most easily get to the restaurant. She also drew on a map directions for how to get there, all without us asking (wish I remembered her name...Dorice? Or something like that? Sorry...) The arcade that the hotel is surrounding is really cool, though we never saw it when the shops were open. It's a beautiful atrium, with wonderful light.
Our room was very nice and spacious, smelled clean and had a really cool view of fourth street (?) and the baseball field. We were on the eighth floor, which was awesome for the view and also may have been the reason we had such nice, high ceilings and windows. That made the room feel wonderfully spacious, though it may have just been a bit bigger than a standard double room.
Cleanliness: Beds had duvets with sheets to cover them, which I much prefer to comforters (as a former housekeeper...don't touch comforters, they're rarely washed). Fresh towels, clean smell, clean counters and mirror. We did find a small, clear vitamin behind the faucet, but it seems like that could have been easily corralled there despite the counter being cleaned.
Comfort: Plenty of towels and storage in an armoire/tv stand, desk, and bedside table. I did not sleep well at all, though my mother had no problems. The mattress was very soft, in my opinion; it may have just been the topper, but I prefer a firm mattress and found myself waking up multiple times throughout the night (felt like every hour or more). The pillows were fluffy down, again something I don't like...but I feel like many people would have been happy with the bedding.
Aesthetic: Though the room doesn't seem very new, it's nicely appointed with very modern furniture and clean, white bedding. The curtains are subdued earth tones in modern stripes with sheer, and look very nice, and the furniture is light wood with darker accents. Granite counters in the bath, and very clean white tile in the shower, plus a curved shower curtain rod. Overall, not a new room, but it's well done and felt modern and clean despite the age of the hotel.
Noise: We were not on the atrium, and were on the 8th floor; it was pretty quiet, though it was a Wednesday night and the hotel seemed relatively low occupancy, so that wasn't surprising. I could see how the rooms on the atrium could get loud, probably especially on the weekends. Though most of the shops probably close before too late, the restaurant and Chocolate Bar (two thumbs down, btw) remain open and may attract loud guests? The atrium does cause sound to reverberate, sort of...I could see how what might not be much noise elsewhere would sound very loud in the rooms right along the atrium.

We had a great experience checking out and getting our car, too; called to get the car before leaving our room, checked out quickly and received a receipt for the valet parking, and had our car within the promised 15 minutes.
The location seemed great. We were only there a night, but could see a number of bars and restaurants right outside our window (out the back entrance to the hotel), and the stadium was a short walk away, too. There was some square (can't remember the name) nearby, and the hotel just felt very central. We walked to Pura Vida for dinner, and Lola for drinks.
Overall very happy! Just wish I had slept better...but I feel like that's on me more than the hotel. Thanks for great service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eighth floor or higher (maybe 7th?) as it's not on the atrium. Better yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyswag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    496
    227
    121
    49
See reviews for
295
426
65
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Helpful staff addressed our many questions. Even printed out directions for us on a couple of occasions. The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. The hotel is in a great location and the building is beautiful. It's also attached to an Arcade which I think was built in 1890 (if you go by the name of the restaurant). Definitely worth seeing. There was also a wedding there which made for a nice visual while walking through the upper floors.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is located in a nice old building probably dated 1890, as you can tell from the name of the restaurant and from a sign at Starbucks kiosk. The front desk is not at the same floor as the main entrance. I suggest to avoid rooms with the windows facing the inner part of the building. You may happen to be close to the pipes that send air from the kitchens and it would be impossible to open the window. If you rely on the air system and keep close the windows, unfortunately the air in the room will not recirculate. Rooms are OK, but a bit dark. Waitress very kind. The restaurant have buffet breakfast on Sunday, but not in the other days. When I had breakfast a la carte, I got a terrible fruit bowl, not fresh at all. I was disturbed by the waitress who brought me a tiny glass of juice at full price. Thus, particularly if you are in a hurry, the Starbucks kiosk is a better option. There is a food court that open later in the morning and a sandwich and small dishes place called "chocolate" that serves excellent smoothies, but unrelated to the hotel, so you cannot charge it to the room. Rooms do not have a minibar, but only a coffee maker. There is a nice gym.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Property is in the heart of Cleveland and convenient to everything downtown. It's situated in a historic building and has a lot of character. I was greeted at the front desk by Asia, one of the nicest front desk people I've ever met. She placed me in a large and very quiet room. Everybody at this Hyatt was extremely nice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland! We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing location, unique building, spacious guestrooms and exceptional staff during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a superior guest experience, and appreciate you sharing yours with us. We hope to welcome you back for your next visit to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights for the wedding of my best friend and Maid of honor. It was a very special time for us, and this hotel was just the right one. The building is magnificent, the room was clean, love the architecture and high ceilings and full of details, every day we came back to the room, there was always something special waiting for us. Very convenient location, excellent garage next door, and we enjoyed our stay in Cleveland. Most of the people of the weeding party stay in here too and that made it so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location and stunning architecture of our historic property, as well as the exceptional service of our hotel staff. We take pride in providing a superior experience for all of our guests, and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about yours. We hope to welcome you back for your next visit to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

So I stayed here 3 nights for a friends wedding and once you get over the fact you are in Cleveland; this might be one of the best hotels. There is a parking garage next door, the staff is older (not hip) but like a good butler they seem to make this their life's work. The hotel is in an old mall/1920s feeling mixed office space. Every room is like a small business with cool blinds out to the atrium. The atrium (gated off the the public by key card access) is a true gem and makes this one of the most memorable hotels. The rooms are more than clean and have epic ceiling height. The hotel is also super close to all the best restaurants and bars (although more of a lunch crowd in CLE). I would recommend this place for sure and it is very special as a monument to the past and as a 3 night stay for this guy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historic building, ideal location, large guestrooms, and exceptional staff. We agree that our hotel is very special, both historically and because of the level of service that our dedicated employees provide, and are very happy to hear that you were able to experience this firsthand. We hope to welcome you back for your next visit to downtown Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline and got a great deal. The building itself and room were beautiful. It is a large, historic building with an enclosed atrium running down the middle of the hotel. Felt kind of like an old train station, like Grand Central Station. Check-in was a little hectic and the front desk gave us a recommendation for a restaurant, which we tried and had a TERRIBLE experience. I'm not going to give demerits for bad advice, but thought it was worth a mention. The hotel is also located close to 4th Street, which is where there are a lot of trendy restaurants. See my review of Zocalo, if you want to know one restaurant to avoid. We would stay here again, if ever we find ourselves in Cleveland for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Property: Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#19 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing