We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing book store”
Review of Book Loft

Book Loft
Ranked #3 of 40 Shopping in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest bookstores in the country, it has expanded to 32 rooms and now contains nearly 750,000 books.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Amazing book store”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I love a good book store, and this is one of the coolest I've been to. Not only is the selection good, but it has so much character. Located in a house in the German Village part of the city, the sections are crammed all over the place in narrow aisles and random little alcoves. I will always stop here every time I'm going past on I-70.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    35
    7
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would travel to Columbus again just for this bookstore!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I would rank this bookstore a must see for anyone and everyone who travels to Columbus. This is one of the most unique new and used bookstores I have ever been to, with over thirty-two rooms and two stories of books of every subject and genre. Each room has its own unique subject and speakers play music to match each subject; in the classics sections of course classical… This bookstore is simply amazing; I spent two hours there and practically flew through it. If you are a book lover leave your credit card at the hotel or you will need to buy a new set of luggage for the trip home.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Book Store”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great place to buy a book. Located in German Village. Parking is sparse, but available.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank copterpilot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte. IN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Books, Books, and More Books”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Book lovers of the world--this is your place! This is what a bookstore should be--crammed with books, books in nooks and crannies, books every place you look. Yes, many of the rooms are very small. I found library stools in many of the rooms, for a place to sit. Each room has different music playing, with a copy of the CD, which you can buy. You could spend all day here or just enjoy a short visit. The Book Loft is located in German Village, where most of the buildings and the streets are made of brick. A lovely area of Columbus.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandyT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Got to be one of the most unusual bookstores anywhere. I can never resist dropping in when I am in the area. Pay attention or you'll get lost inside; you'll know what I mean if you visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Book Loft also viewed

 

Been to Book Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing