We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service in the short north” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Station Video Cafe

Union Station Video Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Station Video Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #439 of 2,214 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hull Alley
Transit: COTA Bus #2
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food & service in the short north”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We came here with a group of eight. The server was very attentive and the food was great! I had the hot Pad Thai - yummy:-) The patio is great for enjoying friends and the sights of the Short North.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Appetizers for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a fun atmosphere on a Saturday night. Lots of people, good music but was kinda loud. The food was pretty good. We had the BBQ quesadillas which had a little kick and were very good. We also had the spicy pimento cheese with pita bread chips which was ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bright Lunch on Rainy Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

While waiting for a local friend who never showed, we Chicagoans (in town for a high school reunion) got to discover this really fun and tasty place. Perhaps the daytime makes a difference but we had a delightful time enjoying really fun music videos (not too loud) and a wonderful meal. Started with hummos platter to share, then went for the Pad Thai (HOT w/shrimp) and the Cubano sandwich. After the appetizer, both our entrees were just too big - so we took a doggie bag and, i must say, their "to go" bag is A+ Big, wide-bottomed, strong handled and, well, we'll absolutely use this again ... The staff was charming and attentive. And the bar was SO full of liquor bottles (every conceivable flavor of vodka!) that it looked like a shooting gallery to me! Our friend never showed, but we're grateful for having found this delightful neighborhood and restaurant/bar. alas, it was a wet weekend, otherwise, we'd have thoroughly enjoyed the spacious outdoor deck (streetside) and taken in the activities on high street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loishobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

As a lesbian, of course I want to hang out in a gay-friendly atmosphere. I love the staff here and the people-watching is phenomenol. The patio is wonderfully shady and in a prime Short North location. However, the food and mixed drinks are way overpriced and outside seating is just too tight to be comfortable. I paid $10 for an average margarita. Also, the menu is does not offer much variety and what I have had there was just okay. For myself, this is more of a place to gather after dining hours for a few beers. I love supporting the gay community because we have lost too many spots in the past due to lack of that sustenance, and I will continue to patronize Union on the occasional basis simply for that reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hucklebuck1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion, ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sunday Showtunes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Every Sunday this gay friendly bar shows showtunes on their many screens and encourage audience participation. The food is good, the service is awesome and the guests are fun and friendly to one and all. Sundays also have martini specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Station Video Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Union Station Video Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing