We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #45 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is our first of many stays at this hotel! We stayed here during OSU freshman orientation. This hotel is close and convenient to OSU campus. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfy. Nice free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrosky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Petrosky5,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our recently improved complementary hot breakfast. We look forward being you destination hotel when you are in the Columbus area, if there is anything I may do assist you in any of your stays please let me know!
Regards,
Ryan Blake
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express OSU
ryan.sintel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We started at another property across the street for one night that was horrible and couldn't have been more pleased with the switch! Clean rooms, no odors, helpful staff! Nice pool with hot tub and exercise room that while small was updated, clean and accessible. Breakfast was great. Location close to campus. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Susan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful five star review. One of things that we pride our selves in, is the cleanness of our rooms. We always strive not only to meet our guest expectations but to exceeded and from the sound of it we did just that. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast as we have recently upgraded it. At the end of the day.We look forward to the opportunity to host you the next time you are in the Columbus area!
Regards,
Ryan Blake
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express OSU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at this property many different times.The rooms (different ones to choose) our clean and spacious. The room is relaxing, bed is comfortable, kitchen is odor free, tidy, a refrige, and dust free. There is a pool for the kids, and a exercise room to get your walk on.The bathrooms were in great shape also. At the breakfast you will fine something for everyone. Eggs, sausage gravy, pancakes, cereal, bagels, dounuts, coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, and fruit. It will get you to lunch, not bad. Beware, the prices go up like any place else when something is going on. (Football games, graduations, conventions, State high school tournaments). It is a good location to OSU, a 3 minute ride. It's access to the highways and main streets are easy to get to. (minutes) Downtown is a 15 minute ride. Every store and restaurant you can think of is nearby. Kroger's ,Kohl's, Big Lots, McDonald's, Canes, Roosters, El Vaquero, and Applebee's, A movie theater is 5 minutes away next Target. You can't go wrong. It's a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room facing the street. Not much in the back facing a neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punjabkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Punjabkh,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your great comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we have recently upgraded our hot breakfast. Regarding our rates I do apologize however out rates do fluctuate based upon availbity and what is going on in the area as do all the hotels in the area as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the Columbus area.
Regards,
Ryan Blake
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express OSU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this property on June 12 & 13 2014 for a baseball tournament. During the late night hours of the 12th or early morning hours of the 13th the back door glass or our vehicle was smashed and my son's baseball equipment, prescription glasses among other belongings were stolen. After notifying the police, we asked about reviewing the hotel security cameras. First we were told that management needed to view them and then we were told they weren't very clear where my vehicle was parked on the side. My wife then asked about checking the other cameras as there were 3-4 vehicles whose glass was broken and valuables stolen and they were in different parts of the hotel parking lot. No response was given to this request. My wife told the manager that cars being broken into in different parts of the lot indicated that the thieves obviously spent some time in the parking lot looking for things to steal. When questioned how often has this happened, an unknown gentleman remarked to her that this hasn't happened for 5 years. Hotel employees and the columbus PD indicated this same issue has happened at this hotel before within the past year. Local restaurants indicated there was a problem at this HIE and the other hotels in that Olentangy River /OSU area and that the Columbus news had even reported on it. Based upon the theft, I talked to the general manager about possibly comping our rooms or if there could be any consideration given over what happened. His very defensive response was that no he couldn't as the parking lot was used at our "own risk". I told him that we were not expecting him to pay the well over thousand dollars and insurance deductibles and had we have known our stuff was at risk at this hotel we would've taken everything into the hotel room. (We've stayed at other Columbus hotels and have not had any issues). The manager again declined any consideration for everything we'd been through and was told that we use trip advisor. He said we'd better be careful as his attorney's review what is written. We later spoke with another break in victim's teammate who said that those who had their cars broken into should have had their rooms comped and that the manager had also threatened his teammate with attorneys when told that they also used trip advisor. The only bright side to this place was that is was fairly clean and that the maintenance guys helped with cleaning all of the shattered glass from our vehicle. It seems that the management of this property aren't concerned with their customers and based upon their proximity to OSU assume they will have customers regardless of their treatment of them. We contacted corporate holiday inn and was advised that they are franchises and that what happened is a "legal matter", which it isn't. It's just poor customer service. We nor our travel baseball organization which consists of 4 teams will use holiday inns in the future.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or if you stay there take everything from your vehicle and don't park anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ETBober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manav s, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I think its important for the trip advisor community to understand that first, the guests were all advised we are in the best neighborhood here in Columbus, Ohio right at the Ohio State University.
Anywhere in this city, good location or not, we have signs around the parking lot advising guests that they park at their own risk. This is just standard hotel signage. This particular guest left electronics on the windshield exposed, computers and an iPad on the front passenger seat. Our hotel parking lot is beautifully lit with LED lights. Leaving expensive electronics which are clearly exposed is not something we have happen. The management did make the guest aware that this is the second time this has happened in 4 years, the police never mentioned it happening several times as the guest has stated. The guest came in demanding a full refund for his whole group and to stay on the hotels expense for the next night. He was made aware that there is nothing the hotel could do due to negligence on his part for a) leaving electronics in open view on the passenger seat, and b) creating a commotion in the lobby and demanding all free rooms. WE did advise you as you mentioned you would get the whole group to tarnish the hotel that our in house legal consul would make sure nothing incorrect and slurred be posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this place due to a family member in a nearby hospital. Checked in at 2:30 AM and they even allowed a late checkout. Great breakfast and clean room. Would highly recommend! My husband said it was the nicest one we have stayed in while in Columbus and raved about the breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank jpt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review! It is great to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay with a late checkout. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed our newly upgraded breakfast. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the Columbus area!
Regards,
Ryan Blake
Front Office Manager
Holiday Day Inn Express OSU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel itself was nice but we picked it mainly that it was listed as having shuttle service to and from OSU hospital. When we checked in Friday, we were told "oh-that's only available Mon thru Thurs". The person at the registry desk was rather cocky about it and told me that we should have called to verify that. When you list services on a paper at hospital stating you have them- it should be available 7 days a week as hospitals are open 7 days a week.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixchick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Pixchick64,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The gentleman you spoke to upon check-in was correct, we currently run the shuttle Monday through Thursday from 8am to 8pm at night. The reason for this is because during the weekends there are typically big events going on and due to the excessive traffic we do not run the shuttle. I do however sincerely apologize for the confusion, as we will look into this issue. We truly value your feedback and will review to ensure that the information OSU has matches to what are actually policy's are. We look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to host you the next time you are in the Columbus area.
Regards,
Ryan Blake
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express OSU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Extremely clean - Super clean. Staff was fine. Free hot breakfast was ok - nothing special but it's free and hot so really who cares!!. Would stay there again. I recommend it - it's a bit far from the zoo but the price is fair and very close to hiway exit. Not a hard drive to the zoo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Lizzbeth,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments. It is great hear that your room was clean and you enjoyed your stay, which is a testament to our outstanding staff. We are currently in the process to making improvements to our breakfast selection. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the Columbus area.
Regards,
Ryan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 145 in Columbus
587 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £83 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing