We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid choice near Ohio State University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #17 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid choice near Ohio State University”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Last hotel stay on a long trip, so wanted peace, quiet, and Sunday Night Football. Got all at this HGI property in Columbus. It's right down the road from Ohio State, but a bit more uptown, so it's not rundown by years of parental visits, parties, football home games, etc. Clean, comfortable, convenient to all. Plenty of parking, nice bar.

Room Tip: Be a AAA member. HiltonHHonors, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    163
    49
    25
    8
See reviews for
204
61
36
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I always look for a Hilton Garden Inn when I travel but have stayed mostly at the Columbus-University location for business trips or personal family visits in the past. The staff is professional and friendly and always willing to help you. Housekeeping does a great job to insure that we always have a clean and neat room when we visit the area. Management is on top of this hotel and makes absolutely sure your needs are always met. I also like very much the breakfast area and excellent selection of food to start my day off on the right foot.

Room Tip: Central location makes it easy to navigate the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I paid 180$ to stay here after a co very and was very disappointed. There was a nasty white spot on the be skirt (picture will be loaded) that I didn't find until the next morning. I brought it to the attention of the day shift desk manager who checked it out. She then came down and apologized and promise to notify corporate (since I'm not a local) so they can send me a free night at a Hilton nationwide. This was 2 months ago and I still haven't relieved the voucher. Overall, this hotel is NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rg0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

stayed here overnight passing through Columbus area, nice room and service was great , pool was warm and the breakfast was tasty and Elise the manager was excellent. I wrote a review in error about a Toledo Hilton that was directed to this one in , so I apologize for that and hope things will be corrected as this place is as good as any.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at the property 2 nights. We had to change rooms because the cable TV didn't work in the first room. They indicated they have been having problems with a new type of HDTV they have been installing. The room was comfortable and quiet. This was a weekend stay in the summer, so the property wasn't full. In fact, the lobby was empty most of the time. Had some problems with the wireless internet connecting and then indicating no signal. Used my cell modem instead. Overall a pleasant place to stay, and convenient to our event at the Fawcett Center on the edge of the Ohio State campus

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARBINOMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
312 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Just stayed 5 nights, some good some not so good.room ok but didn't cool down as much as wanted(granted it was pushing hi 90's). Front desk was usually good, but didn't follow instruction to deliver to an incoming guest important items). Housekeeping was average, they did not change sheets daily.mirrors needed cleaning and floors could have been vacuumed better.i did find a small roach too( yuk).breakfast was quite good, but didn't like hearing servers talk shop in the early morning. Some were quite friendly Melanie had a great attitude. Would probably not stay here again but would consider as a second option.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chucksierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
401 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed 2 nights for business close by. I normally stay closer to downtown-but this was less than a mile from where I was going. The room was clean. When the A/C and tv were off-I could hear the person next door speaking.

I did not eat at the buffet either day nor did I eat any of my meals at the hotel. I didn't use the gym this time, either.

The location is easy to find. I was hoping to be able to run from the hotel to the campus, but there weren't any sidewalks around the area. It's not pedestrian friendly at all-much better closer to high st and downtown.

There are a couple of restaurants close by-but high st is very close-much better selection there.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
1.6 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing