We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast
Ranked #65 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Groveport is not a nice area, this section in particular. I used to live in a townhouse on this same road. Got robbed BTW and left when I saw it was going downhill. I chose to stay here when visiting a friend because I'm not very familiar with the rest of Columbus. It is further back from Hamilton Road and had mostly good reviews, so I chanced it. I was surprised at how well the hotel is maintained. Staff was very friendly. Was surprised at how many families there were. Thought it would be mostly business people and such. I didn't feel comfy walking to nearby restaurants even with my male friend with me. I really don't care what section you are in; the nice areas are either very isolated or adjacent to high-crime areas. Even though this hotel is well-lit and the employees keep their eyes open, there are sketchy people hanging about esp when evening comes. The back door was broken so anyone could enter. There was a sign up not to use it but I did because I wanted to park in the back lot behind my room so I could keep an eye on my car.

Why anyone would take kids there, I don't know. That was one reason why I chose it, because I thought if visitors knew anything about Groveport, family types would stay away. Columbus has never been a family-friendly place. It's good if you don't plan to stay long and just want a basic place to sleep. There isn't much to do in that area - if I knew more about the southwest side of Cbus and there was more lodging over there (It's more rural.), I would've gone with that. The actual town of Groveport is small and much safer than several miles north where the HI Express is. Too bad there is not much down there. The closest mall is the ghettofab Eastland Mall, a very-high crime area. Refugee is closer to the hotel than that, and is even worse. I was so bored while my friend was at work that I ventured down there. Was solicited in the parking lot (at 10:30 in the morning, no less). Good to know things haven't changed.

I can't in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone based on the location. I would definitely chose this chain again, but when in Cbus again, I'll spring for a higher-cost room closer to Easton or the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the hotel itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a good hotel. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, didnt have alot of extra outlets for your electronics. Very friendly lady at front desk the evening we checked in, wish I got her name. Had a indoor pool but we didnt use it. Halls smelled of smoke so not sure if its nonsmoking hotel or not, Is close to a few eat places and next door to a Bob Evans.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationmomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and use any comments and suggestions we receive to better our service. I am glad that the front desk associate was friendly and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we are able to accommodate you again if you return to the Columbus area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel is decent and the staff are very friendly and accomodating,but I wouldn't recommend it for longer than a weekend. The beds are not that comfortable and if you happen to be there during a busy time it's not very quiet.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at our property. I apologize that you did not find the bed to your liking. I also apologize that you could hear noise outside of your hotel room. The front desk associates are always available and willing to help assist our guests with any concerns they may have. I hope that if you stay with us again in the future you will let us know of any concerns so we can address them for you right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel has the most wonderful staff. The front desk was efficient and friendly. The breakfast lady was so sweet. You can tell she enjoys her job. Even the housekeeping staff were nice! They are undergoing a renovation and the place looks great! We stayed here for a soccer tournament, and this was one the best places we've stayed at in a while. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We are so happy to hear that you were treated so well by all our staff members. We work hard to ensure that each guest feels welcome. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Short 1 night stay at this hotel....stayed here on a recommendation from family who has stayed here before, and the fact that its close to Bexley, where my family lives. The hotel is located in an area with multiple sit down and quick service restaurants and right down the street from a grocery store. Check in was a breeze...got 2 passwords for the free wi-fi and off we go to our room.
1 king bed, sofa bed, fridge, microwave, decent sized bathroom...just fine for a 1 night stay. Not long into our stay, we were alarmed to see a woman enter our room, thinking that this was her room. She quickly turned away and went back to the desk to tell the staff "her" room was occupied. Front desk called right away to apologize, but it was still unsettling the system showed that room as empty.
The bed was comfortable, but if you're a light sleeper you may have some difficulties. The noise from the hallways, parking lot, and the thin walls make it tough to get to sleep. Breakfast in the morning was nice...pancakes, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, bagels and juices.
All in all, it was just fine for the one night.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Redsoxchic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We take these reviews very seriously and use them as a way to improve our customer service. I apologize that there was in an error made that resulted in another person accessing your room. Please know that this type of mistake is not common and we addressed the situation with the employee right away. I am glad to hear that the front desk associate called you immediately to apologize.

I am also glad to hear that you were able to sleep well and enjoyed our breakfast. We take great pride in offering our guests an exceptional breakfast before they head out for the day.

We hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to Columbus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My girlfriend and I took a weekend get away to Columbus, Ohio to check out German Village. We stayed at this hotel being Priority Club members for Holiday Inn. It was very good for the price and the points for members. It was easy to find and not far off the 270 belt way when traveling in and around Columbus, Ohio. I recommend this hotel for pleasure and for business.

~T

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travis_Fauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with our hotel. We pride ourselves on taking exceptional care of our customers. We hope you will return to our location should your travels bring you back to the Columbus area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here last night for a tournament we had in the Columbus area. This is a very nice hotel. It's very easy to get to, just off the exit and just south of the 270 outerbelt around Columbus, only about 10 minutes from downtown. The rooms were very large, nice and clean! The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was typical for a HIE, pancakes, eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, bagels, muffins, etc. There are not a ton of places to eat, but a Bob Evans and Wendy's are next door and a Big Boy is just down the street. There's a Giant Eagle across the street if you need to pick up anything you might have forgetten. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stop here again if we need a room in the Columbus area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OC_Travelers_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmtreeColumbus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. So glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and would come again. We pride ourselves on continuing excellent service to all of our guests and have many return customers. Not only are we within walking distance of some restaurants, but about 3 miles at the next exit, there are even more dining selections.
Our breakfast is another popular feature. We are glad that we were able to offer you everything you were expecting and hope to see you again on your next stop in Columbus. Again, that you for your review as these reviews do help us gauge our progress, improvements and continuing excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus Southeast
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Hamilton
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#56 of 143 in Columbus
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East
Best Western Canal Winchester In...
#1 of 1 in Canal Winchester
287 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#97 of 143 in Columbus
46 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast

Address: 4041 Hamilton Square Blvd, Columbus, OH 43125-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £97 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built Holiday Inn hotel located in the thriving South East district of Columbus. only 2 miles from Rickenbacker International Airport, 5 miles to Grovecity and Berliner Park, and 10 minutes from OSU campus and downtown Columbus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbus Southeast
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Groveport
Groveport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Southeast Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing