We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright Lunch on Rainy Day”

Union Station Video Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Station Video Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #502 of 2,228 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hull Alley
Transit: COTA Bus #2
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bright Lunch on Rainy Day”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

While waiting for a local friend who never showed, we Chicagoans (in town for a high school reunion) got to discover this really fun and tasty place. Perhaps the daytime makes a difference but we had a delightful time enjoying really fun music videos (not too loud) and a wonderful meal. Started with hummos platter to share, then went for the Pad Thai (HOT w/shrimp) and the Cubano sandwich. After the appetizer, both our entrees were just too big - so we took a doggie bag and, i must say, their "to go" bag is A+ Big, wide-bottomed, strong handled and, well, we'll absolutely use this again ... The staff was charming and attentive. And the bar was SO full of liquor bottles (every conceivable flavor of vodka!) that it looked like a shooting gallery to me! Our friend never showed, but we're grateful for having found this delightful neighborhood and restaurant/bar. alas, it was a wet weekend, otherwise, we'd have thoroughly enjoyed the spacious outdoor deck (streetside) and taken in the activities on high street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loishobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

As a lesbian, of course I want to hang out in a gay-friendly atmosphere. I love the staff here and the people-watching is phenomenol. The patio is wonderfully shady and in a prime Short North location. However, the food and mixed drinks are way overpriced and outside seating is just too tight to be comfortable. I paid $10 for an average margarita. Also, the menu is does not offer much variety and what I have had there was just okay. For myself, this is more of a place to gather after dining hours for a few beers. I love supporting the gay community because we have lost too many spots in the past due to lack of that sustenance, and I will continue to patronize Union on the occasional basis simply for that reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hucklebuck1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion, ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Showtunes”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Every Sunday this gay friendly bar shows showtunes on their many screens and encourage audience participation. The food is good, the service is awesome and the guests are fun and friendly to one and all. Sundays also have martini specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
280 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place To Hang Out”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Wow a new menu! It must be the ongoing theme in the area. At any rate, I love hanging out here to people watch and sometimes to catch up with old friends.
We ordered veggie nachos, calamari,broccoli & green beans and cheese ravioli. It's not what I had in mind, but it hit the spot. Except for a few items, it's a little pricey if you're not looking to spend more than $20 for a quick lunch or early dinner. They don't have two separate menu's for lunch and dinner.
The best time to go is "happy hour" or "patio weather."

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank luckeycharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly environment... And good food too!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I usually stop in here while killing time before a flight, and it's a cozy place to hang out. The service has always been friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is cozy and classy. On this trip, I had the soup of the day, which was a chipotle chicken, and it was amazing. It was the perfect spicy soup for a snowy day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teddw2ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Station Video Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Union Station Video Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing