We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience in This Hotel Every in my travels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Experience in This Hotel Every in my travels”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It took over 7 hours to get a room. I had nine employees with me. It took all of over 7 hours to get a room. The excuse was because we are busy. No hot water the entire 4 nights we stayed. No customer service at the front desk. The manager is a joke. The have no clue how to run a hotel.
The first room I was given after waiting 7 hours I went to it. It was dirty it had not been cleaned from the previous guest stay. When I went back down to the front desk. I was told yes it is!! I said not it is not. The the girl said: Do you still want this room. I said NO!! I had to wait another 45 minutes for another room.
Then I get to my room and there is NO water…
There is no gift shop in the hotel to get bottle of water, coke etc.
I complained to Corporate about what happen to this hotel. I get a email from someone at hotel stating: as stated, you were checking in at our peak time. This is the apology,. This place is ran like MOTEL 6. No an Motel 6 was have better customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Dale H,
Please accept our apology for the unacceptable delay with your room, and also disappointed we did not resolve the situation well.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly mark.anderson@westincleveland.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    242
    89
    40
    25
See reviews for
177
265
33
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My stay started with a 20 minute delay checking in because they had me booked in 2 rooms rather then one.
When I opened the door to my room I had a strange feeling that someone was in the room, or had just left. I first noticed a dirty towel next to the bed. The bed was made but the top was wrinkled as if someone had rolled around on it. The room was made up, but someone had just used the shower and there was another used towel on the floor in the bathroom. Looks like someone used the room for a liaison after it was cleaned. Not a good feeling about security or the staff.

Once in the new room, housekeeping did a great job, but didn't clean the room until around 3:30-5pm. Even though we left the room before 7am. The room above me was being vacuumed at 10pm.

Overall the staff was very polite, but the overall experience isn't what I would expect from a Westin.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Terry H,
We appreciate your feedback, and will fine tune our process in Housekeeping to ensure we deliver and exceptional guest room consistent with our standards.
Thank you for taking the time to comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Every employee that we encountered went out of his or her way to be accommodating and was very polite and helpful.

My only suggestion is that some soundproofing be attended to in the rooms. I was startled when I was in our room that I could clearly hear conversation going on in the hallway, and while in the hallway, I could hear the shower in the room four doors away. Privacy and modesty will certainly be compromised in a hotel that lacks soundproofing as this currently does.

I also had trouble with water from the shower leaking onto the floor. I was intrigued by the plexiglass half wall in lieu of a shower curtain or door and thought, "Well, they must have designed it such that water will not leak onto the floor." Not so much.

Otherwise, we truly loved it and would love to come back! I am very happy to see high quality hotels and restaurants contributing to the renaissance of Cleveland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiovisitor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Dear ohiovisitor2011,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. Your comments are much appreciated. I hope that you come back to Cleveland soon to be our guest again.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is new and has only been open for approx. 2 months.There were glitches during our stay that called into question the preparedness of Westin to handle a sold out hotel. There was no water for several hours on a number of floors. The A/C didn't work for quite awhile.The fire alarm sounded,how do physically handicapped people who rely on electric scooters get down higher level floors evacuate? A meal ordered for room service arrived with no silver ware ( finger food ? ) It arrived a 1/2 hour later. The business center has no one present,trying to make copies the printer states a copy is being printed with nothing coming out .Picking up the phone to call for assistance results in a dead phone. Our room was nicely furnished, a large settee was totally unusable, up right backs prevented any one from being comfortable;pillows were of no help.Did the interior designer actually sit on it or ordered it because it looked nice? The bathroom was very nice with a walk-in shower, however there are no grab bars which would help if one slipped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayheytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Dear Sayheytoo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. I'm sorry that we had some obvious shortcomings while you were with us. I do hope that you will return to our property let us exceed your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 4 days here for a conference. Decor was great but it was downhill from there. Guest services was poorly informed, no help with parking and checkout was a nightmare, 2 days of poorly working or no air conditioning, 1 day with no to limited water and to top it off fire alarms. Certainly not up to my expectations as a Starwood Preferred Guest

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Susie R,
We apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay, and have rectified our issues with the building systems. Guest feedback is critical to our success, and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed one night for a conference and have very mixed reviews.

Staff

Positive: Very pleasant employees who accommodated my request for a "conference rate", after the Westin hotels rep had charged me a regular rate. While it took a very long time to make the change, they upgraded me to a SPG floor. Every employee greeted me with a smile and were eager to assist with dining suggestions, bags, opening doors,etc.

Negative: It might have been in part because of the newness of the hotel, but many of the staff seemed confused or lost regarding proper service. The most notable experiences were with the valet and with one of the doormen. The valet made me walk to the garage ramp to get my car, instead of bringing the car to me. (My friend also noted that she had the identical experience). An experience that was not worth $30 per night. Next, three of us needed a cab, and the doorman asked if we would take a car instead. We assumed it was one of the Westin's cars (although upon reflection we should have known better due to the car's condition) and got in. When we arrived at our destination, which was less than 1/2 mile away, we attempted to "tip" the driver $5, only to be told that "fares downtown were $10", My friend believes that the driver was the doorman's friend trying to make a quick buck. Not the experience I expect from a Westin.

Hotel & Room

Positive: Beautifully designed hotel with unusual artwork. The lobby has several conversation pieces - from the lightbulb filled chandeliers, the giant human head or the plant wall. The rooms are fairly large, quiet and mine provided a beautiful view of the lake, stadium and rock & roll hall of fame.

Negative: The sheets were extremely rough and nothing like the Westin's "heavenly bed." I don't believe that they are 200 thread count - maybe 180 or less. Made sleeping very uncomfortable.

Restaurant

Positive: The restaurant is excellent and I appreciated the fact that they serve local products. People raved about the mac and cheese, but I had a potato pie which was amazing!! Service was excellent and the ambiance and decor were perfect for enjoying dinner with a large group.

Negative: The prices are OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! 1/2 roast chicken was $27 and the cheapest cut of steak was about $45. I was very shocked by these prices, especially given the fact that they serve local products.

I hope that this hotel can improve upon the shortcomings which I experienced. I would give it another try, since it's still fairly new ... but not anytime too soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Cab5,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We have recently opened, and have implemented all the standards including our linens which are 250 count. We are working with our Laundry team to process an exceptional product. Appreciate your comments on our staff, and they truly are fantastic!
Look forward to future visits when you return to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very nice hotel, but only open for about a month and there are still problems in a few areas - water was off for the entire hotel when we arrived, but fortunately soon fixed; ordered room service twice: first time on arrival; order was incomplete, silverware only for one, never returned with remainder of order; second time for breakfast - promised fifteen minutes, took over an hour to arrive; no shampoo or conditioner - had to call twice to get someone to bring it (took over 2 hours). On the other hand, the hotel is clean and new, rooms good size and comfortable, staff very friendly.

Room Tip: There are many restaurants within walking distance - you might consider choosing them instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, General Manager at The Westin Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Dear tste,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Cleveland Downtown. We appreciate you choosing us and being so understanding of the newness of the property.

We look forward to your next visit so we can exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cleveland Downtown

Property: The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Address: 777 St. Clair Avenue NE, Cleveland, OH 44114-1711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cleveland Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new energy to the financial district, The Westin Cleveland Downtown recently completed a $64 million dollar transformation. The hotel sits between the convention center and the galleria, and is located within blocks of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum, Indians' stadium, Browns Stadium, Horseshoe Casino and East 4th Entertainment District. The hotel is pending LEED certified, and is comprised of 484 upscale guest rooms that provide stunning views of Lake Erie and the vibrant cityscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cleveland
Cleveland Crowne Plaza
The Westin Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing