We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling for about two weeks and have stayed in some really nice hotels including another Renaissance hotel. This one is okay. Unfortunately for us a recent guest must have smoked in the room. Tough to hide that. Also found it strange that in a supposedly four star hotel that our bed was a queen (3 star). I think a king would have fit. The furnishings were nice. I appreciate the refrigerator and tea/coffee service in the room. The flooring was getting a bit discolored from wear in the high traffic areas, but not too noticeable and did not influence our rating.

I am a do it your selfer, so I noticed that the tile job in the bathroom was a bit strange where the tile base molding was added after the wallpaper. The grout was smeared onto the paper, and there was no grout in the outside corner. Again, kind of (3 star).

My wife asked about parking at the desk when we arrived and was told about the valet parking. We were not told that the meter parking was free from 10 on until 6 in the morning. We knew that since the staff at a hotel around the corner told us that a year or two back when we stayed there. Perhaps it is not necessary to tell us all the options, but it would be helpful.

If this hotel was listed as a three star, I would give it a rating of 4, but since it is listed as a four star hotel, the standards are higher, so it only gets a 3 in my book.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, Executive Administrative Assistant/Marketing Coordinator at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello Dave, thank you so much for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with your guest room during your stay. We apologize that our room did not deliver on the 4 star experience we try to deliver to each and every one of our guests. Please know that your feedback has been relayed to our Senior Mangement team for review. If you would like to speak with us further regarding the issues you experienced during your stay with us please contact our General Manager directly at ColumbusManagement@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you so much again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just checked in. Very clean. Recently renovated. Amanda at the front desk was amazing. Great service is so refreshing. She gave us restaurant recommendations for this evening, ensure our entire party was well taken care of all with smile.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The lobby and common areas such as the ballrooms and meeting rooms are super nice but the rooms are just so so. The actual room we had felt like a hodge podge of old with a some updates mixed in. There was still a wall paper border around the edge of the ceiling but modern black and white pictures on the walls - bathroom is like using an airplane bathroom and has a crazy wooden louvre door that is a pain...bathroom has fern looking wallpaper and just felt old and dingy overall. We had to ask for extra towels twice because they would only put 3 body towels in a room with 2 beds. Room Service was top notch as was the food - amazing food from the restaurant and was consistent in room service. The house made granola with yogurt and berries was AMAZING!! The great food made up for the so so room. Dim lighting as you enter the room where the closet is too...our neighbor had a larger room with sitting area and pull out bed - it looked much nicer but still had the crazy small bathroom. Catering services were great during our meeting. Beautiful displays on table.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank amandabgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, Executive Administrative Assistant/Marketing Coordinator at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Amanda, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. We would like to apologize for the poor experience you had with our guest rooms. Please be assured that your feedback has been provided to our management team and will be considered when guest room improvements are reviewed in the future. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our public space, food, and banquet area. Once again we really do appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay and dine with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is very well located in Downtown Columbus. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff throughout the property. The Elite Club was small, but quite comfortable and had excellent service. My room was decent; however, the bathroom was below my expectations. It was extremely small and had barely enough space for one person to navigate. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would definitely consider stay returning to this property on a future business trip. If I were bringing my family, I will look for a slightly more upscale property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, Executive Administrative Assistant/Marketing Coordinator at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Samuel, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had such a good experience while staying with us. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Not the hotel's fault, but everything within miles of this hotel is closed on the weekends. Took a cab to the Museum of Art. It is only 7 blocks away and the driver got "lost" and charged us a very high fare. No cab to be found to get back to hotel. Called hotel and asked if the doorman would send a cab to the museum. Evidently the hotel could not work that out and we walked back in the pouring freezing rain. Also, house keeping never made up the room nor delivered fresh towels.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, Executive Administrative Assistant/Marketing Coordinator at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

YorktownBob, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was poor. It is correct that many things near the hotel close on weekends. However, we are a short jaunt from many attractions such as COSI, The Theatre District, The Short North, and German Village. If you ever have a chance to visit us in the future we hope you will stop by our Navigator stand in the lobby to learn about the many fun attractions we have near the hotel as well as additional transportation options as an alternative to taking a cab.

We also would like to apologize for the issues you experienced when you called the hotel to have a cab sent to pick you up from the museum, we can definitely understand that walking back in the rain does not make for an enjoyable experience. Additionally, we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced with having your room refreshed. Please know that these comments have been escalated to our Sr. Manger of Rooms Operations as well as our General Manager. If you wish to further discuss the problems you experienced while staying with us, please feel free to give us a call as we would love to speak with you further. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pros: very nice hotel with clean updated rooms. Hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Would 100% stay here again.
Cons: not a ton of restaurants within walking distance. That's ok though as their restaurant on site is quite good and it has a very good bar. No self parking options. $25 for valet parking is a bit heavy for Columbus, OH.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gooch146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just stayed here last Saturday March 22, 2014. The lobby and restaurant was nice enough and the staff was great. But the rooms.....wow. Bubbling paint in the shower stall (no tub), wallpaper peeling back, no lighting in the hallway of the room, and the bathroom was so tiny that one person would have a tough time moving around but for 2 it was impossible. The bathroom door was an old folding type with a piano hinge and the phones were probably the first generation push button ones. I have stayed in nicer hotels costing $79 per night much less the prices charged here. I am a Marriott rewards customer and have stayed mostly in Marriott properties for 20 years +. There is no way this hotel deserves the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, Owner at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Ross, thank you very much for reviewing our property. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are very happy to hear that our staff was great during your stay with us! However, we are very sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectations in other areas during your stay with us. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed along to our Sr. Manger of Room Operations for review and we will make every attempt we can to take your feedback and make improvements to our rooms. Once again from our entire team we apologize for the poor experience you had with our rooms while visiting our hotel. If you wish to speak with our General Manger regarding your stay please contact our hotel directly as we would love the opportunity to speak with you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#59 of 146 in Columbus
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#47 of 146 in Columbus
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.2 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Address: 50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £138 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of more than 400 luxurious Columbus, Ohilo hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. Our ideally located hotel in Columbus, Ohio offers stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from our ideally located hotel near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing