We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Ranked #35 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was located right off the 315, which turned out to be a main conduit to everywhere we went on our overnight trip to Columbus. The lady who checked us in and out was fairly rude; she barely spoke and did not smile. She did manage to get us checked in early, although into a room with a king-size bed, instead of a room with 2 queens, which would've been nicer for a mom travelling with 2 kids. Whatever, I was just glad to my 'home base' established before hitting the zoo and water park. There was access to lots of restaurants in the area.

My son actually was ill and threw up early the next morning, which was obviously a bummer. When the cleaning lady came around--she was very kind and gave us extra towels and access to her cleaning supplies. I mean, he was a trooper, and "hit the mark," but I didn't want to spread his cooties. One thing I will say is, the area around the toilets were dirty--something I wouldn't normally mention other than the fact that I was cleaning in and around the area to keep contagion to a minimum.

Their breakfast in the morning was a nice way to start our commute back, which was earlier than expected, but given my son's unexpected issues seemed prudent.

Oh, and we were on the front side of the hotel, but could still hear the train (faintly). Staying on the back-side of the hotel MIGHT'VE been an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kelley L,

We are so appreciative of your kind review. I’m very sorry to hear that your son became ill and that your check-out experience did not leave you with a good impression. My apologies that the cleanliness of your bathroom was not up to our usual standards. Its good to know that our housekeeping staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed our central location and ample breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as it fosters improvement for future stays. We hope to host you on your return visit.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    105
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
46
9
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My son is about to attend OSU this fall. I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the university. When we first stayed here in March for a campus tour I was impressed with the cleanliness, price, and included breakfast which is why I decided to book again for orientation. We checked in a night before orientation (long drive to get here). As the three of us were heading to the elevator after a 10 hr drive, an employee came over to us and asked if we were here for orientation. my son proudly said yes and the employee who i later discovered was the general manager said that there was a special rate for OSU that he could offer- This save us a significant amount for this trip! He then asked if we wanted to stay in august for move in. He took care of everything by the time we got to our room upstairs I already had the email confirmation for our 2 nights at dorm move in time-which apparently fills up quickly.
A while later after returning from dinner at a very nice place within walking distance another front desk agent inquired as to our meal and offered great advice for our meal the next night.
All in all a very friendly, clean hotel. The only thing that kept this review under 5 stars was the fact that my wife had to call twice for extra pillows and when they finally arrived they were not usable because of a weird smell so we put them back outside the door and it was too late and we were too tired to call again. The free breakfast is a good start to the day. Fruit, cereal, breads, sausage, and beverages are all available and offer a relaxing start to the day.

Room Tip: ask for a central or front room. there are train tracks behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRocks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our convenient location, ample breakfast and personalized service. We appreciate you sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. I’m sorry our pillows were not to your liking. Our team strives to be your hotel of choice when visiting The Ohio State University.

Kind Regards,
Al Schreiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I did enjoy the spaciousness of the room. It was nice to have a separate seating area away from the bedroom and bathrooms. Both the bed and sofa was comfortable.

Also liked the fact that there was a half bath and shower/sink in different rooms. The walk in shower was large with decent water pressure.

The only suggestion I had would be to have a no shoes, no shirt, no service policy at the morning breakfast line.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Heather J,

We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was enjoyable. My apologies for your experience at breakfast; I appreciate your sincere feedback. Nothing would please us more than a return visit.

Best,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The facility was beautiful and clean. The rooms were very nice and clean as well. I only have one complaint and that is that they didn't provide lotion. I jumped in the car and took a last minute trip and was surprised to find that they didn't provide lotion. The size and set up of the room was great for families with children. Cleanliness goes the further than anything for me, it was beyond clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nyree H,

It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our beautiful and clean hotel. We appreciate you sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. Our team strives to be your hotel of choice when in the Columbus OSU area.

Kind Regards,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inlet, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Easy check in, great staff, clean and spacious rooms with a divider between sitting and sleeping areas.

The staff is personable and helpful. The housekeeping staff is thorough. A variety of fast food options are close neighbors. Convenient. Down the road from Ohio State.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Harry R,

We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Nothing would please us more than a return visit.

Warm Regards,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was there for a wedding and my room was surrounded by a Little League team. When brought to their attention the managers quickly changed me to another wing in the hotel. They also helped me move my stuff which was very nice. It was still a bit noisy, perhaps the housecleaning staff could be more conscious of not allowing the doors to slam every time they go in and out. The room was clean, and the the breakfast spread was good. Wide variety of fresh food and a nice area to sit and eat. Also very convenient location close to OSU and easy to get to the local spots.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall it might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Howard G,

It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable! I’m sorry for your initial frustration, but I’m glad we were able to accommodate you in a room which was quieter. We thank you for your compliments regarding our clean suites, ample breakfast and convenient location, but more importantly our staff. Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to write.

Best,
Al Shcreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

6 of us stayed in this hotel comfortably in a room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The separate bathroom and shower rooms were very convenient for us. We did not sample any breakfast. Ample parking was available and free. My only gripe was it was a bit far away from downtown but Columbus is easily navigable.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are suites. The suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Matt C,

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our spacious suites and ample parking made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. It was a pleasure to host you. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#8 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#102 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing