We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice To See An Older Theater”
Review of Palace Theater

Palace Theater
Ranked #42 of 151 things to do in Columbus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An historic theater found in the center of the city.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice To See An Older Theater”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

As an out-of-town visitor who attended a concert at the Palace Theater recently for the first time it was a pleasant experience and wonderful to see that an old theater such as this one has been preserved and maintained. This is a unique attribute for Columbus and I hope the theater will be around for many years to come. The event I attended commanded a full theater and a very appreciative audience, which was great to see. The structure itself is architecturally interesting and the seating was fine. I sat in the fourth row from the stage near center and could see everything really well; the acoustics were fine for the show that I saw. I liked the fact that the ushers guided each of the patrons to their seats, something you don't see much these days. Usually it's an usher pointing in the general direction of where they need to go. I had a very enjoyable experience and would definitely return if a show featuring my interests is on their roster in the future.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Favzoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye Lake, Ohio
1 review
“dont see amplified rock and roll here”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I have been to over 30 concerts of platinum selling artist and recently seen matchbox 20 at the beutiful palace theatre and was very dissapointed.Rob Thomas sonded good but the amplifacation of the band was much too loud for such an old venue that does not have proper sound padding on the walls so it was terrible distoted as far as the guitars were concerned the worst ive heard.The palace is great for comedy shows,plays and non amplified music im sure but not for loud rock music.All i heard from the guitars is sqelching distortion that caused hearing loss and matchbox is a percission live band so go see rock n roll in a place built suited for amplified music and seats for butts more than 12" wide!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 765CONCERTJUNKIE765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice older theater”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We attended Million Dollar Quartet recently. The theater was in good shape and the staff is very helpful. The seats are quite small and it can be somewhat claustrophobic. The temperature was quite warm inside and since the weather outside was chilly you had to hold your coat or drape it on your seat. The show was fantastic so it was worth the uncomfortable seats and temp.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 85andsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comedian in town”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The comedian was okay, but the theater looked real nice. The ambiance and the cleanliness really made it stand out. It's old architecture makes watching a play or a musical worth the price. I know a lot of people like this place. The only problem is that there is not much to do outside the theater. No restaurants or bars. You have to drive to another location to do that. Also parking isn't readily available and if you are going to a play in the middle of winter it makes walking to the theater interesting. Other than that the theater itself is real nice.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty and the Beast”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

WOW! My son got the greatest seats for appreciating this wonderful play. The Palace has so much history; beautiful decor; comfortable seats; easy to navigate; friendly and helpful ushers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Theater also viewed

 

Been to Palace Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing