We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issue with cooling the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Germantown, United States
1 review
“Issue with cooling the room”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The thermostat was set at 68 and the room was stuffy and did not ever get cool. One would think that hitting the cooling icon and setting the thermostat at a lowish temperature would get the cooling system to click on, but it did not. I almost wished for the cheaper units that one sees at a Days Inn! It's hard to sleep in a stuff room! Other than that the place was great. Hotel is located in a very convenient place with parking in a garage. Have always felt very safe at this hotel. The staff is pleasant and the cookie is always a treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    266
    225
    192
    138
See reviews for
269
203
53
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have to say the room was large and superb, we got a suite and it was tremendous!!! The location is right downtown. Lows--two elevator rides to get between street and the room; $3.50 for a cup of machine hot chocolate in the morning; first set of room keys didn't work; some of the staff seemed a bit disconnected. We really loved the stay overall, actually, just these negatives cramped the experience a bit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staff at this hotel are not helpful in dealing with concerns at all. Renovations in some rooms are not complete and the housekeeping staff does not clean the rooms. Becareful with the parking. Make sure that the staff explain it to you properly upon checkin. If you don't, they will charge you even if you don't park in the garage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Micha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The DoubleTree by Hilton in Columbus provided average to good accomodations at an excellent location near the capitol and connected underground. However, the hotel is over-priced, and the fitness room equipment needs maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I reserved 3 suites for my family including my handicapped mother. She has stage 4 cancer . The Dr told her 1 1/2 years ago that she only had 8 months. Her dream was to make it to her grandsons graduation. Her room was never cleaned:this means no clean towels, trash was not emptied.. My brothers room: no bedding for the pullout and the frigerator did not work. We called the desk but they did not resolve the problem. I got them bedding. My room: I will send pictures if you would like. Dried urine and mold around the toilet. a gross hair call stuck to the sheet and the thermostat did not work. I reported the urine and unsanitary conditions 5 times. Finally on saturday evening at about 7:30 pm the front desk person went with housekeeping to my room. The first night we went to the dining room in the hotel, we were the only patrons. It took 85 minutes to be served. This was miserable. sleep quality poor because the air did not work. I gave our extra bedding away so then my daughter did not have bedding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe J, Management Team at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Marilyn B,

Please accept our most humble apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while with us, I assure you this is not conducive to how we greet our guests. We pride ourselves on exceeding expectations, however in this case it appears we've missed the mark & for that we'd like to do what it takes to make it right. Please feel free to contact me at (614)228-4600 to discuss how we can make up for the issues you encountered. Again I do apologize & would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it will be used as a training tool to help enhance our service efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is by far the most incompetent, unfriendly staff I've encountered. This is an average hotel charging high rates for poor service. The garage accepts credit cards, but it's manual. The manual process backs traffic up three levels of the garage. The location is good, and the rooms are fine, but I'd find somewhere else to stay in Columbus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe J, Management Team at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Scott C,

Please accept my apologies for what sounds like a very frustrating parking experience & overall level of service not meeting your needs. While we don't own or manage the garage, we will use this feedback to ensure that all of our guests are greeted with the level of service & professionalism that's expected of a Hilton property & that future informational signage is posted clearly & accurately for our guests to see. Thanks you for your feedback as it will be used to help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely rooms, but you would expect that for the price you pay. Internet service will cost you per day unless you are an HHonors Gold or Diamond level. Convenient parking garage. Food was a bit pricey, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 791leahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#40 of 143 in Columbus
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Address: 50 S Front St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing