We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A group of friends and myself recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding in Cleveland. Very quick check-in. Valet parking was a nice feature as well so I didn't have to deal with that in the downtown area. Room was slightly dated, but the beds were comfortable. We did visit the bar around 4:30 pm and the service was prompt. One thing this hotel could really use is continental breakfast. Other than that, this hotel worked just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TextMeLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityMgr, Guest relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Scott B,

Thank you for your comment. It sounds like you had a great time at the wedding! We appreciate you and hope to see you in the near future. We are glad that you enjoyed our Blue Bar, and found the beds to be comfortable. Also thank you for your suggestion for the continental breakfast, your feedback will be shared with the team. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Have a wonderful day!
J.Kinney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,725)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've stayed here twice in the last few months, and both times were very similar, once for a show and again last weekend for a wedding nearby. The hotel is relatively easy to get to, except when you get a late start and run into Indians game traffic getting off of 90. We also sat for a few minutes on Euclid waiting for a spot to open up to unload and hand the keys off to the valet.

Be aware, this hotel is apparently very popular for weddings, so checking in on a Friday afternoon can be an adventure. That's not so much a reflection on the hotel, but frantic guests dragging dresses and tuxes around tend to dominate the echo chamber lobby. The hotel might be better served by adding a front desk person just for those groups on Fridays.

The rooms are comfortable if a bit dated. Lots of hanging and drawer space, and relatively convenient outlets. Ice and vending don't appear on every floor (and in fact our ice machine was out of order). Vending is also only soda, so if you're looking for a midnight snack, you'll need to go off site.

The valet isn't fast, because they park well off-property. Give yourself a few extra minutes after calling before you head downstairs for your car.

The only negative for us was the lobby bar. We stopped in after the wedding for a quick nightcap, around 10:30 or so. We found a table over near the bar, sat down, and chatted quietly for a few minutes. After about 15 minutes of sitting there and being completely ignored, we left. The lone server was too busy talking to a group of other guests about LeBron and the Tribe to actually do his job. There were only three tables (including us) so it's not as if he didn't see us sitting there. Not even a cursory "hey, I'll be by in a second, can I get you a cocktail menu" greeting. That was rude and unacceptable. I expect more from a brand like Wyndham.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityMgr, Guest relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Justin,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad that you found or location convenient. We also want to thank you for your repeat business. I apologize that you did not receive the service standard from the Blue Bar that you are accustomed to here at the Wyndham. We take every comment very seriously and will make sure this issue is addressed. We hope that you come back and stay with us on your next visit to Playhouse Square.

Have a great day!
J.Kinney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Sherna A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HospitalityMgr, Guest relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding. The staff was attentive, the rooms were comfortable, and the location (across the street from the wedding venue), was extremely convenient. As far as Cleveland goes, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kallanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Kallanchen,

Thank you for your comment. It sounds like you had a great time at the wedding! We appreciate you and hope to see you in the near future. We are glad that you found our staff to be attentive, and our location convenient. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Have a wonderful day!
J.Kinney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend to see the Indians play the Rangers. The location was perfect. It's less then a 5 minute walk. Park your car and you're set for the weekend. The valet was not included in the price of the room. We paid $115/night so an extra $20 a night wasn't bad. The alternative to the valet is to park in their parking lot about 2 blocks down. The room was comfortable. A continental breakfast would of made this hotel 5 stars for me. However, the deli on Huron st. was fantastic for a quick, good cheap meal.
The hotel does have an indoor pool, gym, and sauna/hot tub, however we did not have time to indulge in those amenities.

Room Tip: The "limited" wif-fi is included. It only connects up to 2 devices and you CANNOT stream v...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsgrl62688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Johnsgrl62688,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us, and taking the time to write a review. Our guest feedback is very important to us and it sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities. We do in fact have an indoor pool, and hot tub, which is located in the basement of the hotel. There is also a gym on the third floor to serve all your workout needs. We hope that next time you stay here you will have a chance to enjoy these things. Again thank you so much for being our guest here, and we look forward to your return.

Have a wonderful day,
J.Kinney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in july, the night LeBron came back. Was very disappointed that parking was not included in our room rate. Front desk staff very friendly and personable, made the checkin process fun and entertaining, very knowledgable about area.
Close to several restraunts and bars downtown. Walking distance to casino, Indian's field, and Cavalier's stadium, and many other attractions.

Room was musty smelling but on initial appearances clean. However, there was unknown person's hair stuck to wall in shower. Nice amenities in bathroom.

We ordered room service for breakfast by preordering from door hanger. They brought it at the requested time. Was very impressed with servers, introduced selves immediately, asked permission to enter room and best place to set meals. One breakfast was not correct, but still looked delicious so we decided to eat it anyways. About 10 minutes later, the waitress brought the correct breakfast without being asked when they realized the incorrect breakfast had been delivered.

We called the valet for our car about 11:20 and went down stairs at 11:30. By 11:40 our car still hadn't been brought around but 10+ other cars had. Rechecked at 11:50 and valet was indignant that we only requested our car be brough at 11:40. Our car wasn't pulled around til noon. This made us late to a wedding we were in town to attend. Most disappointing part of our stay, and colored the whole visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCorene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityMgr, Guest Relations at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mary Corene,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad that you found or location convenient. We do apologize that the bathrooms were not up to your standards. We also want to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with our valet. We take every comment very seriously and will make sure these issues are addressed. We hope that you come back and stay with us on your next visit to Playhouse Square.

Have a great day!
J.Kinney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#17 of 38 in Cleveland
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square

Address: 1260 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range: £81 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Hotel Cleveland
Wyndham Playhouse Square
Cleveland Wyndham
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing