We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk Staff Needs Work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
Ranked #34 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Front Desk Staff Needs Work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I reserved a smoking room but upon entering the room and finding no ashtray, I called the front desk and learned that there were no smoking rooms available (apparently reservations mean nothing) when I complained the miserly and "oh so put out" front desk clerk promised I would be moved the next morning - it is now two days later and I still; haven't been moved. The second day, the room was not cleaned, not even fresh towels. Most of the staff was quite friendly and competent, the one big exception was the sweet looking overly sweet front desk clerk who lied to my face with a smile and false apology at every turn. That may explain why the rest of the staff was so friendly, none of them wanted to be the brindt of the front desk clerk's incompetence and lies.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $15 bucks, the savings are not worth the trouble of not getting what you ask for and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service when checking into the correct room type. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    76
    34
    26
    14
See reviews for
117
48
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vernon ,NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Sorry for the late review, I had family matters that I had to tend to. I was at this hotel for a church conference. I was there from June 25-June 28, 2014. Due to some airline issues. I arrived at the hotel later than I had anticipated. I was suppose to get there by 8:30pm but did not arrive until 10:40pm. I knew that after 11:00pm shuttle service was no longer provided but I made it in the nick of time. I called and they have a partnership with Orange Taxi Company. They came picked me up and brought me to the hotel and the staff was courteous and very nice. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was fine- cereal, fruit, bagels, waffles, eggs, oatmeal,etc.. Coffee is provided through out the day along with chocolate chip and sugar cookies. The gym was adequate 2 treadmils, a bike, an eliptical, and weights. I didnt go swimming but the pool looked fine. I was not able to use the shuttle service on the return because I had to leave at 5:30 am to go to the airport so that was about $22 taxi trip. The hotel called the taxi the night before and they came on time. If I am ever in the Columbus area I would definetly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience! We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our many amenities. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay and hope that you had a chance to become a “Club Carlson Member".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is not worth the money you save. I called first to make sure they had a shuttle to the airport, they said they did... but come to find out.. their shuttle is intermittent at best. They don't run before 7 am and they run till 11pm BUT when I came in at 5 PM and asked for a shuttle they said "sorry... we aren't shuttling until 6 or maybe 6:30!"
The night I came in it was really late, my rooms ac didn't really seem to be working... but I just went with it.... then I came home from a long day at work to find the AC not working AT ALL. I had to pack all my stuff and move rooms and no one said sorry or anything... GRRR. Spend the 15-20 dollars and get a better hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry about the confusion with the shuttle hours and that the front desk staff was not more helpful or apologetic in this situation. We strive to provide our guests with not only a clean and comfortable stay but exceptional service as well. So please accept my apology on behalf of the staff at Country Inn & Suites. If you would like to further discuss your experience please feel free to contact me at your convenience. We hope that you would give us a second chance next time you are in the Columbus area to prove that the level of service your received was not the norm. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel saved our lives. When going down to Ohio from Toronto for a conference, the person in charge of securing us a hotel never did. We managed to make reservations for this hotel around 3pm THE DAY we were supposed to arrive. We got there just before 2am.
The staff were amazing. The woman working the desk when I arrived was extremely welcoming and friendly when we got there, which was appreciated after a 9 hour drive in the rain. The next morning another staff member printed my paper for me when I left my copy in Canada!
Life savers, a class act, and I never slept as well in a hotel before.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks so much for writing such a great review on the Country Inn & Suites Columbus Airport East. I'm so thrilled to hear that we were able to find you a room and help with your paper work. I will definitely let the staff know how their service impacted your experience. I hope while you were here you were able to find a few hours to relax and enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Columbus area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwell, TN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Such a delightful property and comfortable stay. My group was more than pleased with the beautiful rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and the check-in was as smooth as any group check in I have ever had. Everything was ready for our stay when we arrived and the front desk personnel could not have been more helpful. If you really want a wonderful place to stay at a very reasonable price, you could not choose a better hotel. Ty Basken is super!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestigeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you will stay with us on your next visit. I will make sure Ty knows how much you appreciated working with her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreve, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've stayed in many (50+) hotels in many different locations but I've got to say this latest stay @ the Country Inn & Suites in Columbus OH has been the best hotel experience of my life!!!! Janice & Ty @ the front desk were excellent. They went over & above their normal duties to make sure that we enjoyed our stay with them. The room was spectacularly clean & neat. The pool & hot tub was perfect in size, temperature & atmosphere. The breakfast was amazing in variety & portions. If you went away hungry, it was your fault. All of our interactions with the staff were very pleasant. I will recommend this hotel to EVERYONE that I know and my boyfriend and I will stay here over & over again!!!! If you are looking for a great hotel experience..... I highly recommend Country Inn & Suites columbus airport EAST Ohio

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you Stacy for all of your wonderful comments.
I will pass your review along to Janice, Ty and the Housekeeping staff. It is always a boost when we get such great reviews back from our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for a sporting event and though the hotel was full of kids / teens it remained fairly quiet inside the rooms. The breakfast is standard fare but generous, the rooms clean and the pool decently large and heated. The front desk was not well staffed in the early hours of the weekend, with the sole person doing double-duty in the kitchen and desk on the weekend, and he was not very helpful, but the rest of the staff made up for this hiccup.

Room Tip: When sports teams are staying, choose a room at the end of a hall, but away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oc3anz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kblack01, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of getting more help in the breakfast area. I do hope to see you again for a fourth year. Again thank you for your review it does help us to make things better for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites
BEST WESTERN Suites
#21 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East Broad at 270
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
14.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
Address: 6305 Broad Street, Columbus, OH 43213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#44 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Columbus Airport East
Country Inn & Suites Columbus Airport East Hotel Columbus
Country Inn Columbus
Columbus Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing