We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$325
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
387
419
250
119
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
419
250
119
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic squaresans soucisan soucilobby bartower city centerbeautiful hotelbeautiful lobbyan older hotelthe club loungeupgraded to a suiterock and roll hallparking garage isindoor poolbed was very comfortableold buildingguest roomsself park
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

In full disclosure we stayed at a no frills motel the night before, making this hotel extremely enjoyable. The room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. We walked to the baseball park from here with no problem. The cool street with restaurants is also a few minutes away. One of the men in our group really loved that the casino was a 3-minute walk as well. Again, great location. We had no problems with the AC or any other amenities. Our room had a view of the Courtyard with the gym and pool downstairs, neither of which we used. Great rate, would stay here again. The only con was the late check-in time we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

KristyP, thank you! It sounds like you had a great time while visiting. The area you mention with the restaurants and brick walkway is the East 4th Street area - always a good choice for dining and fun. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance with 3 other couples as we were celebrating two birthdays. Excellent location, hotel is beautiful, beds are excellent, but....3 of the four rooms were down one hallway and everyone had same complaint on Sunday morning...didn't sleep well, room was too hot. We tried adjusting the very old AC/Heater but it wouldn't go cold. First experience like this in this hotel as we've stayed here previously and had no issues.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the 970 or above.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Keith, thank you for visiting. We apologize for the problems you experienced with the AC system. As you are aware, our beautiful historic property was built in 1918 and particular quirks such as our HVAC system, which does pose some issues for us, do exist. We work diligently to offer a comfortable environment for our guests and are always improving our system. Once again, we apologize and hope that you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The public areas are luxurious and impressive. Our room was spacious and quiet because it was on the inner atrium of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay partly because of the history of the place and also because of its location. The central Cleveland area is looking very smart now and there are lots of bars and restaurants full of people. We also ate in the Hotel bar - quite pricey but fresh and tasty with generous servings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Frances, thank you so much for staying with us and for writing your review. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to the US. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My client booked me in to this property for one night. I didn't even know it was a marriott until I checked in. I'm a frequent guest with Marriott so it was a welcome plus.

The good: The property in convenioently located downtown, with lots to do nearby (even though I didn't get to take advantage of it). It is a beautiful historic property, espeically the lobby areas, and I love historic properties. Room was decent size and nice. Bed was very comfortable. Nice amenities. Had dinner in the lobby bar and it was very good. The people, as with all Marriott properties, were great.

The bad: The temperature in the room was erratic. Either it was hot or cold. I suspect with an old HVAC system. I about ruined a shirt with the iron that was in the room, which was critical as I was there for an interview. When turned flat all the water ran out. I called for anotehr one and it was okay but not great. The ironing board needed to be replaced as well. Probably not critical for most, but when you need to look great, it makes a difference.

Still small problems. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

AI, thank you for writing your review. We love feedback from our guests such as your information on the iron. If you are interested, our general manager would very much enjoy hearing the details of your room number and the iron situation so that we can assure future guests do not encounter the same issue. Should you be interested in sharing additional information, please email her at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you again for staying and for your review. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our experience here was very good to excellent. Room was perfect and our bath was fine. Some of the fixtures could be considered outdated I guess, but I was not disappointed at all. I thought the location was excellent with access to shopping, restaurants, bars, movies and the sporting venues. The staff were excellent as well. If I return to Cleveland I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julieb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Julie, thank you for your fantastic review! We appreciate you staying and very much look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews