We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, attentive staff, noisey (built to hear every sound)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
Ranked #43 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great room, attentive staff, noisey (built to hear every sound)”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The staff is professional and attentive, very clean rooms and great beds, however, the construction of this and every Country Inn and Suites I've ever been in has the same problem, if you have anyone in the room above you, you can hear every step, then if someone is next to you and happens to be on the noisey side (bumping the most minor thing in the room) you hear it, what goes with these folks in designing a hotel, the eye appeal is great but the reality is much different

Room Tip: Sleep quality, get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    63
    29
    16
    16
See reviews for
114
46
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We chose to stay here after reading on the website that they provided you with passes to the local gym and also because they offered a discount of 20% if you paid in full up front (online). Unfortunately for us, that 20% discount prevented us from leaving and going to another hotel as it also meant it was non-refundable. This place was a total dive. They no longer give you passes to the gym. The free breakfast was a joke. We walked in to eat and after one minute left and went out to breakfast. The options were hard-boiled eggs, cereal, make your own waffles and that about covered it. On the way, I did grab a coffee only to discern it apparently had been made the day before and was warm, at best. I even made a comment about the coffee being cold to another patron who was about to get a cup and the front desk clerk laughed it off and articulated that the coffee in that location was their "cold" coffee. It was awesome that all the employees smoked directly outside the front door as well. Nothing like having a smoke free hotel but having to walk through a cloud of it to enter the establishment. If I was forced to say one nice thing about this place it would be that their so-called gym did have a treadmill, a bike, an elliptical as well as a universal weight machine. However, the room itself was so small there was only room for two people. As my girlfriend and I worked out everyone who started walking in to join us turned around and walked back out because it was so small. Do yourself a favor and go ANYWHERE but this place. The Drury on the other side of the city is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

While on the road across country we spent our first night at this hotel. The stay was fine with the exception of the desk cleark who was in a little over her head. The cookies were good, the bed was fine and the breakfast hit the spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at this property for sweetest day weekend and check in friday night was smooth and didn't seem to be too busy. On saturday night we arrived back at about midnight and could only find one parking spot clear at the end of the hotel parking lot. When we checked out the next morning we got to the car to find a busted out passenger window and the car was destroyed with papers and glovebox emptied but nothing was taken. Hotel wouldn't comp us an nights or even do anything about the busted window because its private property. Needless to say we will not be staying here again or near this side of the city.

Room Tip: We did get to see what a Whirlpool Suite looked like and would definately choose that room next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester MI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I come to Colmbus every year for Ohio Cup Vintage Base Ball. I had been staying at a different Country Inn, but it had gotten too poorly run. I wanted to stay at another, so I picked this one. I used some Carlson points (which I HIGHLY recommend), and got a room for $59 a night. The staff was great, the room was nice, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was good, with 3 hot dishes both mornings. I will come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anvil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The staff was very nice. The hotel was clean. It seemed kind of old and they were doing construction right outside my window. I went to my room and started changing and noticed a lady looking at me inside my window from the awning. They had a good breakfast and one night had pizza for dinner. The bed was horrible, that's the main reason I didnt care for the place. The entire three days I was in town, I didn't get a wink of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This was my second stay at this facility. I had doubts, but immediately upon entering the lobby, I noticed that everything was cleaner. The carpet on the stairs had finally been shampooed, and there wasn't dust all over everything. The pool wasn't working, and had started turning green. The overwhelming smell of chlorine made it impossible to stay in the pool area.On my second stay, this problem had been corrected, and the pool was actually useable. I then found out that the hotel had changed ownership, and management. If this is the trend, I will continue staying at this hotel. Kudos to the new owners and manager.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfpint017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#24 of 143 in Columbus
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#20 of 143 in Columbus
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
Address: 1155 Evans Way Ct, Columbus, OH 43228-9178
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Columbus
#48 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Columbus-West
Country Inn & Suites Columbus-West Hotel Columbus
Columbus Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing