We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Downtown a Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2006

I stayed here two nights in December 2006 on a business trip. As soon as I entered the lobby, I knew this was not your average Hampton Inn. I don't stay in Hamptons very often, and was not sure what to expect. I was very pleased. This is a very upscale version, closer to Hilton. Staff was very attentive, courteous, and helpful, good business center, valet parking was nice. Rooms were nicely appointed, everything looked new, free breakfast was good (seemed to be a more extensive breakfast selection than an average Hampton). My room had both soft and firm pillows.
The location is great, right across the street from the convention center. But my favorite amenity is the fact that the hotel is located about a block from Martini, one of Cameron Mitchell's restaurants and one of my favorites in Columbus.
If you are looking for a new hotel in the downtown Columbus area, this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BHM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2006

This is not your typical tourist town, off-the-highway Hampton Inn. This place is like a trendy, sleek Hilton, but with all the freebee Hampton stuff included (breakfast, internet). You're in the city, across from the convention center and a few minute's drive to downtown. Valet parking is only option, and it is expensive, but that's a city hotel for you. Still, this is quite a nice place to stay. Helpful valet, very friendly roving concierge/front desk person, good free breakfast selections, very modern and large room (living room/bedroom suite combo, similar to an Embassy Suties but with a better layout). Can hear some street noise but no big deal. Lots of business travelers. Restaurants within walking distance. Summary: expensive for a Hampton, but quite nice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Googin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2005

I stayed 2 nights for business convention. Hotel is at back of convention center, and doors are not always unlocked. We had mixed results at different times of the day. There are several entrances and it wasn't too bad finding one close by.

Fitness center: 2 treadmills, 1 (old) elliptical, 1 bike, no weights
breakfast: same as every other Hampton - egg patties, biscuits, cereal, etc.
managers reception: 5-6 PM - soft drinks, and cheese/crackers

If you make a right out of the hotel - there is a food market - various vendors offering different types of food. It was mostly closed when we were there, so I can't say much about it. There are many restaurants in the area - some are very pricey (Morton's).

Room was clean, bed was ok.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyerfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2005

This hotel has the perfect location...walking distance from restaurants and bars, as well as the convention center. It is right on major bus routes.

The breakfast room was spacious, bright, and clean. Service was great. The food was very good, considering it was a complimentary breakfast.

As a downtown hotel, you must valet park, but service was quick and a valet was always available, even late at night.

Our first room was a smoking room, and was quite smoky (of course). The front desk moved us quickly to a nicer room, which was GREAT. I just wonder why they didn't confirm smoking preference upon check-in.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Falls Church, VA
16
Reviewed 24 September 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown from August 31 to September 4th. We both thought the hotel was excellant and the best hotel out of the 5 we stayed at during our 2 week driving trip to see relatives.

One did have to pay to park, and since the hotel was downtown, I did expect that. The rate to park was not that much different than having to park in one of the public garages.

The room was well appointed and very clean. The personnel were all very friendly especially when I called to say I was lost, and they were very patient in giving me directions. The room was very quiet as far as outside noise was concerned.

The pool and hot tub are extremely nice. They are all stainless steel and the pool has very walkable steps down into the water. It was the cleanest pool I have ever encountered in a hotel.

The hotel is right across from the convention center and close to lots of restaurants and bars.

We will definitely stay there again when visiting family in Ohio.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellville, Ohio
13
Reviewed 4 February 2003

My Husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn, on North High St. Columbus, on Feb.2, 2003. We thought it would be nice to stay within walking distance of a favorite Cafe. That was the only positive point of the stay. First, when you pay $167 for a room, you would think that the Hotel could provide parking without having to pay for it! We decided to park on the street, which meant that one of us had to be out before 8am to feed the meter. But that was ok, since I was up off and on all night, it was noisy and I was up off and on all night. I wouldn't go back to that Hotel if it were free! Next time, we will pay a Taxi to take us to the Cafe and stay somewhere else.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: SE tiver a opção de quartos altos e com frigobar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MGPM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 145 in Columbus
1,989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
7.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus at Easton
Hilton Columbus at Easton
#14 of 145 in Columbus
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#12 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £123 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing