We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Facility but only Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
Ranked #70 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
WV
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Facility but only Average”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a newer Fairfield Inn but is already showing signs of wear. The hallway carpets need cleaned and the hallway on floor 2 had a mild smell. The room was comfortable and quiet.
The major issues were that I had a room with 2 double beds and one of the beds was not finished being made. The pillows were laying on the bed, but needed pillow cases. I think the maid forgot to go back. There was also some mold on the caulking in the shower. I stay in a lot of Fairfield Inns and other Marriot properties and expected better for a hotel that is only 1 year old.

The staff was nice and the breakfast was good. This hotel is convenient to I-70 just west of Columbus. There are plenty of restaurants and some shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASA203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Asa203,

Thanks for the review! We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to continue to grow and serve our guests! I am happy that even with some issues you still like the facility. We are currently working on the hallway floors to get them cleaned. I apologize for the bed that was not finished, I suspect you are right and the housekeeper forgot to return. I have passed that information on to the team to remind them. We hope you will give us another try the next time you come to Columbus so you can see we take your comments to heart and correct them! Please feel free to reach out to me at any time if you need assistance!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    60
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
47
31
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley View, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

WE just stayed at the Fairfield Marriott CDolumbus West this past Saturday and were well pleased. This was the first time for us at a Fairfield and were unsure about them. We had always stayed at Hamptons. We found the hotel to be a good location and close to shopping and RT 70. There were plenty of places to eat around this area. We booked a handicap room/ with a king bed because my wife is disabled. The room itself seemed small but the bath room was extra large. The room was and bath were very clean. The morning continental breakfast fine. We would consider staying there again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Bweb1,

Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad that as a first time Fairfield guest you had a satisfactory stay with us and found the room in clean and comfortable condition. We do our very best to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay. Having shopping and eating close by is a definite plus. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My one-night stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites went as expected--I had a quiet night in a well-decorated room with a very comfortable bed. The property is located conveniently off of I-70 and near several restaurants and both a Meijer and Wal-Mart.

Check-in went smoothly and my room was on the third floor. I found the room very clean, comfortable and quiet, and had an enjoyable stay. There were a couple of bumps related to external influences (brief power outage), but those were handled with ease by the staff. I will definitely consider staying there again if I need to stay in that area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Christaann,

Thank you for reviewing us! We are happy to hear you had a satisfactory stay and that you room was clean and quiet! It is unfortunate that we had the small power outage which in turn created other problems but I am glad to know the team handled it well. Thank you again and please come back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East TN
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Never stayed at a Fairfield before and decided to try this one. Price and location were good.
Rooms are a bit small but adequate. Breakfast was above average. In this hotel class I'd say Fairfield is slightly above average.
Hotel is newer and appealing. Near shopping and restaurants, convenient to freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Alvis,

I wanted to respond and say thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to see that you had a satisfactory stay with us and it was your first time using a Fairfield. My team and I do our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied when they leave and I will definitely pass on your review to them. I hope you choose to stay with us again when you are in town and please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed for 1 night on a business trip, 3rd floor, King bed room for $143/nt after tax. Good location. Bed was comfy. Lots of pillows. Pantene shampoo/conditioner. Bar soaps unpleasant/stinky. Room was clean and comfortable. Internet wifi connection was great. Flat screen was decent size, maybe a 42”? Check-in was quick and easy. After settling into room I realized I forgot my toiletry bag but was able to get a disposable razor and a comb from the front desk which was greatly appreciated. During the night I kept waking up to a man coughing over and over in the room next to me. Finally I downloaded a white noise app on my phone and turned it on which helped. Continental breakfast was available but I didn’t have time to eat so I have no opinion on that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We value our guests feedback so that we may continue to improve our service.
It is nice to see that you had an enjoyable stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West and that we were able to provide you with everything you needed to have a comfortable stay with us.
It is unfortunate that you had a loud neighbor but it looks like you were able to take care of that just fine.
I hope the next time you are in town you stay with us again and if I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me!
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I used to stay at Marriott Courtyards but recently have decided to try Marriott's Fairfield Inns. I have found this property to be very conveniently located with very clean rooms, friendly staff, and free hot breakfast. This was a stopover on a travel journey and the best priced hotel we encountered on our 2000 mile journey. Would stay here again. No problems!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moodylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Moodylu,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel! I am pleased to see you had a satisfactory stay with us! I hope you stop and see us again on your next visit to Columbus! Please let me know if I can assist you in any way! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have stayed at many Fairfield Inns and this one is just average. It has close access to Interstate 70. The staff was friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was clean but small. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment. They did not have as many choices as some we have been to before. I was looking for a banana and raisin bran, but they didn't have either one. The internet was adequate. I prefer the Fairfield on the east side of Columbus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmotley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Jmotley,

I just wanted to thank you for reviewing us, my team and I appreciate all feedback. I am sorry your stay was quite what you were hoping. We generally do carry Raisin Bran but rather Granola cereal as one choice, I have however since added Raisin Bran. Bananas seem to go quickly here. I do hope you will give us another chance when in town so that we can prove that we are up to par with your preferred location on the other side of Columbus. Please feel free to contact me directly if you should choose to come again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#19 of 143 in Columbus
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
Address: 5520 Maxwell Pl, Columbus, OH 43228-8959
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing