We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly interesting”
Review of Ohio Statehouse

Ohio Statehouse
Ranked #9 of 152 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capitol building of Ohio.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

If you have the slightest interest in anything historical or can appreciate a building well built you must stop here. We stopped in here on a whim and were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of this building and it's sculptures. We had young children with us that actually loved the whole trip. We opted for a self guided tour (although guides are readily available) and the teens loved all the cool "selfies" they could take, thanks to fascinating backgrounds. We would definitely do this again!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yesitslaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    107
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High point of our visit”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have lived in Ohio for 48 years and this was the first time I have ever visited the Statehouse. What a pleasant surprise. The architecture was beautiful and we were very fortunate to have an excellent tour guide. His name was Jeffrey Waits and he was amazing. He provided so many details you would never get doing a self guided tour. The tours are free and ours took a little over an hour. There is a museum that you can visit on your own, as well as a gift shop, and restaurant. The house and senate were not in session while we visited, but I understand it can get very busy when they are there. I would definitely recommend a stop here if you have at least an hour or so to give.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Tribute”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been to the vasty majority of state capitals in the nation, and this is one not to miss. Tghe chambers for the Senate and House are very ornate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great building”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went to the statehouse and took the self-guided walking tour with one of the recordings instead of the guided tour. The building is great if you like that sort of thing which I do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 385Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Historic Building”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit as the congress was in session. We watched for a while and the kids were fascinated with the proceedings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevoBurn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ohio Statehouse also viewed

 

Been to Ohio Statehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing