We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly rated as very poor sleep quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Poorly rated as very poor sleep quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed two nights in this Hyatt Place, that although in an uninteresting neighbourhood is well situated for the city centre and also the ring road.

Our first room was so small that there was nowhere to put our cases as the floor space was so limited. I was really surprised as previous Hyatt Places have had spacious rooms and this room would have been hopeless for a family. I enquired the next day whether our room was especially small and the receptionist said she wasn't aware of this but would be happy to move our belongings to another room if we preferred. She consulted with a colleague who confirmed 'yes, the room is smaller as it is at the end of the corridor. It is one of our studio rooms' (these cost same as full size suite). The offer to help us relocate evaporated and we were told to move ourselves as quickly as possible to another room before new guests arrived.

Our new room was the usual spacious pleasant suite we have come to expect at a Hyatt Place . However we would probably have been better off if we stayed put. The room was hot (heat wave in Ohio) so we had to have air conditioning on when we went to bed. I was sleeping a foot away from the air conditioner (why no integrated air conditioning in a recently constructed building?) that was very noisy and turned itself on and off at regular intervals . Every time it re-started it woke me up...

In some ways breakfast choice was better than average although non meat eaters were not adequately catered for. The skillet food was stone cold.

I am surprised that Hyatt Place provides 'studios' without warning customers - and charging the same.price. Surely they must realise that this is defacing their own brand.

Room Tip: Avoid 'studio' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, All comments are welcome and encouraged so I appreciate you informing us of the issue you encountered. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and I hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    126
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
185
69
17
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was impressive from the moment we arrived. It looked brand new, with an inviting entrance and friendly staff. Our room was larger than expected with 2 Queens and a sectional sofa-sleeper that you could walk around when open. The complimentary breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit and Starbucks coffee. They also have a snack bar area featuring Columbus-famous Jeni's ice cream. Don't miss this deliciousness! The pool had folding doors that opened onto a nice courtyard, so we could sit outside while the kids swam and still keep an eye on them. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was super nice. Even gave us an apple upon request when we checked in : ). So kind. Room was clean and comfortable. Has 6 floors. Nice view of the Columbus city skyline. Breakfast was the standard (very good, hot) Hyatt Place affair which is one of the reasons we selected the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 622 had nice view of Columbus skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, we take great pride in serving you! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great and caring staff!

The hotel is located within many of the places we planned visiting on our recent trip.

It is a very comfortable hotel and we would recommend it to others, as well.

Delicious breakfast served each morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a great hotel. Convienent and safe location.The staff was friendly, the room was big and gorgeous, the full (included) breakfast was fantastic. I booked early and also got a great deal on the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy that you enjoy our hotel and breakfast selections. You also provided a great piece of advice, booking as early as possible will ensure that you get the best deal on your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlands california
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our second stay at a Hyatt Place was a very pleasant experience. The good news is the friendly caring staff especially Maddie and Natalie who made our four-year old granddaughter feel right at home. This hotel is in an excellent location, has a bright and clean lobby with spacious well-appointed rooms including a small refrigerator. There is no microwave in the rooms, but a microwave is available in the common area. We stayed on the top floor and enjoyed a nice view of downtown Columbus. The indoor pool is especially nice and was very safe for our four year old granddaughter. The gym was a bit small but well-appointed and very clean. Free Wi-Fi is a definite plus. Jason’s Deli is within very easy walking distance (maybe 200 steps) and is an excellent family restaurant for soup, salad bar and sandwiches. Our “needs improvement” category at Hyatt Place is the breakfast. If you are a carnivore or want protein you won’t find bacon, sausage or any meat products other than a small bit of Canadian bacon on their breakfast sandwich. The one positive note on breakfast is the oatmeal serving area including an excellent array of oatmeal accoutrements. Construction Alert: There is a bit of construction noise from the adjoining construction area across the street although I would judge the noise as relatively minor. If you are sensitive to noise, I recommend you obtain a room facing the parking lot.

Room Tip: Construction Alert: There is a bit of construction noise from the adjoining construction area across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for returning to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and pool area. I am happy to tell you that we recently updated our breakfast sandwich selections! We are now offering a garden egg white sandwich that includes turkey sausage, it’s delicious. Be sure to try it on your next stay with us!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you want to feel at home when traveling to Columbus, Ohio, there is no better place to stay than this hotel. Conveniently located to EVERYTHING within a matter of minutes, this hotel is extremely clean, comfortable and convenient. Even has covered parking, and 2 restaurants within a 2 minute walk and grounds to stroll around afterwards. OSU and downtown Columbus RIGHT there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are pleased that you enjoy our hotel and the surrounding restaurants and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#16 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing